Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2017, 01:07 PM   #1
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 157
Default What should be the next big Reaper think ?

after notation and AI enveloppe features, what could be the next big think in Repear ?

I vote for midi CC line (instead of bars) and a midi transform tool.
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 01:09 PM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,555
Default

Obviously it'll be articulation management.

Continuous lines for CCs are probably never gonna happen.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 01:52 PM   #3
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 188
Default

Articulation.
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 03:13 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,857
Default

Articulation is obviously rather close to being released. (Killing CuBase for Midi workers)

I suppose one of the next not-yet-started features might be ARA, as the request and obvious benefit is striking. (Killing Cubase for sound engineers with the help of Melodyne)

(Even though my personal wish would be realtime and then remote Subprojects, which would make a great difference, even if not that obviously. (Killing any other DAW) )

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 04:17 PM   #5
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 4,768
Default

refining TAKES so they look purdy !!
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 04:19 PM   #6
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 4,179
Default

Rendering the entire user interface in 3D so the track view looks like you're flying through a digital city, like what Hollywood thinks computer hackers do.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 05:45 PM   #7
Lorbakounet
Human being with feelings
 
Lorbakounet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post

Continuous lines for CCs are probably never gonna happen.
Why ?
Lorbakounet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 06:15 PM   #8
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,325
Default

Continuous CC would be really nice, as would better articulation management.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 06:16 PM   #9
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 3,957
Default

Official Linux version.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 11:39 PM   #10
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Official Linux version.
Of course including the ability to run e.g. Kontakt and all it's commercially licensed Sample libraries...

Would be indeed a Killer-Feature, but unfortunately by far too hard to do to be "the next big thing".

Of course Cockos will not stop with Desktop Linux but go on to develop "Reaper Linux for Android/ARM" and "Reaper for iOS" (an ARM processor and a Unix based OS, too), as well

Great future to come ! Reaper Rocks !!
-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de

Last edited by mschnell; 03-18-2017 at 12:03 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 11:39 PM   #11
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 1,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorbakounet View Post
Why ?
Because there aren't continuous in real world.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts / ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 12:09 AM   #12
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,857
Default

I don't know if this is a "big thing", as it seems to be rather simple to do:

Include ReaPack as "native" feature (always showing "get extensions" as the first entry in the "extensions" menu, similar to the "Tools"->"add-ons" menu in Firefox).

This would be helpful for users (obviously), Reaper devs and the helpful supporting crowd in the forums (not needing to bother with answering feature requests that can be handled that way and pointing to not easily findable add-ons), and for extension/script creators (providing a decent way of deploying their great work).

On top of this, a context help feature (e.g. for JSFXes) and/or appropriate entries in the Help menu could show the ReaScript provided documentation text.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 12:20 AM   #13
Aeolian
Human being with feelings
 
Aeolian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Somewhere PRO
Posts: 878
Default

Custom Actions in Walter.

Its gonna happen.
__________________
Resistors are futile, you will be simulated ...
Aeolian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 12:42 AM   #14
Wolfster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 21
Default

Adding guitar tablature to the notation window.
Wolfster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 04:46 AM   #15
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 4,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
Because there aren't continuous in real world.
Neither is an audio cd, but it gets converted to an analog signal to make music. Continuous curves are more intuitive for some of us.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 05:12 AM   #16
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergler View Post
Continuous CC would be really nice, as would better articulation management.
Continuous CC would be very nice, of course, but I think Evildragon is right, it won't probably happen.
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 05:48 AM   #17
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagalume View Post
Continuous CC would be very nice, of course, but I think Evildragon is right, it won't probably happen.
Why,

Reaper is the only DAW whith no continuous CC, it makes it so easier to manage CC datas !
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 05:56 AM   #18
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post

Include ReaPack as "native" feature (always showing "get extensions" as the first entry in the "extensions" menu, similar to the "Tools"->"add-ons" menu in Firefox).
Reaper can't contain 3rd developers' extensions, even they're free.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 06:08 AM   #19
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
Rendering the entire user interface in 3D so the track view looks like you're flying through a digital city, like what Hollywood thinks computer hackers do.
Already kinda exists.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-RCzeJQazA

