Old 08-02-2014, 05:31 AM   #1
das
Human being with feelings

Default MIDI controllers and REAPER?

Hi All!

I am a newbie on this forum and to music creation in general, so I suspect that my question has been asked many times! So if you can answer or point me in the right direction, much appreciated.
My aim is to record songs that I have written over the years - words on paper, melody/tune in my head (and one-fingered on a keyboard)at present. So hearing about REAPER and MIDI controllers seems to be the way to go.

Which keyboard controller works best with Reaper? I would like "plug & play" compatibility if possible - or a simple click menu type of installation.

I do not have a midi controller yet and I have not downloaded Reaper yet, but got the book off Amazon as a first step! I obviously want the least hassle in hardware configuration etc. I will be using WIN 7 OS and quite like the look of M-Audio Oxygen25 or M-Audio Axiom25 keyboard controllers.

I have already bought a second-hand TASCAM US-144 MK2 (USB 2) interface from Ebay, so ready for the next step -- "but a fool and his money.... etc".

Hope you can help a complete newbie into what looks like a fascinating hobby/pastime. THANKS IN ADVANCE!
das is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 07:38 AM   #2
DarkStar

Hello das and welcome to these forums. You'll find many helpful people here and a lot of useful information.

Many (tens, hundreds?) work perfectly well with Reaper (and with other DAWs).

Most have a simple driver install, and some have a separate Editor to allow you to configure them (assign different MIDI CC messages to the knobs etc)

Those two you mentioned should be fine - both have the correct software drivers for Windows 7 (64-bit?). Many people here use them (or their bigger versions).

Some things to consider:
-- the Oxygen and Axiom are quite different pieces of gear (one's double the price of the other, as an indicator)
-- do you need the MIDI pads on the Axiom?