Old 03-24-2017, 05:20 PM   #1
Openurlife
Human being with feelings

Default Drum Sound

Hey everyone,
This is my first time posting here. I've only been using Reaper for a few months. I've been recording drums. I watched tons of videos on how to set up mics etc. and I think I got a pretty decent sound for the room I'm working in (a converted garage) with 7 mics. I'm using the Pyle Pro drum mics (the cheapies on amazon). I would like to get some opinions on the drum sound I got. I did play around with the EQ's to get it to sound a little better but I want to touch up the snare a little more and make it a little deeper sounding. Unfortunately in this recording one of the snares was broken so you might here a faint *boing* sound haha and I also noticed that one of the lugs completely broken and the skin isn't tightened completely around so I'm not getting the best sound out of the snare at all. It's a Pearl Reference snare, Pearl is sending me replacement lugs soon.

Here is a snippet of something I recorded. My friend and I are recording hard rock/power metal to give you an idea at what kind of sound I want to try to achieve with fixing up the drum sound with eq's etc. I don't want to use plug ins.

I'm basically just looking for opinions/feedback.

Here's Drums with FX off.
https://we.tl/mMCszNeXTN

Here's Drums with FX that I tried playing around.
https://we.tl/thP7zDKNMS
Openurlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2017, 07:26 PM   #2
Tod

Quote:
Originally Posted by Openurlife View Post
Hey everyone,