Old 06-27-2014, 02:46 AM   #1
User Name
Human being with feelings

Default Issue obtaining the number of input channels

Hello Reaper forum!,

I am an audio plugin developer hobbyist and have recently encounterd a problem with my multi-channel input plugins after updating to Reaper 4.62 (32 and 64bit).

I use the 'JUCE' framework for development and the function "buffer.getNumChannels()", with Reaper versions up to "4.57", used to returned the correct number of input channels the current audio track contained. After updating however, it now just returns the maximum number of input channels the plugin can support, which is false.

Like I say, I didn't have this issue until updating Reaper and I don't have the issue in Nuendo 4-6 (using the same plugin). Leading me to believe that this a recently introduced bug.

Just thought I should let Cockos know.

Best,
User Name (ever)
User Name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 08:02 AM   #2
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)

Did you check "Inform plug-in when track channel count changes" in the FX Browser (right-click context menu for the plug-in)?
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 07:59 AM   #3
User Name

Hey Ollie,

I just tried that but the issue still persists.

Reaper shows the number of active channels correctly (2/8, 6/8, 8/8). But it always tells my plugins (internally) that its 8/8. note: for different number of input channels I have different processing/interfaces, which is how I noticed this.

The issue appears to be isolated to just the more recent builds of reaper.

best,
User Name
User Name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 11:17 AM   #4
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)

Since you have the "inform plug-in when..." menu entry I take it that you're not talking about an AU plug-in (where an multi-out issue seems to exist).