Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 03-12-2015, 02:06 PM   #1
joshrose
Human being with feelings

Default My renders are clipping even with proper gain staging and limiting.

So my mixes in reaper often clip by as much as 1-2db during the render process. I have proper gain staging in my mixes, my master bus fader is always at 0. I usually hit the master bus at -12 to -10 before my master bus processing. Typically I am limiting with Slate FG-X as the last plugin in the chain, and I usually have my output ceiling at -0.1 DB. When playing back the sessions and mixing, there is no clipping. Neither before or after the limiter. I have no plugins post-limiter either. This problem occurs whether I limit with FG-X, or any other plugin (L3, Ozone, etc).

I've been mixing for 18 years, and I've been at it long enough to know it's not some silly user error like having my master bus at +2 DB or something. Why is it that my renders always clip? I'm typically rendering to MP3 because most of my mixing is post-production, that is synced to video and put online, so I prefer to let reaper do the encoding rather than Final Cut.

I switched to reaper a few years ago, and I have always had this problem. Before that I mixed in Sonar for a few years, and Pro-Tools for many years. I'm not sure what it is about reaper that is causing me this problem, but I believe it has something to do with the rendering process.
joshrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 02:42 PM   #2
thequietroom

I think you should render mp3 to -.3

Someone may correct me or elaborate but I think that MP3 encoding can allow peaks to go over your limiter setting

edit:

I dont think MP3 will go over 1-2 DB though.. something else may be in play as well

Does you limiter has ISP protection?

Last edited by thequietroom; 03-12-2015 at 02:50 PM.
thequietroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 03:23 PM   #3
alex1073