Old 12-21-2014, 12:47 AM   #441
ProfRhino
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deptra View Post
Are you suggesting that if one man ended up dead in a car wreck, we should all stop driving? And if one Antares rocket gone kaboom, we should all leave the outer space alone forever? You're funny.
No, but I'm aware of the immense complications a UI zooming system brings, I'd rather see those hundreds, maybe thousands of man hours spent on something useful related to better audio- and MIDI editing, instead of a gimmick like that.
Look Ma, what I can do, it's like chewing gum !
Rhino
ProfRhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 01:13 AM   #442
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Skandinavia
Posts: 400
Default

*me erases all my previous list of thoughts i was going to wish for and simply.. softening my voice..and say..*
all i wanna say is please.. .. KICK SOME *blip!*ASS!! Cockos! wohwohwoh!! *Blip!* yeah *censored*

Last edited by SmajjL; 12-21-2014 at 02:00 AM. Reason: ahh, thats better :)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 09:10 AM   #443
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 484
Default

@ProfRhino
I am serious, definitely ! If we talk about Reaper 5, we talk about new era !
It would be the occasion to solves a lot of problems :
and it would allow more fun :
  • quickly change color scheme of any theme
  • retina display
  • more customization options
It is just suggestions, but I strongly advice you to take a loot at some modern vector GUI we talk in the thread (linked above) : good vector based UI... are good


If you want to see few dozens more 'useful' feature request, I invite you to click on the link on my signature, and read about all these ideas. And to vote if you like it

Last edited by X-Raym; 12-28-2014 at 09:20 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 11:52 AM   #444
johnatuna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1
Default Drumming mapper

One like Fruity Loops. Or does Reaper have one now that I have not found?
johnatuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 02:06 PM   #445
PooFox
Human being with feelings
 
PooFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 2,038
Default

yes, vector-based, drag and drop ui would be the tits. WALTER ain't for musicians...
__________________
| Twilight Mystery School |
Surrealist Electronic Music
PooFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 04:44 PM   #446
humbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3
Default

I use Samplitude Pro X, Logic (steer clear of Logic Pro X, I've got it, buggy as hell), and Slo... Oops I meant Protools as well as Reaper. What I would like to see requires time and attention on the development side, so I would't expect this immediately:
More work done with object editing functions. This is Samplitude territory, and they are second to none. It would open a whole new world of possibilities for Reaper.
Another advancement would be swipe editing in the take folder, something that Logic uses in there comp editor, and is possibly the one uniquely powerful feature that they can boast of. ( I'm actually very quick, editing in reaper, but I do find myself having to pause when I move to either Samplitude or Reaper after working with Logic).
humbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 05:58 PM   #447
death
Human being with feelings
 
death's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Default Wishlist

One of the things I can't help noticing looking down this list is how many things people are requesting that already exist. Reminds me that this is a proper ol' rabbit hole of a DAW we all call home, and there are always new quirks and hidden depths to discover.

I agree with the sentiment that I don't particularly want the devs to focus on lots of bells, whistles and 'suites' of instruments etc. I use reaper as the skeleton (ha) at the heart of my production world, and I load a bunch of good quality plugins in to do all those jobs. That's the delight of it. It's a lightweight, super affordable, super efficient and super customisable program. Long may it remain so.

So, all the things I would like are basic functionality things. I add my list to the assembled company, secretly hoping that all these things are actually already there and someone will tell me that I've missed them!

External controller support: Many Daws now give the option to connect external controllers and send data to and from the Daw. Reaper only does this for certain specific surfaces (ones that support OSC). I own a lot of good hardware, which I use with Ableton and also, to some extent, with Reaper, but in reaper everything is one way, as none of these are preconfigured OSC devices. People have told me that you can set up your own midi to osc protocols so this isn't really a missing feature. I've done quite a lot of poking around, and I can't really find any useful or clear OSC information on the web, let alone in reaperworld. I also feel like it doesn't need to be that hard, especially given the excellent actions setup in reaper. Just some feedback options in there would do for me, especially as I don't really want to have to run a third party piece of interpreting software to make all my midi devices talk nicely in OSC...

