Old Yesterday, 02:34 AM   #1601
avocadomix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
I'd suggest that it's premature to discuss windows plugins in native reaper. Though I have no knowledge or say in the matter, I'd imagine that getting the port done, get Swell done to the point that the GUI is close to flawless, getting linux VSTs working well, etc, is the priority. A bridge for windows VSTs and it's use with reamote will most likely (I hope) follow.

I came across some information that this is a linux limitation (that can be configured) which stops a single application from using more than half the RAM on the system, unfortunately I've forgotten the details...
This can be configured with the ulimit command but I don't think there is any default limit in mainstream distributions.
Worth a check though.
avocadomix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:53 AM   #1602
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 743
Default

IIRC Alex has 64gb of ram and no swap, so this might be the problem:
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documenta...mit-accounting

I'm not sure if this is what I found a year or two ago when me and Alex discussed this problem, but I'll keep digging a little more to see what I can find.
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE/Wine, Reaper64, Komplete8, IK Multimedia, Toontrack and various other plugs. Gear: i7-2600k, 16gb ram, RME Multiface, RME Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, and much more :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:17 AM   #1603
piratethedog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Also, just pushed some swell changes which should allow entering non-latin characters via the keyboard, as well as copying/pasting them properly (hopefully!)
Works great. Thanks a lot!
piratethedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:42 AM   #1604
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 144
Default

http://manual.ardour.org/working-wit...s-vst-support/

Running windows vsts on Linux depends on Wine, so any program (DAW or whatever) that tries to run windows vst's on Linux is then very dependent on Wine's current capabilities which can change with different Wine versions and hardware/driver setups.

Running windows vst's on Linux is basically similar to running windows games on Linux, and sometimes Wine has missing bits that might get filled in later on and/or can be adjusted by real extra dll's and/or by tweaking certain settings.

D3D Wine/hardware driver problems are pretty common (can be tweaked) and having to use extra real dll's is pretty common as well.

The Wine D3D stuff is going through the Linux opengl driver, so a good opengl driver setup will help and there are various options depending on the opengl driver Nvidia etc and there is also xorg.conf setups for glx loading etc for some drivers.

Wine audio setup (wineasio etc) doesn't come into it for windows vst's running under a Linux native host, because the audio is handled internally by the host and whatever it's doing with Alsa/Jack.

I've picked up on that Wine seems to handle multiprocessing in ways that can interfere with what some windows programs might expect and also some GPU acceleration things can throw Wine for a loop as well.

Last edited by osxmidi; Yesterday at 09:46 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:30 AM   #1605
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
It happens in maybe 1 of 10 cases if I repeatedly dock and undock the FX-chain.

(Ubuntu 14.04 libgtk3.10.8ubuntu1.6 xfwm4.11.1-2ubuntu2)
Yeah, it's totally that GDK bug -- because when undocking via the FX chain, it destroys a menu and creates another window (for the undocked FX), which triggers the bug.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:37 PM   #1606
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,112
Default

aaand more updates in git, particularly relating to how focus is handled -- for example switching top level windows (via alt+tab or clicking the window caption) will preserve the focus in each window. Also returning from a modal window to the owner will restore focus. Having said that this might have broken things, so if you find any bad behaviors post them here!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:43 PM   #1607
jm duchenne
Human being with feelings
 
jm duchenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: France
Posts: 624
Default

Hi Justin,

Seeing how you are involved actually to push forward the native Linux version of Reaper, I wonder if you will even come in France for the Linux Audio Conference at the end of the month ?
http://lac.linuxaudio.org/

Anyway, I will try to use this version to diffuse an electroacoustic concert of music made in Linux (and I will certainly also have a little one made with it !).
jm duchenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.