COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 11-27-2016, 01:20 PM   #1
pigeons7bananas
Human being with feelings
 
pigeons7bananas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Default Failed compiles; Yosemite; Xcode6-7

Hi all,
Hows it going?

Im having trouble setting up Xcode and WDL-OL --to compile and run. I had managed to compile previously and got the Gain App to open but running "auval -a 2> /dev/null | grep MyFirstPlugin" Auval tool did not output anything even with Build Active Architecture Only:NO. AU did not build.
At the time i had Xcode7.0 and Audiotools for 7.0 installed with 10.5 and i think 10.6 SDKs also installed.
I've tried Xcode7.0, 7.2.1, 6.1, 6.3.2 -SDKs:10.5.10.6, 10.10
Tried multiple compilers.
Using xcode-legacy to install all SDKs,etc. (https://github.com/devernay/xcodelegacy)
No luck.
I've now reinstalled 7.0+AT but for whatever reason it does not Build Successfully anymore.... (i have seen the post by @Oli mentioning he wouldnt recommend using anything above xcode6).
Im on a MacbookPro 2.3 i7 16gb 1600 ddr3, running Yosemite10.10.5

Can anyone please give me some pointers as to what to do, i dont know what else to try....
Are there any 'cache' files on mac os x that i could trash? Any particular xcode version to try?

Any help to set this up is very very much appreciated!
Big Thanks!
pigeons7bananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 02:09 PM   #2
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,248
Default

xc7 or 8 are fine these days
__________________
VirtualCZ | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 03:30 PM   #3
pigeons7bananas
Human being with feelings
 
pigeons7bananas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olilarkin View Post
xc7 or 8 are fine these days
Well currently with Xcode7.0 when compiling i have 3 errors in classfactory.h: Use of undeclared identifier 'nullptr'

Also, apparently xcode7 is only for 10.11 (http://apple.stackexchange.com/quest...semite-10-10-5)

Last edited by pigeons7bananas; 11-27-2016 at 03:36 PM.
pigeons7bananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 04:35 PM   #4
earlevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pigeons7bananas View Post
Well currently with Xcode7.0 when compiling i have 3 errors in classfactory.h: Use of undeclared identifier 'nullptr'
nullptr is a c++11 keyword, so you probably want to enable that under the C++ Language Dialect setting in Xcode (aka -std=c++11).

Quote:
Also, apparently xcode7 is only for 10.11 (http://apple.stackexchange.com/quest...semite-10-10-5)
Not sure what your point is here. Run the appropriate Xcode version for your development system.
earlevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 05:18 PM   #5
pigeons7bananas
Human being with feelings
 
pigeons7bananas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by earlevel View Post
nullptr is a c++11 keyword, so you probably want to enable that under the C++ Language Dialect setting in Xcode (aka -std=c++11).
Apple LLVM7.0 - Language - C++
C++ Language Dialect: C++11[-std=c++11]
C++ Standard Lib: libc++ (tried others)

Also tried changing
Apple LLVM7.0 - Language
C Language Dialect:c11
pigeons7bananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2016, 12:22 AM   #6
earlevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pigeons7bananas View Post
Apple LLVM7.0 - Language - C++
C++ Language Dialect: C++11[-std=c++11]
C++ Standard Lib: libc++ (tried others)

Also tried changing
Apple LLVM7.0 - Language
C Language Dialect:c11
Sorry, I'm not building for VST, and I see another error if I try—don't have time to pursue. I assume those settings are for base.xcodeproj (it looks like it might be set up that way by default, since I don't think I changed it). Anyway, I'm building fine under Xcode 7.3 with El Capitan (and Visual Studio 2015) for AAX. The error you're getting appears to be a straight-forward compiling issue (yeah, easy to eat a day sometimes solving "straight-forward" compiling issues).
earlevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2016, 04:59 AM   #7
pigeons7bananas
Human being with feelings
 
pigeons7bananas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by earlevel View Post
I assume those settings are for base.xcodeproj
Yes, i assume so. I set them under Build Settings.

Perhaps i overlooked this originally. I always tried compiling with "All MyFirstPlugin project" Project selected. With xcode7.0 when i select individual formats, i get some progress.
App,VST2,AU compile successfully! (Yay!)

VST3 gives me the "classfactory.h - Use of undeclared identifier 'nullptr'" x3
AAX gives me a "IGraphics.h -AAX_IViewContainer.h file not found"
---googles results are not fantastic and im yet to find something on here....so if anyone could point me to any relevant stuff, i'd be very grateful!

Last edited by pigeons7bananas; 11-28-2016 at 11:04 AM.
pigeons7bananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2016, 12:18 PM   #8
ynohtna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pigeons7bananas View Post
Yes, i assume so. I set them under Build Settings.

Perhaps i overlooked this originally. I always tried compiling with "All MyFirstPlugin project" Project selected. With xcode7.0 when i select individual formats, i get some progress.
App,VST2,AU compile successfully! (Yay!)

VST3 gives me the "classfactory.h - Use of undeclared identifier 'nullptr'" x3
AAX gives me a "IGraphics.h -AAX_IViewContainer.h file not found"
---googles results are not fantastic and im yet to find something on here....so if anyone could point me to any relevant stuff, i'd be very grateful!
Have you seen this: https://github.com/olilarkin/wdl-ol/issues/65 ?

