Old 12-25-2012, 04:13 PM   #1
bergweg
Human being with feelings
 
bergweg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Geo. area known as Italy
Posts: 59
Default Make Region from sel.item with marker name?

greets

I'm looking for a way to make Reaper create a region from a selected item and automatically give it the name of the marker that is at the beginning of the selected item, so e.g. I've got a marker at 5.1.1. (named "whatever") and a selected midi item from 5.1.1. to 8.1.1.

Is there a script that will create a region from 5.1.1.to 8.1.1. named "whatever"?

I couldn't do this with actions
bergweg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 04:38 PM   #2
mwe
Human being with feelings
 
mwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 254
Default

This script uses SNM functions from the beta SWS builds. It will not work with the general release build or beta builds earlier than #7. The next build could also break it. I tested using Reaper x64 v4.31 and 4.32pre8.

Please make comments/suggestions/improvements. I'd especially like feedback on the best way to deal with fast string handling.

Code:
from reaper_python import * 
from sws_python import * 
from contextlib import contextmanager

@contextmanager
def undoable(message):
    RPR_Undo_BeginBlock2(0)
    try:
        yield
    finally:
        RPR_Undo_EndBlock2(0,message,-1)
		
def getMarkerName(item_start):
	marker_idx = 0
	marker = (RPR_EnumProjectMarkers2(0,marker_idx,0,0,0,0,0))

	while ((marker[0] != 0) and (marker[4] < item_start)) :
		marker_idx += 1
		marker = (RPR_EnumProjectMarkers2(0,marker_idx,0,0,0,0,0))
	marker_ID = marker[7]
	try:
		fast_Str = SNM_CreateFastString("")
		SNM_GetProjectMarkerName(0, marker_ID, False, fast_Str)
		marker_name = SNM_GetFastString(fast_Str)
	finally:
		SNM_DeleteFastString(fast_Str)	
	return(marker_name)

with undoable('Insert region from selected item using marker name'):	
	for i in range (RPR_CountSelectedMediaItems(0)):	
		selected_item = RPR_GetSelectedMediaItem(0, i)
		item_start = RPR_GetMediaItemInfo_Value(selected_item, 'D_POSITION')
		item_end = item_start + RPR_GetMediaItemInfo_Value(selected_item, 'D_LENGTH')
		marker_name = getMarkerName(item_start)
		track_color = RPR_GetTrackColor(RPR_GetMediaItem_Track(selected_item))

		RPR_AddProjectMarker2(0, True, item_start, item_end, marker_name, 0, track_color)
	RPR_UpdateTimeline()

Last edited by mwe; 12-30-2012 at 01:04 AM. Reason: Cleaned things up a little more
mwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:35 PM   #3
bergweg
Human being with feelings
 
bergweg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Geo. area known as Italy
Posts: 59
Default

I've tried the script in Reaper 4.31 (rev 7). I get an error. Do I need an update?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg marker to region with marker name - sws python error.jpg (53.0 KB, 354 views)
bergweg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 03:05 PM   #4
mwe
Human being with feelings
 
mwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bergweg View Post
I've tried the script in Reaper 4.31 (rev 7). I get an error. Do I need an update?
Well that's no good. By rev 7 you mean SWS v2.3.0 #7? To be truthful, I only tested against #8 and 9 but the whatsnew file lead me to believe #7 would work as well. Is there a sws_python.py file in your Reaper program directory?
mwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 03:36 PM   #5
bergweg
Human being with feelings
 
bergweg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Geo. area known as Italy
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwe View Post
By rev 7 you mean SWS v2.3.0 #7?
Nope, I mean reaper 4.31 rev 7d61bf.

I have SWS 2.3.0 Build #4

I have Python 2.7 installed, but there is no sws_python.py in my Reaper program directory. (I can however run python scripts)

Where did you get the sws extension v2.3.0 Builds #8 and #9?
bergweg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 04:14 PM   #6
mwe
Human being with feelings
 
mwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 254
Default

I guess we miscommunicated a little. In order for the script to work you have to be using SWS v2.3.0 #7 or later. You can get the latest here. When you run the installer it will put the sws_python.py file in the right place.

I'm using Python 3.2 so I don't know if there will be issues with your 2.7 install. It's not going to hurt to try though.
mwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.