Old 06-23-2016, 03:48 PM   #1
leighhunt
Human being with feelings

Default Reaper API within custom VST plugin

Greetings all,
First post from a recent potential convert from Ableton Live / Maxmsp world here.
I have a reasonable amount of 'hobbyist' interest in programming, my best effort being a midi in/out external for max4live that opened up the midi possibilities in M4L...I have quite a lot of programming fun, but I am by no means an expert.
Languages I have worked with mostly are C (building max gui externals in C to control my computers and apps via a touchscreen), python for Ableton Live Scripts, and a bit of ObjectiveC for fun custom midi/osc control apps (at least until my developer program subs ran out and I couldn't justify the extra expense for a hobby due to offspring arriving 18 months ago!).

I'm particularly interested in modulation matrices...... I kind of like live improvising in a soundscapey sort of way... which leads me to my question......

I notice with interest that the Playtime vst exists in Reaper world, and presume from this vst, that the reaper api can be pretty much exposed within a vst plugin.
One consideration I ask for advice on, is whether anyone has knowledge of the limitations of control using the api within a vst. What I am hoping to achieve is 64 or more potentially continuous streams of values to parameters in Reaper. Sample rate update would not be necessary, but stable 50ms update rate would be a worst case scenario for it to be worthwhile for my needs.

I have enough knowledge to build vst plugins using iplug, but my initial prodding of code and downloading of various open source bits and bobs leaves me completely unable to work out how to do this.