Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Old 10-20-2014, 03:58 PM   #1
cbg1
Human being with feelings

Default MT Power Drum Kit 2 free down load trying to use with reaper

i found a free download for MT Power Drum Kit 2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsmA1cFH5YQ

the instructions say place 2 files in the vst plugin folder and should be good to go.......

i don't find a vst plugin folder but i do find a plugin folder. putting the files there does not seem to work

i'm a newbie an help would be appreciated

cheers
ets
cbg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 12:24 AM   #2
MarkFromHawaii

I just downloaded Reaper and did the same thing. I place the .dll and .pdk files in the Plugins folder of Reaper. I can't figure out how to use Power Drum Kit 2 as well. Supposedly drag and drop?
MarkFromHawaii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 12:51 AM   #3
ivansc

If you are both newbies, it could be because you dont have a default location for your third party vsits declared in reaper or (more likely) you havent had reaper scan that particular location to see if there are plugins there.
Go to prefs and then plugins/vst and scan the location of your new plugins. The plugs there will then show up when you insert a vst/vsti.

And if you didnt already download the free pdf manual, it is a goldmine of useful information. Start delving!

P.S. Johnny Ginese (on here) has some great video tutorials, as does groove3.com. Some free, some cheap....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 12:57 AM   #4
rightonthemark

i'll try to help out...
does the mt power drum kit show up in your fx browser under VSTi?
if so great.
then make a track.
click on the fx button.
select mt power drum kit.
it will open up and then yes you can drag & drop each pattern into the track.

if the mt power drum kit is not in your fx browser under VSTi then try this...
create a folder to put all your non-reaper or downloaded VSTs in.