Old 02-12-2017, 07:31 PM   #1
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,400
Default Reaper HAS midi automateable sends!

Yes. Who else knows this?

UPDATE with solution: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJX7hBIvUnI

A track in the middle which is
-child track to fx track (this is a must, if you use other methods, it is another solution)
-properly named, even you have 1000 tracks, just by looking at its name you know which fx is influencing which track, meaning understanding its effect in tcp or mcp without routings visible. Great for name based filtering views.
-the point is, the number of sends in our project did NOT change, only we shifted the send control somewhere else, increasing its control potential enormously, overcoming all Reaper limits

At least this is my favourite method now, without any disadvantages.

This could be even more simplified if the IO button drag would allow custom actions, then I could do above using that IO button drag. Now I select the fx track, mouseover to source track, hit binding to custom action which does everything as one step, ready to mix, everything set.

Summary:
a) send control via OSC is possible (everyone knows already)
b) send control via automation is possible (well, to some degree everyone knows this already)
c) send control via external midi hardware is possible
d) send control via item cc is possible
e) send control via sidechaining is possible
f) send control via parameter modulation is possible
g) send control on multiple tracks, all in parallel, using all above options together or mixed is possible

Last edited by TonE; Today at 05:25 AM.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 11:47 PM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 11,395
Default

tell us more
__________________
You don't have to agree with me, but it will go a lot easier on you if you do http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 07:38 AM   #3
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 443
Default

Quote:
Sometimes the solution just hits you and you know immediately how it has to be done in Reaper
Place the send plugins anywhere you like in the project on tracks and or items .
And receive plugins on your effects tracks.

http://stash.reaper.fm/v/26394/JRgmemSendv1.zip
http://stash.reaper.fm/v/26400/JRgme...RTrackTemplate

Guide here.

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...ght=JRgmemSend

This is a solution for sending signals within Reaper using gmem. It would be great if this could be possible as standard.

Anyway, this is one way of doing it.
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 07:39 AM   #4
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 6,275
Default

For the selected track, there are actions like :

Adjust track send 1 volume (MIDI CC/OSC only)

Which is obviously limited since it works only for the selected track.

Another possibility would be to make a simple JS plugin that does some signal splitting and then route the output of that plugin into a desired send. Not too bad, but still worse than having an actual built-in way to control the sends with MIDI.
__________________
For info on Reaper extension plugins (including Xenakios' previous extensions) :
http://sws.mj-s.com/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 08:16 AM   #5
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,645
Default

edit:
I decided to post some cat pics instead.


Last edited by nofish; 02-17-2017 at 11:06 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 09:49 AM   #6
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 443
Default

I like puzzles

There is a way using Reastream which has local broadcast with identifiers.. I think this is pretty much the gmem method though..

Are you talking about actually manipulating the native send faders ?
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 10:09 AM   #7
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
No, there is native, powerful way. Still waiting a little more, making it more exciting. Any Cockos devs maybe with suggestions or guesses?
We know how
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 02:44 PM   #8
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 443
Default

Hi TonE,

I thought you would have shared your knowledge by now lol is fun !

Just to clarify as it isn't quite clear what the functionality of your approach is..

Are you able to record cc data into a midi part and play back that cc data thus controlling the send level fader/faders for the destination track/tracks? VSTi Realearn (helgoboss) works for this approach but is not native to reaper or are you just writing envelope data using midi cc via midi/osc?

Would love to know what you are actually doing... Cheers
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 03:21 PM   #9
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 231
Default

Is this another clue TonE? >
http://forum.cockos.com/attachment.p...1&d=1487024462
Lolz.
Attached Images
File Type: gif Midisendtrix.gif (2.3 KB, 65 views)
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 04:32 PM   #10
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 443
Default

Haha .. Do you smoke a lot of weed by any chance?


There are lots of practical solutions already available, my challenge to you is to create a midi part with a cc# and link that to a native send fader in the routing window on any track in the project without using a script or any other 3rd party vsti also excluding side chaining with parameter modulation or sending the signal by any other method.

