Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 04-24-2017, 04:43 PM   #1
PointReyes
Human being with feelings

Default Cubase user who wants to hear from advanced composers who use Reaper.

Hi all, I'm sure these questions come up a lot...I'd like to hear opinions on the most recent version of Reaper. I've been composing professionally for about 15 years, almost all of it on Cubase. While I know the program deeply and love a lot about it, there's a lot I hate about it and I've been hearing a lot about Reaper so I'm interested in taking a look. I don't have time to demo it for about another month ...so first I'd like to hear specifically from people (particularly those who know or have used or currently use Cubase) that are advanced composers who use Reaper.

Cubase (I'm on C9 right now) is too inefficient with CPU use, feels sludgy and slow next to other DAWs like Studio One or even Pro Tools, has horrible GUI problems on Macs these days (I'm on Mac), ancient automation editing, and is massively click-heavy compared to some other DAWs that I've tried. It just seems stuck in the past in some ways and I'm find it somewhat limiting these days.

> Do you find Reaper to equal Cubase in its use as a very advanced composing-to-picture DAW? By very advanced I mean sometimes feature-length score with tons of different cues, tempo changes, huge amounts if VSTi's, up to 600 tracks, etc.

>How do you find the deep MIDI composing and editing functionality of Reaper compares to Cubase?

>How about tempo maps and the like?

>Audio editing?

> Is Reaper less click-heavy than Cubase is? There are some things that are very fast in Cubase, but many others that require way too many clicks for a very simple everyday thing. Studio One is fantastic this way (well, mostly), but its MIDI/audio editing/and some other capabilities are under what I'm used to in Cubase, and I'm not a fan of how it deals with lanes.