Old 05-19-2017, 05:32 AM   #1
vincentvc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Split and Duplicate

Is there any easy way to split and duplicate track?
It's mainly to keep FX from the original track.

Like this:

1. split at cursor


2. dupe track


3. remove all right from original, remove all left from dupe



This is pretty common in video editing. But can't find an easy shortcut?
Can I make this into an action?
vincentvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:37 AM   #2
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentvc View Post
Is there any easy way to split and duplicate track?
It's mainly to keep FX from the original track.

Like this:

1. split at cursor

2. dupe track

3. remove all right from original, remove all left from dupe

This is pretty common in video editing. But can't find an easy shortcut?
Can I make this into an action?
Hi vincentvc, and welcome to the forum.

1. Select the item, place cursor, and click on "s".

2. There is an action to duplicate the track, I've got it tied to an icon in my toolbar just above the TCP (Track Control Panel)

3. Here again, there are actions for this. Actually if you use "s" to split, it automatically selects the the right part of the split item. Their's also an action for splitting and then selecting the left part of the split item, you just have to tie it to a shortcut key.

I gotta ask though, if you're duplicating the track, then splitting the item and deleting left on one track, and the right on the other track, why duplicate the track? I'm sure you have your reasons, I'm just curious.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:10 AM   #3
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,334
Default

"It's mainly to keep FX from the original track. "

I am confused by this sentence...

Is this your goal ?:

- Original Track has Track FX inserted.
- The duplication Track must not have those Track FX inserted.

The item on the left, on original Track, must sound processed through its Track FX.
And the item on the right, on duplication Track must sound "dry"
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 01:13 PM   #4
vincentvc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the welcome Tod. What I'm looking for is have those 3 steps in 1 action.

vanhaze, No I'm merely pointing out the track needs to be duplicated.


To clarify what I'm doing exactly:
I'm making quick cleanup mixes of multitrack recordings.
Some parts of an inidividual track will be too loud or silent or need some other treatment. I know I could automate parameters, but I'd too quickly lose track. There's usually a similar amount of EQ I add to each individual track before splitting, though I might want to change a few parameters here and there after the splitting.
So it's really just a quick and dirty method to have a better sounding long mix of a jam-session.

So for example these were 3 tracks


It's really more of a workflow thing, combining those 3 steps into 1 action. I know I only win a few seconds - but going through hours of material it would be worth saving me a few mouseclicks.
vincentvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 03:30 PM   #5
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,316
Default

I think this can all be easily done with some custom actions.

In fact, if you get your steps narrowed down to an exact sequence, you can fairly easily do it with the push of a button.

Since you're new to Reaper, you'll probably have to become acquainted with the actions. Also, if you haven't already, download and install the SWS extensions, they are a major part of it all.

http://www.sws-extension.org/

When I've got more time I'll gladly help you with it, and put it together for you, but I'm tied up with some projects at the moment.

However, there are several folks around that can help, I'm sure they'll jump in.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:04 PM   #6
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,316
Default

Okay I had a little time so I put something together for you.

These are the actions:
Code:
Custom: Duplicate tracks, split items 1
  SWS/BR: Save edit cursor position, slot 01
  Item: Unselect all items
  Track: Duplicate tracks
  Item navigation: Select and move to item in next track
  SWS/BR: Restore edit cursor position, slot 01
  Item: Split items at edit cursor (select left)
  Item: Remove items
  Item navigation: Select and move to item in previous track
  SWS/BR: Restore edit cursor position, slot 01
  Item: Split items at edit cursor (select right)
  Item: Remove items
This is a Reaper KeyMap you can down load and put in your Reaper KeyMaps folder, so you can just upload it in your actions list.
http://stash.reaper.fm/30760/Duplica...p.ReaperKeyMap

Here you can see how it works.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 08:13 AM   #7
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,239
Default

just a thought after reading what the OP is using this for...

do I understand it right that what is wanted is to control the volume up or down for each of the items being split?

IF that is true, then this seems like too much to get that done..
Even if you wanted to make the splits... that part is easy right... you could then change the volume on each item directly right on the item...

If you get confused cuz all the split item are the same color, you can color each of those items to it's own color...

and\or you could simple have an automation lane for volume [pre or post fx] under the track... then make a time selection over the part that you want to change vol for then use an action to insert 4 points on the volume envelope at the time selection... then just drag the line that connect those point up or down...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 04:31 PM   #8
vincentvc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Epic! Thanks Tod

I'll definitely take my time to create these actions and dig deeper into the existing extensions myself.
vincentvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.