(Abandonware sadly, as it seems).
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 06:37 AM   #20
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dupont View Post
Why,

Reaper is the only DAW whith no continuous CC, it makes it so easier to manage CC datas !
Because I haven't seen any interest on this matter ... if you want I can gladly give a ++++1 ... but I don't think "they" will invest time on this. I am just being honest.
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 06:52 AM   #21
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Reaper can't contain 3rd developers' extensions, even they're free.
Sorry I don't know what you mean by "contain" and "3rd party".
Of course cockos would need to work out the conditions with cfillion.
For a start ReaPack could just be in the distribution and be automatically installed (similar to the Video extension). Maybe the installer could allow for omitting it if the user does not want it.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de

Last edited by mschnell; 03-18-2017 at 06:57 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 07:21 AM   #22
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 6,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Reaper can't contain 3rd developers' extensions, even they're free.
Of course it can, if that is arranged with the 3rd party developer and so on...
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 07:31 AM   #23
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Sorry I don't know what you mean by "contain" and "3rd party".
Of course cocos would need to work out the conditions with cfillion.
-Michael
The best option is just to put a link to it on the official site.

vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 09:09 AM   #24
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-RCzeJQazA

(Abandonware sadly, as it seems).
Yeah-this^ would be a kool addition-bringing proper synthesis and modulation to reaper natively.
Having at least 1 rea lly decent contained synth generator/fx unit might be a selling point.
Might go hand-in-hand with the lbx stripper?
The dev may be happy to be part of a bright team.

Having midi envelopes like audio items has right now-seems perfectly logical <here>.

There's also offline web audio api's that could be taken advantage of,along with other small devs like this opengl modder> Vovoid Media Technologies > http://www.vsxu.com/development/compiling-from-source
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 12:44 AM   #25
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 381
Default

- Real (and natively integrated) non-midi item one-click groove quantization management like link below

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-NDm8cT45Uw

- better take comping (a la Logic pro but even better can be done)

- native track versioning management (thus avoiding hidden tracks, etc)

- (not-a-big-thing) visual indication of track that have been partially or entirely frozen

g
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 03:42 AM   #26
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 4,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianfini View Post
- Real (and natively integrated) non-midi item one-click groove quantization management like link below

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-NDm8cT45Uw

- better take comping (a la Logic pro but even better can be done)

- native track versioning management (thus avoiding hidden tracks, etc)

- (not-a-big-thing) visual indication of track that have been partially or entirely frozen

g
Yes I agree.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 05:33 AM   #27
Azzar
Human being with feelings
 
Azzar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Articulation is obviously rather close to being released. (Killing CuBase for Midi workers)
Articulation management will be great, but for most working with midi in Cubase, the final nail in the coffin will have to be better CC management. Cubase is way ahead in this area but with a little CC love, Reaper could be too.

Two relatively simple additions could fix this:

1. Render CCs not as bars but as connected points
2. A graphic overlay that encloses selected CCs and has drag handles in the top, corners and sides. These handles could have default functions (compress, expand, tilt, scale), but for true Reaper awesomeness, they should be assignable by mouse modifier to custom scripts so you can make them do anything.

What a glorious day that would be
Azzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 07:51 AM   #28
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzar View Post
1. Render CCs not as bars but as connected points
IMHO a silly idea.
Of course a target device will not "jump" its internal parameter setting when a CC arrives, but do some kind of smoothing. But the way this smoothing is done is completely up to that device. A curve of connected points is nothing but a dangerous fake.
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de

Last edited by mschnell; 03-21-2017 at 02:58 PM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 09:52 AM   #29
Vincent Sermonne
Human being with feelings
 
Vincent Sermonne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marseille France
Posts: 4,884
Default

A ReaSamplomatic5K more POWERFUL !

