Old 12-18-2014, 12:48 AM   #1
HookedonSonics
Human being with feelings

Default Mastering to < -12 db

Hi all,
First post on this forum. I started using reaper around a year ago and I am by no means a professional but I do feel like I have a pretty decent understanding of how Reaper works and I love making music so here I am. I come on here quite a bit and really appreciate the people and community.

I have been working on a solo project for quite sometime and finally I have a song I am not entirely ashamed of letting people listen to. My gf has been letting me drive her car as of late. It's been many many years since I listened to the radio, and last time I did it really sucked but there is a new indie/college channel where I live that I would love to submit my song. The only problem is they require all tracks capped at -12db for many reasons.

Well, what with learning how to use the DAW and midi etc. this never occurred to me. I was more just concentrating on not clipping in reaper and making sure my music could play decently on other devices.

Also, I have just been planning to create an LP and having somebody master the whole thing as from what I can tell one's ear gets lost somewhere along the way. But for now I just think it would be really cool to hear my song on the radio.

I know how to render the track and drop it back in as a wav. From here I am sure I can get this thing under -12db. Can I get it sounding as good I am not sure. I would love to hear any advice on this if you are willing to share.

My questions are as follows:

1) Moving forward for me. Should I be capping tracks(using some type of limiter) or compressing or eq'ing from the master track from the outset of my projects so I don't have to deal with this issue further down the line?

2) Are there other common thresholds(as in the -12db) in different industries that I should be aware of?