Old 04-12-2012, 11:24 AM   #1
Miscreant
Human being with feelings
 
Miscreant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 62
Default FF800, Win 7, Axe-Fx II, Reaper - Latency Issue

I've been poking around looking for an answer to this issue, but can't seem to figure it out. I hope you guys can help me out.

Yesterday I for the first time hooked up my entire new set up--new computer, FF800, Axe-Fx II, Reaper installed, etc. Having never done this before, I've run into a couple of problems, but fortunately the driver installation and firmware updates have gone really smoothly.

I spent quite a bit of time in the 'Sounds' menu of my computer trying to figure out exactly what should be disabled and what should be defaulted, and I now have sound coming through my monitors, fed by my FF800, when I go on youtube or listen to music. No problem.

But, I'm getting about .25ms (to guess) latency when I play guitar through my Axe-Fx. This happens even when I'm not using Reaper. All I need to do is play my guitar and it comes through my speakers. So, for one, I'm not sure if this set up is right: perhaps it's the case that I should only be getting audio from my guitar when I open Reaper, create a track, then arm it? If so, then it seems I've done something wrong in the 'Sounds' menu of Windows.

Perhaps more interestingly, when I do open Reaper, it says I only have about 2.3ms of latency, which is great. But even with it opened, and with a track armed, I'm still hearing approx. .25ms of latency. And I'm seeing my levels in the track rise when I play, but nothing is indicated in my master track. I'm not sure if that should be the case...

Anyways, initially when I opened Reaper it had me at about 23ms of latency, but then after doing some reading I disabled the Nividia and the Realtek High Definition Audio soundcards on my computer and that brought the latency down--according to Reaper--to around 2.3ms, as I said.

So, in short, my question is: why am I getting so much latency, even though Reaper says it's so low? Is this a FF800 issue, a DAW issue, or a configuration issue in my 'Sounds' menu on Win7?

Oh, and yes, I've brought my buffer size down to 48 on both the FF800 and on Reaper...didn't do anything.


Computer specs:

Win 7
Asus p9x79 deluxe mobo
Intel 7 3930k
Lacie TI PCI-E card


Help much appreciated. Thanks guys.
Miscreant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:30 AM   #2
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,644
Default

I'm not quite sure how you are hearing .25ms of latency?!?

Anyway download and run: DPC Latency Checker.

Post back with the results.

__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:33 AM   #3
Miscreant
Human being with feelings
 
Miscreant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 62
Default

Hey, I was just in Lansing last week for a wedding. Got ripped at Edmund's downtown and had the reception across the street at that restaurant. Starts with an 'A'.

Anyways, I could be entirely ignorant: I'm hearing latency, maybe it's not .25ms. I thought that's audible, but if it's not, then scratch that. I'm hearing latency. That's all I know.

Downloaded the program, here's the results: current latency varies from 115 to 150. So, it says there's no problems.

*scratches head*

I meant in my original post to say the latency is 25ms, that is, 1/4 a second. That is audible. Not .25ms, which is very small indeed.

Last edited by Miscreant; 04-12-2012 at 11:40 AM.
Miscreant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:46 AM   #4
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,644
Default

Did you run DPC with Reaper running?

You will get some latency with any system (its unavoidable), usually anything below 10 ms is acceptable.

Reaper is reporting your latency @ 2.3 ms (that breaks down to about 3 feet from you to the speaker) that should be fine... YMMV.

My latency sits at around 3.2 ms and this works fine for me.

Never been to Edmund's, was it nice?

__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:48 AM   #5
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,644
Default

Just saw your 'edit' about 25 ms of latency... what driver are you using? And if you are using ASIO (you should be)... what are your 'buffer' settings?


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 12:00 PM   #6
Miscreant
Human being with feelings
 
Miscreant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 62
Default

ASIO driver, buffer settings currently at 48 both in my RME settings and in reaper.

