Old 03-16-2014, 06:26 PM   #1
Sleepy_Time
Human being with feelings

Default USB Interface Questions

I'm recording a podcast with a co-host and I'm looking to upgrade my set up. We're currently using a single USB mic and the sound quality suffers some because of this. I would like to have a two mic set up, and from playing around with my laptop, it's looking like I'm going to have to get a USB interface. I've looked into some different interfaces, but since I'm a complete newbie, I don't really know what I need to be looking for. So, what would be a good, inexpensive interface for recording two guys speaking?
Sleepy_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 11:53 PM   #2
Jeffsounds

We would be better able to answer if we knew exactly what you need. Only 2 mic's? Easy enough answer. Just about any USB interface that will handle 2 inputs will do. I really like the Focusrite Scarlett series.

But you need to ask yourself if you are ever going to expand? Will you ever have more than one guest? Will you ever need more than 2 inputs? It might be better to plan ahead.
Old 03-17-2014, 01:18 AM   #3
urednik

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
We would be better able to answer if we knew exactly what you need. Only 2 mic's? Easy enough answer. Just about any USB interface that will handle 2 inputs will do. I really like the Focusrite Scarlett series.

But you need to ask yourself if you are ever going to expand? Will you ever have more than one guest? Will you ever need more than 2 inputs? It might be better to plan ahead.
I've also started with a 2mic (preamp) interface, and ended with a 8preamp scarlett.

Having a 2/4 preamp:
Pros - it can also be usb powered, so you need no extra electrical cable if your computer battery is ok. It is smaller and portable.