Old 12-10-2008, 11:58 AM   #1
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 847
Default SWS Extension Updates

For the latest and greatest info about the SWS extension, please go to http://www.sws-extension.org

There you can find documentation for all of the features of the SWS extension.




Original post about the coloring features is below:
=====================

Hey everyone, it's been a while since I've posted any news about my extensions, so here's the latest.

- Most of my extensions, Marker List, Snapshots, Freeze actions, Item/Mute states, ReaConsole, and now Coloring, have been consolidated into one .dll, reaper_sws.dll. It's installed with the installer sws_extension.exe. The installer just copies the .dll to your Reaper plugins directory, and if any of the old versions of the extensions are around, it deletes them to avoid conflicts. If you have any of the listed extensions installed, you should probably download the latest as many bugs have been fixed!

- New in this plugin are coloring menus and actions. You know those 16 colors that you can set in the Reaper color dialog as "custom" colors for your tracks and items? Now these are available directly in the menu for tracks and items as shown here:

This menu is also in the item settings menu available when you right click items, and there are actions available for key binding or macros.

-If you open the Color Management dialog (one of the menu options) you can save/load those 16 colors to/from a file so you can have color sets for different themes, or projects. You can also save the custom colors to your .ReaperTheme file.

From here you can also setup a start and a stop color that work with the "gradient" commands, so you can color your tracks as such:


-Themers, feel free to include 16 colors that work well with your themes in the ReaperTheme file. Add a section [SWS Colors] and values for custcolor1 through custcolor16 using the same format as the rest of the file. Save your current colors to the file first for a nice template.

-Aside from the consolidation and coloring stuff, there's lots of new actions as requested by folks, too much to list at the moment. Open the actions dialog and search SWS to get a taste.

- Note that this plugin works with the current stable release (2.53) and also the latest preview versions.

That's all for now, enjoy!

Last edited by Jeffos; 11-04-2015 at 01:48 AM. Reason: URL update
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 12:03 PM   #2
Oxytoxine
Human being with feelings
 
Oxytoxine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 374
Default

really great, thank you for your efforts! :-)
Oxytoxine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 12:04 PM   #3
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 6,428
Default

Wow, cool stuff! Kudos to you!
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:21 PM   #4
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,047
Default

Brilliant and Effective!

Thanks for your hard work sws... see you around.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:23 PM   #5
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 8,620
Default

I am always overwhelmed by your work, but this time you have excelled even yourself. Thanks!
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:30 PM   #6
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

forever grateful!

have you considered a paypal donation box / Tip Jar?

I know you love reaper and you love to code, but how'd you like a little loot?

greetings
.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:57 PM   #7
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 6,813
Default

Awesome work as always sws...thanks so much for your efforts!
__________________
The media are misleading the public about Syria:
https://www.bostonglobe.com/opinion/...tcK/story.html
Bevosss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 02:01 PM   #8
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 8,620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
forever grateful!

have you considered a paypal donation box / Tip Jar?
Absolutely must do! Even if you don't want any financial reward for yourself, you must have a favourite good cause or charity?
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 03:29 PM   #9
roygbiv
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 227
Default

Sorry to be a dufus, but I can't seem to find your extension within Reaper after installation.

In other words, I've installed it, but I don't see the same options under the "Track" menu that you show in your screen shot.

I checked, and the reaper_sws.dll file is in my C:\Program Files\REAPER\Plugins folder. hmmm.

Am I doing something basically wrong? I have the above listed as one of my VST folders, so it should be finding it.
roygbiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 06:48 PM   #10
Dali
Human being with feelings
 
Dali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Québec city
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
- Most of my extensions, Marker List, Snapshots, Freeze actions, Item/Mute states, ReaConsole, and now Coloring, have been consolidated into one .dll, reaper_sws.dll.
Thanks a mill... No, thanks at least 3 millions !

I was hitting a wall with the built-in macros, looking for a way to mute a send using my FCB1010.

Your extension resolved it. Thanks !