I want to see the actual routing window send fader moving being controlled by the midi data in the item otherwise this has already been achieved in one way or another AFAIK.
Post a lice cap of this happening I would love to see it..
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 04:32 PM   #11
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Bri1, imagine you are in Jamaica, live mixing to some riddim,
Yes- I am there now in my mind. =) Got a light bro?
Not sure how the video helps..
How close was the gif TonE?
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 04:36 PM   #12
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Reverb View Post
I want to see the actual routing window send fader moving being controlled by the midi data in the item otherwise this has already been achieved in one way or another AFAIK.
Post a lice cap of this happening I would love to see it..
O- how deep are your pockets? this is above top secret info.
Need to know only basis-NDA. MFI and BnQ.
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 04:50 PM   #13
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 443
Default

You forgot BHS, oh yeah they don't exist lol.

This place cracks me up sometimes haha.

Bored now, cheers guys was fun..
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 07:54 PM   #14
Goldreap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 378
Default

TonE,
I see that you are an human being with feelings but from a rather obscure planet?
Goldreap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 01:32 AM   #15
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 243
Default

What an unhelpful thread ... :-(
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 02:16 AM   #16
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 443
Default



A lady was picking through the frozen Chickens at an ASDA store but she couldn’t find one big enough for her family.
She asked a passing assistant, “Do these Chickens get any bigger?”
The assistant replied, “I’m afraid not, they’re dead.”

Hopefully this thread is just like the chickens in ASDA..lol
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 06:50 AM   #17
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncleswede View Post
What an unhelpful thread ... :-(
Lol,actually,silence reveals much.

@J Reverb- your right,i forgot to add bhs (and the scumbags that ran that show,what a disgrace)
They also withheld information from others-- but at least in this thread no actual jobs or livelyhoods are really at stake,just a small amount of 'time'.
All will be revealed.Take the ~multi-coloured chillpill~

Members: 80,953 =everyone has a chance to input.Not seeing much here though...
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 08:05 AM   #18
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 231
Default

Not a dickybird?.. maybe the cat needs letting out now...
If it's not obvious,then why is it 'hidden?'
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 08:11 AM   #19
HobbyCore
Human being with feelings
 
HobbyCore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncleswede View Post
What an unhelpful thread ... :-(
Incredibly.

We need some better moderation here, threads like this make the community look pretty bad.
__________________
OS X 10.12.3/Win 8.1 - Late 2011 17" macbook pro.
HobbyCore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 08:19 AM   #20
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HobbyCore View Post
Incredibly.

We need some better moderation here, threads like this make the community look pretty bad.
How is this "making a community look pretty bad"??
Only thing that might be-is lack of input/knowledge from others,is it not?
TonE should just finish what he started imo.
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 12:33 PM   #21
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 443
Default

Right stop being a smart ass coz if you have something to give to the community then all good otherwise stop pissing people off with your stupid shit.... Either spill the beans or shut up... I know people with learning difficulties and it seems you have teaching difficulties this is reaper it's not a place to wind people up mate nuff said..
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 02:46 PM   #22
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,645
Default


Last edited by nofish; 02-17-2017 at 11:06 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 02:52 PM   #23
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 4,480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
^^^ +1
Another +1.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 03:01 PM   #24
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,645
Default


Last edited by nofish; 02-17-2017 at 11:06 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 03:37 PM   #25
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 443
Default

Please devs delete this thread it's a nightmare

God dam it !! pfff !
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 03:50 PM   #26
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 231
Default

Wow... hehehee somethings really have been revealed here..eh TonE?
Even getting personal and insulting=wow. ?
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 04:08 PM   #27
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 443
Default

Bri1
don't be a ass licker, Tone is responsible for this mess so unless there is some kind of revolutionary hidden tech (devs) here then shut up lets just end this bullcrap and move on ........ FOS ! Everyone knows it .. that by the way IS my last post. peace out dreamers was fun ..again..lol
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 04:09 PM   #28
haervo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Nobody is interested in your opinion, here inputs count, not opinions. ...
That is a forum here. Did you see that in the title? A forum is for people contributing with their opinions.