- Hold pedal
- Mute group
- Toggle option for loops with a pad controler (start/stop-start/stop to the next time/mesure)
- Options for layers velocity (the layers values)
- Aftertouch for stop the sample (eDrum cymbals) personnaly special request
- Ability to directly record the sample, on the fly, into reasamplomatic. A record mode in short. With control for play in loop after end of the record, it could be a sort of looper.
__________________
Vincent
http://www.tchackpoum.fr
Vincent Sermonne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 10:43 AM   #30
sjebrane
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Default

Improve Groove like ableton and the ability to drag any thing to media explorer
like ableton does
sjebrane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 01:53 PM   #31
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjebrane View Post
the ability to drag any thing to media explorer
like ableton does
It exists already. Drag the item you need, then hold Ctrl+alt(on Windows) and drag in Media explorer.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 02:26 PM   #32
sjebrane
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
It exists already. Drag the item you need, then hold Ctrl+alt(on Windows) and drag in Media explorer.
i know this feature i already use it but i doesnt work u have to switch to winows media explorer and than drag the item i dont know if it is a bug or what but thats what happen with me and i wich i could drag a track i mean the whole track or group into media explorer
sjebrane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 03:13 PM   #33
woggle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzar View Post

1. Render CCs not as bars but as connected points
this can be (partially) achieved by having a curve drawing tool overlaid on the CC bars. For those who prefer thinking in terms of curves, they can manipulate the curve, and the (still visible) bars change accordingly. A solution like this gets rid of the objection that the data is not continuous but allows for thinking and manipulating in terms of curves. And of course if you did not want curves at all then you turn that overlay off

Last edited by woggle; 03-21-2017 at 03:55 PM.
woggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 01:15 AM   #34
Azzar
Human being with feelings
 
Azzar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
IMHO a silly idea.
Of course a target device will not "jump" its internal parameter setting when a CC arrives, but do some kind of smoothing. But the way this smoothing is done is completely up to that device. A curve of connected points is nothing but a dangerous fake.
That is exactly what other DAWs are doing. But perhaps I chose the wrong words. I meant points that are connected graphically but stepwise - not linear. I agree that a graphical representation that gives the impression of interpolation / smoothing would be a mistake.

In the end the main thing is that Reaper's wonky CC bars are ill suited for finer CC curve work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by woggle View Post
this can be (partially) achieved by having a curve drawing tool overlaid on the CC bars. For those who prefer thinking in terms of curves, they can manipulate the curve, and the (still visible) bars change accordingly. A solution like this gets rid of the objection that the data is not continuous but allows for thinking and manipulating in terms of curves. And of course if you did not want curves at all then you turn that overlay off
Nice idea, but I still think the bars themselves will have to go. They are ok (still a bit wide) for velocity, but for CCs they should at the very least be narrower.
Azzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 01:23 AM   #35
woggle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzar View Post
That is exactly what other DAWs are doing. But perhaps I chose the wrong words. I meant points that are connected graphically but stepwise - not linear. I agree that a graphical representation that gives the impression of interpolation / smoothing would be a mistake.

In the end the main thing is that Reaper's wonky CC bars are ill suited for finer CC curve work.



Nice idea, but I still think the bars themselves will have to go. They are ok (still a bit wide) for velocity, but for CCs they should at the very least be narrower.
I would prefer lines over bars - it is not as if we are plotting histograms in excel
woggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 11:37 AM   #36
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,000
Default

I hope the the next Big Thing is to fix each and every bug in the previous Big Things!
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 11:51 AM   #37
teniente powell
Human being with feelings
 
teniente powell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Spain
Posts: 89
Default

Midi logical editor tool.
teniente powell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 11:58 AM   #38
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 1,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teniente powell View Post
Midi logical editor tool.
Everything sounds like "logical editor" is possible/implemented with ReaScript.

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
I hope the the next Big Thing is to fix each and every bug in the previous Big Things!
Yep, I read the forums and very sad to see people find new bugs every day. Although my experience with REAPER is way less buggy (I don`t know why, my projects are pretty complex).
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts / ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 12:14 PM   #39
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzar View Post
points that are connected graphically but stepwise
I don't disagree to this variant.
-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 01:02 PM   #40
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,220
Default

What JUlian said.
Boring, not much fun, but essential IMO.

And after that A DECENT arrange window with individual bars on individual tracks shown as blocks that can be copied/pasted/cut etc to form a full arrangement in SECONDS!!!!!!!

I was doing this in Bars n Pipes Pro in the early 1990s why cant we do it NOW?
__________________
Today is the anniversary of the death of the famous Irish inventor, Professor Patrick Pending. Not a lot of people know that....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.