Dali
__________________
REAPER: The best experience I've ever had with intellectual property. (BaronStinky)
Dali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:56 PM   #11
zappsunzorn
Human being with feelings
 
zappsunzorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Posts: 2,246
Default

Are macro markers included? (updates?)

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=24297
zappsunzorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:00 PM   #12
AlienInfix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
Default Colour Help

one kudos, and two questions:

K: SWS, thanks for the extension (Kudos!)

Q: Link to forum post or anything that explain basics to sws noob?

Q: Anyone care to post a good SWSColor file?
I figured out custom colors menu. The problem: me no good at colors.
"Damn it Jim, I'm a musician not a painter"

Thanks.
AlienInfix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 01:21 PM   #13
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rluk View Post
Would it be possible to make more gradient ranges, so all of the different instrument groups would have the same colour?
Hmmm, I might consider that. I'll add it to my ToDo list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zappsunzorn View Post
Are macro markers included? (updates?)http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=24297
I haven't included macro markers in the consolidated plugin (yet), and sorry, no updates. I still consider that one quite experimental.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienInfix View Post
Q: Link to forum post or anything that explain basics to sws noob?
I *really* should make this more formal, but here's some links:
ReaConsole
Snapshots
MarkerList
Freeze
Time/Loop save slots
Item state slots

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienInfix View Post
Q: Anyone care to post a good SWSColor file?
I don't have any; I suggest you bug the person who made your Reaper theme to give you 16 colors that match the theme. You can find the format of the SWSColor file above, or I can create a file for you if you PM me the colors.

Thanks to everyone for their feedback!
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 04:03 PM   #14
bennals
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 244
Default

I know you've probably heard this a million times SWS, but I'll add my voice anyway. Any chance of an OS X version of your extensions? Xenakios might help...and I'd be glad to donate for the effort.

Here's hoping.

Bill.
__________________
Macbook C2D 1.83, 10.6.4, MH ULN-2 & 2882 x 3.
bennals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 09:40 PM   #15
AlienInfix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
I *really* should make this more formal, but here's some links:
ReaConsole
Snapshots
MarkerList
Freeze
Time/Loop save slots
Item state slots
That's formal enough for me.

Thanks SWS.
AlienInfix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 07:35 AM   #16
DaveG
Human being with feelings
 
DaveG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 320
Default

How about an SWS ext. that lists Vsti's and can be used to locate and bring up synth GUI's from the docker, a synth rack basically. Ive actually been using the performance meter to do this but there is so much unrelated crap in there I have to sift through.

Last edited by DaveG; 07-03-2009 at 07:42 AM.
DaveG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 08:42 AM   #17
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Ok Tim, you continue to amaze me and blow my fracking mind.
I have yet to see a single element of you extension that would justify it not being slurped-up and encorporated natively.

The next time Cockos feels the urge to expand a little, I hope they take a long hard and serious look at you. SWS would look great with Administrator below it, and Reaper and all of its community would be the big weiners .

many greetings and thanks for the fantastic work.
.tallis
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 10:30 AM   #18
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
Ok Tim, you continue to amaze me and blow my fracking mind.
I have yet to see a single element of you extension that would justify it not being slurped-up and encorporated natively.

The next time Cockos feels the urge to expand a little, I hope they take a long hard and serious look at you. SWS would look great with Administrator below it, and Reaper and all of its community would be the big weiners .

many greetings and thanks for the fantastic work.
.tallis
Quoted for utter thruth. A-mazing.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 08:46 AM   #19
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,236
Default wow..

You are incredible!!! seriously!

I was going to start using project tabs in this way for dumping pre-render tracks for use later or archiving and this has just made everything soooo..ahem, "lovely"

Amazing!

look forward to the next innovation from you!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 10:16 AM   #20
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,236
Default

In addition to "Add related project", can we also have "remove related project too"?

just added a project to test and not sure how to remove it now! lol
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 10:21 AM   #21
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
In addition to "Add related project", can we also have "remove related project too"?

just added a project to test and not sure how to remove it now! lol
Just open your project with Notepad and remove last entry, save. Back up your project before doing this.

