Old 04-03-2014, 07:12 AM   #1
josematou
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Default Need tips and tricks for my sysex editor

Hi,

i just discover reaper and i would like to build sysex editor for my harware synth.

I already made stand alone application with max msp but it's better for the workflow if i can build it inside reaper.

I already start with this for my mks 7 :

desc: MKS 7 Bass

slider1:0<0,127,1{Pulse, Saw}>DCO Wave
slider2:64<0,127,1>PWM
slider3:64<0,127,1>cuttoff

@slider

slid1 = floor(slider1)*16;
slid2 = floor(slider2);
slid3 = floor(slider3);

@block


(slid1 != oldslider1) ?
(
msgbuf[0] = $x41;
msgbuf[1] = $x32;
msgbuf[2] = $x01;
msgbuf[3] = $x10;
msgbuf[4] = slid1;

midisend_buf(0,msgbuf,5);
oldslider1 = slid1;
);


(slid2 != oldslider2) ?
(
msgbuf[0] = $x41;
msgbuf[1] = $x32;
msgbuf[2] = $x01;
msgbuf[3] = $x03;
msgbuf[4] = slid2;

midisend_buf(0,msgbuf,5);
oldslider2 = slid2;
);


(slid3 != oldslider3) ?
(
msgbuf[0] = $x41;
msgbuf[1] = $x32;
msgbuf[2] = $x01;
msgbuf[3] = $x05;
msgbuf[4] = slid3;

midisend_buf(0,msgbuf,5);
oldslider3 = slid3;
);


First i would like to know if it's write in a good way. this is the first time i code something...

And for the tips and tricks :

i need for my crumar bit 01 to find a way to send the sysex only when the fader is released. Can you provide me a good way to do this.

And for me siel dk 700 i need to send the sysex every 25 ms. the cpu of this synth is really bad, to much midi information and he stop working.

Also i cannot send multiple sysex in the same time.
Can i write something like this :

desc: DK 700

slider1:64<0,127,1>reso
slider2:64<0,127,1>PWM
slider3:64<0,127,1>cuttoff

@slider

slid1 = floor(slider1);
slid2 = floor(slider2);
slid3 = floor(slider3);

@block


(allslid != alloldslider) ?
(
msgbuf[0] = $x41;
msgbuf[1] = $x32;
msgbuf[2] = $x01;
msgbuf[3] = $x10;
msgbuf[4] = slid1 or slid2 or slid3 parameter;
msgbuf[5] = slid1 or slid2 or slid3 value;

midisend_buf(0,msgbuf,6);
alloldslider = allslid;
);

I hope i'm clear and thanks in advance for your help.
Reaper should make advertisement about the sysex editing capability, i find this feature by accident. and a lot of people need such thing in a simple way.
josematou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 02:24 PM   #2
adeser
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 9
Default

How is the work on the editor going ?
adeser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 04:01 PM   #3
whiteaxxxe
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States of Europe, Germany, Mönchengladbach
Posts: 2,047
Default

Reaper can edit sysex? wow! where and how? I am very interested ... because that would mean, that you could build editors for synths within Reaper?! like the old mixermaps in Cubase?! or not?
whiteaxxxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 08:00 AM   #4
josematou
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Default

@adeser : All my editors are finish now.

I still have a problem with the DK 700, i can't find a good and reliable solution to send the sysex message only every 25 ms...

@whiteaxxxe : yes you can make good sysex editor but it's not like cubase you have to program also the GUI.

Probably the next step for me.

Cheers.
josematou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 08:18 AM   #5
whiteaxxxe
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States of Europe, Germany, Mönchengladbach
Posts: 2,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by josematou View Post
@whiteaxxxe : yes you can make good sysex editor but it's not like cubase you have to program also the GUI.
thats not for me, sadly. :-(
whiteaxxxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 07:46 AM   #6
josematou
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Default

@Veto

No i didn't try that. I tried something with the special variables play_position. it's not accurate.

I never programmed anything before.

And i don't really understand the "@sample" section.

But thanks, it's probably the solution i was waiting for !

Cheers,
Julien.
josematou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 04:24 PM   #7
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,891
Default

JS could be really great if we knew what JS commands to use in order to communicate with h/w synths via sysex.
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.