The ability to control ALL fx with hardware: at the moment, you can't assign or control parameters in input or take fx. This is pretty annoying, especially when you have all your effects mapped to a controller and are used to being able to operate your plugs like they are hardware, but then you set up an input fx chain and realise that you can't, say, map the gain control to a knob on your hardware, but are obliged to pop the input fx window and get busy with the mouse every time you want to make a change. Real downer on the recording workflow.

Take fx is a similar deal. I like using them sort of in lieu of destructive editing. bang on the fx you want, then print the whole thing off to a new take. Brilliant workflow, but a bit of a downer when you have to suddenly do all your editing by mouse. Given the focus specific default controller mappings in reaper, why shouldn't fx in the input and take fx chains respond just the same as the ones in the mixer?

I'm sure I'd like some of the other things folks have said, but really, for me, the bigger leaps forwards are the ones that allow me to use my mouse less.
death is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 07:33 PM   #448
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 7,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by death View Post
Given the focus specific default controller mappings in reaper, why shouldn't fx in the input and take fx chains respond just the same as the ones in the mixer?
Input FX and take FX do respond to controller mappings that have already been created and saved as default, for that specific FX -- I just tested this. Do you have a specific situation where this is not working?

-- note, if you create a default controller mapping for an FX, that default won't automatically apply to other instances of the same FX that are already open. But it will apply to newly created instances, regardless of whether on takes, monitor FX, etc.

Last edited by schwa; 01-06-2015 at 07:44 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 08:19 PM   #449
Sound asleep
Human being with feelings
 
Sound asleep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,917
Default

My biggest wish for reaper 5 by far, and I'm not confident it will happen, (aside from project backup number limit) is for better envelope behaviour, my god, please better envelope behaviour.

Envelopes are crazy powerful, but I find myself trying to use any possible workarounds just to avoid them, because they are such a pain to work with.

I can't even copy paste points. It gives me "no envelope selected" well how do I select an envelope then? Then what If I want to copy an item, and take the envelope with me? This creates all sorts of problems.

There are a number of ways to make this easier, and I would love any of them. Just please oh please reaper gods, give us the full power of envelopes.

Found a solution for paste, maybe it was my action somehow, but going into menu editor and adding paste to the menu, which for some reason isn't already there, did the trick.

But there are so many things with envelopes that get me to pull my hair out. And yet there is so much stuff you can do with them. It's a dream of mine to be excited to use envelopes rather than avoid them like the plague.
__________________
Miles in your Shoes Original tune

My Soundcloud

Last edited by Sound asleep; 01-06-2015 at 08:24 PM.
Sound asleep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 11:33 PM   #450
ProfRhino
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by humbo View Post
I use Samplitude Pro X, Logic (steer clear of Logic Pro X, I've got it, buggy as hell), and Slo... Oops I meant Protools as well as Reaper. What I would like to see requires time and attention on the development side, so I would't expect this immediately:
More work done with object editing functions. This is Samplitude territory, and they are second to none. It would open a whole new world of possibilities for Reaper.
Another advancement would be swipe editing in the take folder, something that Logic uses in there comp editor, and is possibly the one uniquely powerful feature that they can boast of. ( I'm actually very quick, editing in reaper, but I do find myself having to pause when I move to either Samplitude or Reaper after working with Logic).
Exactly the kind of functionality that would make a real difference for Reaper.
I have my own list of much needed improvements coming from a similar angle here http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=152424 , and I fully sympathize with yours.
Rhino
ProfRhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 11:58 PM   #451
ProfRhino
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by death View Post
So, all the things I would like are basic functionality things. I add my list to the assembled company, secretly hoping that all these things are actually already there and someone will tell me that I've missed them!
External controller support: Many Daws now give the option to connect external controllers and send data to and from the Daw. Reaper only does this for certain specific surfaces (ones that support OSC). I own a lot of good hardware, which I use with Ableton and also, to some extent, with Reaper, but in reaper everything is one way, as none of these are preconfigured OSC devices. People have told me that you can set up your own midi to osc protocols so this isn't really a missing feature. I've done quite a lot of poking around, and I can't really find any useful or clear OSC information on the web, let alone in reaperworld. I also feel like it doesn't need to be that hard, especially given the excellent actions setup in reaper. Just some feedback options in there would do for me, especially as I don't really want to have to run a third party piece of interpreting software to make all my midi devices talk nicely in OSC...
Unfortunately I don't think you missed anything here.
I waded through tons of threads with little to no useable content, until a friendly colleague hooked me up with a "proof of concept" - granted, it worked, kinda, but not integrated with Reaper's controller mapping in any way - interesting, thanks, but fully useless in the real world.
APIs are no substitute for missing functionality, elegant consolidated workflow and consequent bugfixing.
These things require many hours of concentrated, coordinated hard work, this is the job of a paid core team, way too much to expect from fellow users doing it for fun. Their contributions are incredibly valuable as is, highly appreciated, but to implement deep features like this is beyond their capabilities.
ymmv,
Rhino
ProfRhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 02:28 AM   #452
McKay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Default