__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 10:34 AM   #22
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,236
Default

Thanks! thought that would be the solution for now, I only really mentioned it as one of those "doh!" moments that Tim forgot to put this feature in but would probably realise soon or later and "face palm" himself lol

It is a bloody amazing idea though and I am addicted to SWS and Xen add ons!

any others I should know about? got Reabins and auto-render, fantastic too!

Last edited by musicbynumbers; 07-03-2009 at 10:51 AM.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 08:57 AM   #23
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 967
Default

A simple question:

Does SWS.Snapshots extension also support saving and later recalling for each track the active take, if there are multiple takes available? e.g. I would like to use for each track 64 takes.

Then it would be cool to be able to use following actions:

0. switching to any take
1. storing current take combinations in any track also in the snapshot
2. recalling previously stored snapshot states, including the active takes

And most importantly controlling all the actions above via midi and assigning pitch events to them on a given midi port, then midi channel, then pitch value.

Interesting with this idea would be following:
Having a "takes list" showing only the names of all takes in the current selected track. This takes list window would allow you to see immediately for the current track how many takes are available in that track, without having to use the mouse.

Last edited by TonE; 01-12-2010 at 09:08 AM. Reason: added takes list idea
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:38 PM   #24
evanrabby
Human being with feelings
 
evanrabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Please add midi learn to sends. Nuts and bolts before games!
Posts: 275
Default

try it!

i use it to take snapshots (unsuccessfully) of mixer channels, but i wouldnt want it to touch the track data! thatd have to be a separate checkbox in the sws dialogue theres no option for saving track wav or midi data on there.

also the snapshots currently delete sends on a track (not always but in normal use always) upon recall! mabe theyll work on it more, but i think we need to pay them! (theres no direct correlation between donating and getting a feature working necessarily though).
__________________
"The Hottest places in Hell are reserved for those who, in time of moral crisis, maintain their neutrality." --Dante, "The Inferno"
and: www.larouchepub.com organize to effect change
evanrabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 11:34 AM   #25
Billy M
Human being with feelings
 
Billy M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 529
Default Thanks!!

Just wanted to give a huge THANKS to SWS/Xenakios for this extension. The Project Management / Project Tabs options/actions have improved my rendering Nebula tracks workflow immensely. I now keep an archived project tab with rendered files behind every project. It makes for a cleaner interface and helps with organization. It also allows me to offline fx in the main project.
Thanks again for all of your hard work on this great extension!!
__________________
“I’m tired of this back-slappin’ “isn’t humanity neat” bullshit. We’re a virus with shoes.”
- Bill Hicks
Billy M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 12:05 PM   #26
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evanrabby View Post
also the snapshots currently delete sends on a track (not always but in normal use always) upon recall!
Evanrabby, this was a Reaper bug fixed in 3.22.

Look for updates to the snapshots soon!
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 02:33 PM   #27
evanrabby
Human being with feelings
 
evanrabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Please add midi learn to sends. Nuts and bolts before games!
Posts: 275
Default

yay, im quite looking forward to that, as right nows theres no way to simply copy paste channel settings, theres only a stupid add onto end recall function in reaper. they should have has it replace current fx like all other daw, anyway snapshots is just a better way than ANY other daw because of the manager window, so keep up the EXCELLENT work! i promise ill donate something if i can get them working!
__________________
"The Hottest places in Hell are reserved for those who, in time of moral crisis, maintain their neutrality." --Dante, "The Inferno"
and: www.larouchepub.com organize to effect change
evanrabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 05:13 PM   #28
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,236
Default

Looking forward to your next update tim

As for an expanded set of copy and paste options, anyone know if it's in the tracker to vote on? Not seen it there myself.

I think the replace could be done with some clever custom "actioning" thanks to tim and xenakios extensions will give it a go at some point.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 12:43 PM   #29
larrygates
Human being with feelings
 
larrygates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,931
Default Sequential Numbering

Is there a way to add sequential numbers to a name with ReaConsole?

Like

Gtr 1
Gtr 2
Gtr 3
etc . . .

