Old 06-28-2015, 06:37 PM   #1
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,049
Default Create folder for selected tracks

Is there a script (lua or eel preferably) for creating a folder track from selected tracks? I did a search but I couldn't find anything.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 08:11 PM   #2
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 255
Default

AFAIK there's a SWS action for that.

SWS: Make folder from selected tracks
jrengmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 12:04 AM   #3
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,049
Default

Not really. First track becomes a folder with that action. What I'm looking for is a script that put selected tracks in a folder.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 12:14 AM   #4
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,800
Default

A macro does the job quite nicely I've included the
action you can import in REAPER at the end of this post.





e
Attached Files
File Type: zip folder_selected_tracks.zip (377 Bytes, 36 views)
__________________
Shoelace 4 Theme | SoundCloud/erXon
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 12:17 AM   #5
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 3,933
Default

@Mercado
Did you try spk77 script Add folder parent track (with custom track name) (avaible on stash) ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 06:35 AM   #6
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,102
Default

Eric's custom action works nicely but ONLY if the selected tracks are sequential to each other. Don't know if it is possible but it might be swell to also be able to pick out [select] no sequential tracks, and have them become children to a new parent folder. This of course would mean the overall order of tracks gets changed...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 07:12 AM   #7
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
Eric's custom action works nicely but ONLY if the selected tracks are sequential to each other. Don't know if it is possible but it might be swell to also be able to pick out [select] no sequential tracks, and have them become children to a new parent folder. This of course would mean the overall order of tracks gets changed...
That would be useful.

e
__________________
Shoelace 4 Theme | SoundCloud/erXon
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 07:21 AM   #8
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricM View Post
A macro does the job quite nicely I've included the
action you can import in REAPER at the end of this post.





e
Thanks, EricM. Yes, I've tried to accomplish this with macros for years but none of them work on complex situations (your macro doesn't work either on those situations). For example, take a look at this gif:



There I want to create a folder for all my guitars but even after trying with different selections your action destroys my folders setup (don't worry, this is the same with all macros I've tried over the years). At the end of the gif you can see me doing it manually and what the expected result should be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@Mercado
Did you try spk77 script Add folder parent track (with custom track name) (avaible on stash) ?
Nope, I'll look for it right away... hold on

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
Eric's custom action works nicely but ONLY if the selected tracks are sequential to each other. Don't know if it is possible but it might be swell to also be able to pick out [select] no sequential tracks, and have them become children to a new parent folder. This of course would mean the overall order of tracks gets changed...
Yes, that would be the icing on the cake
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 07:30 AM   #9
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,800
Default

@Mercado_Negro
In your case you want child tracks selected as well,
just add action in the macro

+ SWS: Select children of selected folder track(s)

as such:

...
+ SWS: Restore saved track selection
+ SWS: Select children of selected folder track(s)
+ Track: Set first selected track as last touched track
...


e
__________________
Shoelace 4 Theme | SoundCloud/erXon
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 07:30 AM   #10
Alkamist
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 366
Default

I made this a long time ago and have been using it forever.

-------------------------------------
SWS: Save current track selection
SWS: Insert track above selected tracks
SWS: Restore saved track selection
Xenakios/SWS: Select previous tracks, keeping current selection
SWS: Select children of selected folder track(s)
SWS: Make folder from selected tracks
SWS: Restore saved track selection
-------------------------------------

A script would be nice though because it would lump it all into one undo state.
Alkamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 07:39 AM   #11
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@Mercado
Did you try spk77 script Add folder parent track (with custom track name) (avaible on stash) ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricM View Post
@Mercado_Negro
In your case you want child tracks selected as well,
just add action in the macro

+ SWS: Select children of selected folder track(s)

as such:

...
+ SWS: Restore saved track selection
+ SWS: Select children of selected folder track(s)
+ Track: Set first selected track as last touched track
...


e
No, that won't work either. Put your El gtr, Ac gtr and vocal tracks inside the instruments folder and try again. You'll notice your vocal track now becomes a child of your new folder.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 07:45 AM   #12
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alkamist View Post
I made this a long time ago and have been using it forever.

-------------------------------------
SWS: Save current track selection
SWS: Insert track above selected tracks
SWS: Restore saved track selection
Xenakios/SWS: Select previous tracks, keeping current selection
SWS: Select children of selected folder track(s)
SWS: Make folder from selected tracks
SWS: Restore saved track selection
-------------------------------------

A script would be nice though because it would lump it all into one undo state.
That macro seems to do the job Thanks! I guess I didn't try that combination over the years (and I tried many different ways to accomplish this).