Reading that it seems you may need to update your VST3 SDK. Good luck!
ynohtna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2016, 12:39 PM   #9
pigeons7bananas
Human being with feelings
 
pigeons7bananas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ynohtna View Post
Have you seen this: https://github.com/olilarkin/wdl-ol/issues/65 ?

Reading that it seems you may need to update your VST3 SDK. Good luck!
Yes i thought about that. The only lib available is vstsdk366_27_06_2016_build_61 and thats what im using. Cant find older versions...
pigeons7bananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 12:26 PM   #10
earlevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pigeons7bananas View Post
Yes, i assume so. I set them under Build Settings.
To be clear, I'm talking about settings for base.xcodeproj, which you'll find in Frameworks and Libraries/Linked Frameworks/VST3 Plugin. It think it would already be set to c++11, but on the other hand I don't understand why you'd be getting that error on nullptr if it is.
earlevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 01:57 PM   #11
pigeons7bananas
Human being with feelings
 
pigeons7bananas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by earlevel View Post
To be clear, I'm talking about settings for base.xcodeproj, which you'll find in Frameworks and Libraries/Linked Frameworks/VST3 Plugin. It think it would already be set to c++11, but on the other hand I don't understand why you'd be getting that error on nullptr if it is.
Ok, i found that, i never opened that before. I will try it........As soon as get my new problem fixed.....
I tried installing Xcode7.2.1, upon opening it i had some other errors(didnt write them down), couldnt be bothered, so i reinstalled 7.0. Now opening MyFirstPlugin and trying to compile App, im getting:
Code:
swell-menu.mm - Non-constant-expression cannot be narrowed from type 'int' to 'unsigned int' in initializer list
Wtf?

Last edited by pigeons7bananas; 11-29-2016 at 03:30 PM.
pigeons7bananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 04:46 PM   #12
pigeons7bananas
Human being with feelings
 
pigeons7bananas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Default

@Oli? @anyone?
pigeons7bananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 04:58 PM   #13
earlevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 331
Default

It's difficult when you give the error, but don't give the code that is causing the error...you can search on errors like that and you'll almost certainly get a hit in stackoverflow, if you're looking for a general answer.
earlevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 05:19 PM   #14
pigeons7bananas
Human being with feelings
 
pigeons7bananas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by earlevel View Post
It's difficult when you give the error, but don't give the code that is causing the error...you can search on errors like that and you'll almost certainly get a hit in stackoverflow, if you're looking for a general answer.
No there are no 'hits' on stackoverflow.
Code:
MSG msg={(HWND)dest_view,msgtype,(WPARAM)code,(LPARAM)flag}; // LPARAM is treated differently (giving modifier flags/FVIRTKEY etc) in sWELL's WM_KEYDOWN than in windows, deal with it
I dont understand how can all of the sudden i get this new error just because i deleted the old Xcode version and installed a new one. Something is BS!
I dont know where to go from here.... Reinstall the whole OS......?
pigeons7bananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 07:02 PM   #15
pigeons7bananas
Human being with feelings
 
pigeons7bananas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Ok, the plugin project file must of gotten altered by xcode7.2, a fresh project has fixed this (AU,VST and App working), AAX and VST3 still not working.

Quote:
To be clear, I'm talking about settings for base.xcodeproj, which you'll find in Frameworks and Libraries/Linked Frameworks/VST3 Plugin. It think it would already be set to c++11, but on the other hand I don't understand why you'd be getting that error on nullptr if it is.
Tried it, unfortunately no difference....
pigeons7bananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 01:28 PM   #16
pigeons7bananas
Human being with feelings
 
pigeons7bananas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Default UPDATE; macOS Sierra, xcode8.1- No Compile

So i completely wiped my drive and installed a fresh copy of Sierra. Xcode8.1.
Im still having the same problem.......
When i changed: Frameworks and Libraries>Linked Frameworks>VST3 Plugin>base.xcodeproj>C++ Language Dialect from default to C++11 it went from 4 "null-ptr" errors to 1, but still, i cannot compile.

Code:
Plugin-Development/wdl-ol/VST3_SDK/public.sdk/source/common/memorystream.cpp:41:1: Use of undeclared identifier 'nullptr'
The wdl/xcode directions of install and config are very simple to read, i've read them many times now, re-installed everything many times but still the problem exists.

Can anyone help?
Thanks!...
pigeons7bananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 01:22 AM   #17
CaptnWillie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 51
Default

Ive been having this error for sometime now too, and I've found that it has solved it to update (or maybe even downgrade) my VST3 SDK that I saw Oli post in another thread: http://www.steinberg.net/sdk_downloa...5_build_67.zip

However, now that I've done that I'm getting a failed build at "Macalwaysinclude.h file not found"; any help would be greatly appreciated.

All the best,
(Im working on Mac OSX 11 w Xcode 8, and followed the setup here so far:
http://www.martin-finke.de/blog/arti...ing-up-wdl-ol/)
CaptnWillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 02:46 PM   #18
stw
Human being with feelings
 
stw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptnWillie View Post
However, now that I've done that I'm getting a failed build at "Macalwaysinclude.h file not found"; any help would be greatly appreciated.

All the best,
(Im working on Mac OSX 11 w Xcode 8, and followed the setup here so far:
http://www.martin-finke.de/blog/arti...ing-up-wdl-ol/)
As far as i can see this seems to be a RTAS/TDM related error. I don't know any details but if you're going to use that be sure to have the SDKs properly installed. If you don't need it, delete the schemes/targets from your project.
stw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.