Would be Great!
larrygates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 12:54 PM   #30
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 847
Default

You can try "Xenakios/SWS Rename selected tracks(s)..." and check the auto rename check box.
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:07 PM   #31
mtsproductions
Human being with feelings
 
mtsproductions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cinemaland
Posts: 1,366
Default

[IMG]http://img246.**************/img246/8476/73554555.jpg[/IMG]

Hidden messages???
__________________
Cinematic Sound Design
mtsproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:11 PM   #32
larrygates
Human being with feelings
 
larrygates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,931
Default

Thanks sir!

Possible to add to reaconsole? without the -xx configuration.

But seriously, thanks! I was searching all over for this. You've done some first rate stuff!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
You can try "Xenakios/SWS Rename selected tracks(s)..." and check the auto rename check box.
larrygates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:10 AM   #33
Barrail
Human being with feelings
 
Barrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dans la forêt de la Grande Lande
Posts: 1,418
Default No sws extensions in Reaper.

Hello, I've changed my computer (HP G72-150, Win Seven).
I've installed Reaper, then the sws extensiosn, in the folder "Plugins" of Reaper, as usual.
But, no sws extensions in Actions. I see the file " reaper_sws.dll" with the others dll of Reaper in the folder Plugins...

I need some help, please, because the sws extensions are great and I can't work without my shortcuts.
__________________
My last piece
et / and
Le forum au Sardo : AudioManip
Barrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:34 AM   #34
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

I forget where it's placed in win7, but open Options>>View reaper's resource path to see the plugins folder. It isn't in programs>>reaper any more, here its Docs and Settings, Application Data.
Steve
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 04:34 AM   #35
theo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default track color

hello is there a way that the track color changes when i change the track function
i create a new mono audi default mode is say: green
when i make a midi of it it will become red
when i make a stereo track of it it will become blue
when i make a stereo aux track of it it will become yellow
when i make a groupmaster of it it will become......orange
master track ........... red
etc
so to say the color is defined with the sort of track you make of it
and that in every session that i start
i can do it manually now but asked myself if it could be automated or saved as a preference
theo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 08:11 AM   #36
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Bevoss, try the latest build, SWS just updated it now. Should solve that issue!

I found that when duplicating items, sometimes they were up to 0.00000000005 seconds apart, hehe... So the tolerance has been increased now to a value that is hopefully high enough to avoid that problem!
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 09:23 AM   #37
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,236
Default Thanks adam! extremely useful! :)

was going to ask if the below situation could create a fade at the start and the end (as the picture shows) as right now your fade function does nothing in this situation. would you find that a useful addition?

It's greatfor certain edits in film fx etc..

Attached Images
File Type: jpg fade ends.jpg (16.9 KB, 517 views)
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 09:39 AM   #38
vseanv
Human being with feelings
 
vseanv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 101
Default

Sorry if this has been discussed, but I was just curious how in the video demo you are able to make a time selection and select an item at the same time?

Thanks guys!
vseanv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 09:42 AM   #39
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vseanv View Post
Sorry if this has been discussed, but I was just curious how in the video demo you are able to make a time selection and select an item at the same time?

Thanks guys!
Here you go:



This preference is mandatory if you are trying to do any sort of reasonably efficient editing in Reaper... Without it, pretty much any sort of selection based editing is extremely long winded :/
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 09:40 AM   #40
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
was going to ask if the below situation could create a fade at the start and the end (as the picture shows) as right now your fade function does nothing in this situation. would you find that a useful addition?

It's greatfor certain edits in film fx etc..
Ah that's interesting! So basically, if the time selection is completely contained inside of an item, adjust the fade in and fade out so that any unselected area of the item is fading and only the selected area is preserved at the initial volume?

How would this behave here?


Would it obey what you've presented and just screw up that crossfade? Or would it behave differently depending on if that item on the right was selected or not...?


The other thing I was considering adding was if you place the edit cursor inside an item and that item is selected, create a fade in or fade out to the edit cursor depending on if the edit cursor is left or right of the center line in the item...

It just gets really really tricky getting all this behavior to work properly when you start adding in multiple selections and pre-existing crossfades! :/ But I really want it to do everything and be as complete as possible so I'll figure it out somehow
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.