By the way, you can tick "consolidate undo points" in the custom action window to make it a single undo point.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway

Last edited by Mercado_Negro; 06-29-2015 at 07:50 AM.
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 07:51 AM   #13
Alkamist
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
That macro seems to do the job Thanks! I guess I didn't try that combination over the years (and I tried many different ways to accomplish this).
You're welcome!
Alkamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 08:23 AM   #14
saastara
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 33
Default

Resurrecting this old thread for a question.. Is there a similiar way to create folders for selected tracks but so that every selected track gets their own folder track?
saastara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 11:21 AM   #15
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,102
Default

umm the custom action that Alkemist posted does not exactly work as expected or desired:

Let's say I have 5 tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

and I select 2 and 4

and run that action

I get a folder with 2, 3, 4 in it... but expected a folder with only 2 and 4

So let's imagine lots of tracks... and we select a few of them and want ONLY those to go into that new folder... leaving all others not affected.

How can that be done?

Of have I missed something?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 11:53 AM   #16
Alkamist
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saastara View Post
Resurrecting this old thread for a question.. Is there a similiar way to create folders for selected tracks but so that every selected track gets their own folder track?
You'd probably need a script to do that. I'm not sure it can be done with just an action macro because it would have to iterate through the amount of tracks you have selected. Could be wrong though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
umm the custom action that Alkemist posted does not exactly work as expected or desired:

Let's say I have 5 tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

and I select 2 and 4

and run that action

I get a folder with 2, 3, 4 in it... but expected a folder with only 2 and 4

So let's imagine lots of tracks... and we select a few of them and want ONLY those to go into that new folder... leaving all others not affected.

How can that be done?

Of have I missed something?
I suppose a prerequisite of my macro is that the tracks have to be contiguous. So you would have to select all of the tracks you want and then move them somewhere. That would make them all next to each other. Then my macro should work.

I don't think there's a way to make the macro handle that automatically though.
Alkamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 11:55 AM   #17
exidus
Human being with feelings
 
exidus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 101
Default

Have you tried either of these:


me2beats_Create folder from selected track to track at mouse (+rename folder).lua

me2beats_Create folder from selected tracks (+rename folder).lua

me2beats_Create folder from selected tracks.lua
__________________
- Win7 x64, latest x64 REAPER Beta

::::::: My Mixcloud Page ::::::: EFMod_JN Theme :::::::
exidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 08:28 PM   #18
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by exidus View Post
Have you tried either of these:


me2beats_Create folder from selected track to track at mouse (+rename folder).lua

me2beats_Create folder from selected tracks (+rename folder).lua

me2beats_Create folder from selected tracks.lua
Thanks yeah just tried them both...

and again they don't really do what is wanted... but maybe me2beats could devise something that would...

here again is the problem:

make 6 tracks
select the top one and the bottom one and run those actions

I get all the tracks into a folder, but what I wanted was only the top track and the bottom track in the folder... you see?

So far everything behaves this same way despite the name of the action seems to say otherwise.

there must be a way to script it because we can indeed select tracks from wherever and manually drag and drop them into another track that becomes the folder for them.

I don't know beans about scripting... but I'm thinking something like this is needed:

1-create or define the folder
2-get the selected tracks
3-move those into the folder...


so far everything seems to work the other way around... in that tracks are selected and a folder is created.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 11:45 PM   #19
exidus
Human being with feelings
 
exidus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 101
Default

I see what you mean... Yeah, it is strange the way these behave.
Maybe you can make a request in me2beats Repo thread? He is a pretty responsive fellow
__________________
- Win7 x64, latest x64 REAPER Beta

::::::: My Mixcloud Page ::::::: EFMod_JN Theme :::::::
exidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 11:50 PM   #20
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,102
Default

done... maybe he will find the way... he is very good
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 10:49 AM   #21
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,149
Default

I tried doing this a while back but hit the same problem. There doesn't seem to be a way to move tracks around via the API. I posted a request in the API wish list thread but nothing happened.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 03:17 PM   #22
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IXix View Post
I tried doing this a while back but hit the same problem. There doesn't seem to be a way to move tracks around via the API. I posted a request in the API wish list thread but nothing happened.
Ah hmmm too bad isn't it?

just because it would really be a very useful action or script IMO.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.