Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 12-29-2014, 12:01 AM   #1
Wolffman
Human being with feelings

Default Kotelnikov vs TB-Buscompressor v3.0.9

Hi all

I'm no compressor expert !! hence the question.

Have any of you more experienced engineers tried these two out against each other ?
Any feedback from those who have would be most appreciated !!

Tone-Boosters has a sale on atm and if you buy 5 or more plugins you get a 30% discount, i might take advantage of the sale but i'd have to include the Bus-compressor in my purchase.

Kotelnikov has been getting real good reviews and its probably more bus compressor than i'd ever need or understand how to get the most out of for that matter

They both claim to be very transparent, maybe TB-Buscompressor would be easier to use, although they both have a bunch of out of the ordinary parameters, arrrgh so confusing

Do you think its worth having both ?

Cheers

https://soundcloud.com/wolffman7
Wolffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 12:56 AM   #2
Giano
Banned

Bus compression is important for me.
All I can say is that Tokydawn plugins are superb.
I have TDR Feeback Compressor II inserted in every bus and in master chain to glue all busses to a great sounding mix.
Kotelnikov is great, too, I use it for e-bass and still have TDR Feedback II.
A buss compressor has to be subtle not coloring the sound too much and thatīs what TDR Feeback and Kotelnikov are able to do.
Have you watched the great presentation video for Kotelnikov ?

Frankly speaking I would not need two different buss compressors, TDR Feeback the one and only for me.

https://soundcloud.com/giano-riff

Last edited by Giano; 12-29-2014 at 01:15 AM.
Giano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 02:27 AM   #3
Wolffman

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giano View Post
A buss compressor has to be subtle not coloring the sound too much and thatīs what TDR Feeback and Kotelnikov are able to do.