Old 05-25-2017, 05:41 AM   #1
Teddy Shredding'em
Human being with feelings

Default Recording Levels too High

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to Reaper and recording in general. I have seen a few tutorials online that state that it is best to set the recording levels for a distorted electric guitar to between -16db and -12db, but I can't get them down that low. I think that the problem lies in the fact that I'm using a Seymour Duncan Hotrails bridge pickup for my strat. Even with the gain on my interface turned down as low as it will go, the levels in Reaper exceed the recommended range, and if I turn it up even a fraction, then it will go into the red. I'm using an Alesis io2 interface. Anyone have any idea how to solve this problem?
Teddy Shredding'em is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 06:24 AM   #2
Jack Winter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teddy Shredding'em View Post
Hi there,

I'm fairly new to Reaper and recording in general. I have seen a few tutorials online that state that it is best to set the recording levels for a distorted electric guitar to between -16db and -12db, but I can't get them down that low. I think that the problem lies in the fact that I'm using a Seymour Duncan Hotrails bridge pickup for my strat. Even with the gain on my interface turned down as low as it will go, the levels in Reaper exceed the recommended range, and if I turn it up even a fraction, then it will go into the red. I'm using an Alesis io2 interface. Anyone have any idea how to solve this problem?
Turn down the volume? But I guess that is the answer, either on the amp if you use one (move the mic further back), otherwise on the guitar if going direct. If direct you could also add a DI box with a pad, or some fx pedal that has a gain control.