A high quality Rea algoverb and a better set of names/listing for the JS plugins, maybe even a low-key GUI. Something very simple but a little more intuitive.
McKay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 03:08 PM   #453
innuendo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Posts: 231
Default

I have this impression that Reaper in its current shape contains some features that have been in fact long since abandoned. Some have never been really finished to a useable degree, some probably suffer compatibility regressions with newer Reaper versions. Examples are Reamote and some JS plugins that simply don't work (at least they didn't last time I tried). So my request for v5 would be to deprecate them in order to prevent user frustration... No offense meant whatsoever, just pragmatic thinking.
I opened a thread for this (link follows), but nobody seems interested to chime in, which makes me wonder if it's all in my fantasy? Or people just don't want to touch this can of worms?
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=153195
innuendo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 05:02 PM   #454
humbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3
Default Thanks ProfRhino

Thanks man. Someone who understands.
humbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 01:06 PM   #455
Sound asleep
Human being with feelings
 
Sound asleep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,917
Default

Ability to set render tags, so that author name etc, can be chosen to be written in by default on every render.

Maybe there is somewhere reaper could insert itself by default as well, thereby potentially offering free advertisement. Like "publisher" or "encoded by". I'm down with having "powered by reaper" or whatever appearing in every render I make. It might not get the most views, but the feature would be great regardless.
__________________
Miles in your Shoes Original tune

My Soundcloud
Sound asleep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 07:29 AM   #456
death
Human being with feelings
 
death's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks Schwa. You are, unsurprisingly, correct. Focus specific mappings do transfer to take and input fx, which is great. Not quite sure why it wasn't working for me before...

That said, it would be great to be able to hard map input fx controls to hardware. I quite often have one channel set up for recording, if i am working alone assembling a track, so that i don't have to keep setting up the record options on new tracks. Much simpler to just have one recording channel and then just shift the recorded audio over to other channels set up for mixing.

In that context, I often have gain and other utility plugins on my input fx for that channel, and would like to be able to tweak them quickly when I record a different source. So, a bank of knobs that are dedicated to the controls on those input fx plugins would be very useful, but it isn't possible as you can't map parameters from within the input fx, only generically from a channel insert fx.

Agreed Mr Rhino. That's kind of my point, I think.

One really (I think) Simple solution to this would be a set of actions that work thusly: There is currently an action to 'adjust volume on selected track'. How about 'Adjust volume on selected track +1', 'Adjust volume on selected track +2', etc. You could map a bank of, say, 8 faders to the first eight of these, and then they would map to whichever track you selected and the 7 that followed it.
death is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 08:10 AM   #457
Farkle
Human being with feelings
 
Farkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 5
Default

Hi, all!

I am just adding to the request list, I'm pretty sure this has been requested before, but I would love this single functionality to be implemented.

Allow for control of Track Volume, Track Pan, etc. from a hardware controller (i.e., Novation Zero), in 64 bit Reaper.

There's a plugin for 32 bit, but it doesn't work in 64. Basically, emulate how Studio One does it (or a variation thereof).

I want to click the volume fader, wiggle it, click "Learn external controller", then wiggle my hardware fader, and have it be connected. Same with Panpot.

I"m really hopeful that can be implemented in Reaper 5. It's a no brainer for me for mixing, as I can use my hardware controller the way I want to... as an outboard mixing controller.

Thanks, all!

Mike
__________________
Mike Worth
Composer, Film and Television
www.michaelpatrickworth.com
Farkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.