Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Old 11-12-2016, 02:39 AM   #1
Rizzo
Human being with feelings

Default Reaper does not read "articulation" midi events?

Hey there everyone, first forum post for me.

I'm slowly advancing in home recording, and I found an obstacle in midi programming. As a premise, I'll say I didn't find an answer to my question in previous forum posts here or other Google searches. But I'm still a noob, so maybe I'm wrong.

I'm trying to get midi bass articulations by using the VST "Ample Bass PII". In this VST, articulation effects are not comprised in the midi map but triggered internally in the VST itself with specific midi events. For instance, you won't have the "slide effect" note to insert in your piano roll, but a "slide effect" midi note that will trigger the interested note, causing an effect on that. The trigger note is to be inserted before the note to trigger the effect while entering it, or during the note to trigger an exiting effect (example: entering slide or exiting slide).

In case I wasn't clear enough, here's an official demo video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xo-gquQbxsw

I would need to simulate some bass slides, so by following the tutorial and VST manual I'm inserting the needed midi events as shown, but nothing happens.
What am I doing wrong? Is it user error or a function lacking in Reaper?
The official tutorial was shown in Cubase.

Edit: as a side note, I'm not using the latest Reaper version but still on v4.57.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Rizzo; 11-12-2016 at 03:05 AM.
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 07:20 AM   #2
DarkStar

Hello Rizzo and welcome to these forums. You'll find many helpful people here and a lot of useful information. Make sure that you:
get the excellent User Guide by Nicholas too: http://www.cockos.com/reaper/userguide.php,
check out Kenny Gioia's great video series: http://www.reaper.fm/videos.php,