And if you have no input, you shouldnt write here. So, yes, input counts. Your input is zero so far.

And I am not interested in your opinion nor interested in this kinda BS. Be aware, that this forum has an ignore-function.
__________________
"Dear Americans... I told you so. Sincerely, your Aldous Huxley"
haervo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 04:26 PM   #29
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,645
Default


Last edited by nofish; 02-17-2017 at 11:06 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 04:39 PM   #30
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,397
Default

I've got five 'relative' endless knobs setup to control the first five sends via midi/osc actions, plus a send mute/unmute which does it via a Lua script, because there's no action for that(yet).

Why do I do it this way ?

Temporary groups via selected tracks. Great for pushing up sends with one knob.

Even have a bunch of chroma knobs so they're easy to find and 'feel'.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 04:56 PM   #31
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 443
Default

Sorry that's only one track at a time when selected .. to quote I've got five 'relative' endless knobs setup to control the first five sends via midi/osc actions
BUT you can't play back those sends via midi therefore they are not truly midi controlled i.e they are only real time and not recordable.

Thanks for a sensible input Airon .. the only reason I chimed in again..

Put it this way Reaper doesn't have midi controllable sends (yet) osc external (yes) not 0-127 recordable using a controller to a cc lane, the send level faders aren't linked yet to internal midi as part of reaper unless the OP is going to REVEAL ALL ??? which I doubt
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix

Last edited by J Reverb; 02-15-2017 at 05:02 PM.
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 05:28 PM   #32
Nantho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 62
Default

Useless thread...

Tony, next time you ask for something, be sure someone will know the answer and won't give it to you until... until what now ? Not to mention all the "publicity" in other more or less related threads...

As I said, useless thread.
Nantho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 09:18 AM   #33
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,400
Default

Nantho, I did not ask anything. I told the fact. You seem not to understand what it is all about, no problem my friend.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 09:24 AM   #34
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Reverb View Post
Bri1
don't be a ass licker, Tone is responsible for this mess so unless there is some kind of revolutionary hidden tech (devs) here then shut up lets just end this bullcrap and move on ........ FOS ! Everyone knows it .. that by the way IS my last post.
In Reaper there is nothing hidden, but you have to discover it. Or think in a certain way to use what you discovered in the past. This is all about. J Reverb, still waiting, good.

When the magic will be revealed, I will edit the first post, so the future visitors do not have to read the exciting comments so far. But the earlier ones were really useful, thanks!
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 09:29 AM   #35
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Reverb View Post
Put it this way Reaper doesn't have midi controllable sends (yet) osc external (yes) not 0-127 recordable using a controller to a cc lane, the send level faders aren't linked yet to internal midi as part of reaper unless the OP is going to REVEAL ALL ??? which I doubt
J Reverb, please do not doubt, this is all about. Everyone seems to think that way, and that is wrong! Do not accept what others are saying, until you are 100% sure, I know this is wrong, you will also know, soon... Reaper has and can all what you wrote in above quote. Also without OSC, the OSC way is old news already. This, by now everyone should know already. But there is even the normal way! And Reaper had it always.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 09:40 AM   #36
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,094
Default

Place volume / pan JS plugin on track, route it to 3/4
Send 3/4 to another track
Automate volume / pan JS plugin.


Am I missing something?

And what's everyone freaking out about in this thread, seems like everyone is having a good time and a laugh.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:15 AM   #37
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,400
Default

Fergler, unfortunately, this is not the magic solution. At least you tried something, without freaking out.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:50 AM   #38
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 873
Default

What exactly is meant by "automatable sends"?

If you add a send to another track or hardware, "Send mute", "Send volume" and "Send pan" should automatically be listed among the original track's envelopes.
juliansader is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 11:12 AM   #39
emid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 87
Default

I also didn't get 'automateable' send but am new to reaper (not new to DAWs'). I thought it is a common terminology among reaper users but looks like not. TonE, care to explain please to get a hang of it?
emid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 11:14 AM   #40
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,400
Default

It should mean: 'automating send via midi'. Thanks for asking.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.