Although the audible latency doesn't seem to change with changes in the buffer setting.
Miscreant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 11:45 AM   #7
Miscreant
Human being with feelings
 
Miscreant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 62
Default

Anyone else have any suggestions? Much appreciated if you do.
Miscreant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 12:05 PM   #8
camerondye
Human being with feelings
 
camerondye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,183
Default

25 milliseconds is 25/1000 of a second which is still definitely audible and you should be doing better than that. I also have an FF800 and you won't ever regret it, I can always know it's something else besides the FF800 because in 6 years or so I've had no problems with it.

Honestly I don't think I even have to run my buffer size under 128, I think it's in the 2.X ms area. A couple of questions because I do not have an Axe-FX...

1. Does the Axe-FX go in through the USB or are you actually using the audio outputs into the FF800?

2. If you plug your guitar directly into the 1/4" inputs on the front are you still hearing the latency? Try a microphone also.

3. Are you sure you are using the ASIO driver?

4. Do you have "ANY" plugins at all running?

5. Is this a computer for recording or is it on the internet with virus protection and tons of other stuff on it? Are there any programs running in the background?

6. Did you go to the RME website and get everything up to date?


The RME has been the most stable best thing I've bought in my studio so there usually is a good answer. I'm not sure if there are any Firewire conflicts on certain boards but that may be something to check out on the RME website.
camerondye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 12:41 PM   #9
Miscreant
Human being with feelings
 
Miscreant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks for helping me out.

1. Both--let me explain. I have a TRS to XLR cable going from the L Output of the Axe-Fx into Input 1 of the FF800. However, I also have the Axe-Fx hooked up to my computer via USB, as there's a program called 'Axe-Edit' that can be used to modify the Axe-Fx, and it can only do this via USB.

I think the issue might be this: I don't know, frankly, how to configure the options in the 'Sounds' menu of Win7. I'm only getting sound from the Axe when I enable 'Line - 2 Axe-Fx II Audio' option in the 'Sounds' menu. And this appears in this menu, I believe, because to use the Axe-Fx via USB--either for audio or to modify it via Axe-Edit--you need to install drivers. Hence, the Axe-Fx II comes up in my 'Sounds' menu as one way to listen to the device.

Now, since, as I said, I can't seem to hear my guitar through my monitors without a) making 'Line - 2 Axe-Fx II audio' my default device and b) selecting 'listen to this device' in the properties menu, the problem might be this: I'm getting latency because the audio is actually going via USB into my computer, and USB 2.0 is slow and will give me latency.

So the issue might be: how do I configure the 'Sounds' menu to make the FF800 my listening device? That way the audio would go via firewire, and the latency would presumably match what appears in Reaper: around 2.5ms, which is no problem at all.

Anyways, if you followed that, that might be the problem. Let me answer your other questions, though:

2. Yes (so that whole spiel above might be totally wrong)

3. Yes. I also downloaded ASIO4ALL, and I can't seem to configure it properly with the FF800.

4. No

5. Computer is on the internet and has virus protection etc. running in the background, but the computer is a beast. I'd be very surprised if it couldn't handle one audio signal without latency (see specs in my first post).

6. Everything is up to date with everything: newest drivers on the RME, up to date firmware, and the same with the Axe-Fx.


Thanks again for your help.
Miscreant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 01:26 PM   #10
camerondye
Human being with feelings
 
camerondye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,183
Default

I'm not sure if Asio4All is better than the normal Asio driver, somebody else will have to chime in on this. I only use Asio4All when I'm using a computer with an onboard soundcard POS and not an interface and the normal Asio driver works great for me.

Unplug your Axe-FX from the USB and figure out your issue, your guitar has to be going through the Axe-FX USB and not the FF800...I think this is most likely the problem your are having IMO. Still try plugging directly into the FF800 and seeing though.
camerondye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 01:53 PM   #11
Miscreant
Human being with feelings
 
Miscreant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 62
Default

A really awesome guy from RME helped through the phone. Situation fixed: he says it was probably that I had 'Request Block Size' in Reaper preferences selected.

Unselected it and no more latency.

*shrug*

Thanks for your help though, guys. Appreciate the time.
Miscreant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.