Old 12-05-2012, 06:27 AM   #1
Azure
Human being with feelings
 
Azure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Palawan, Philippines
Posts: 4
Default Reaper and ASIO Drivers

Hi,
I'm relatively new to Reaper, and am still learning the ropes... I own a USB Audio Interface (the Focusrite 2i2), that works in Reaper and has had no problems. I used both the drivers that came with the hardware and ASIO4ALL, and, again, no problems - until I noticed this one.

Okay, here's the scenario: For instance I'm playing a file through Reaper (using my ASIO drivers) and I want to play a media file through Windows Media Player, why does it bring up the error,

"Windows Media Player encountered a problem while playing the file."?

Only when I close Reaper am I able to play a file from WMP, a video from YouTube, hear a chat notification from Facebook, or more importantly use an external editor (i.e., Audition, Audacity). =)

I guess I could use some help, LOL. =)

By the way, I doesn't help to use either ASIO4ALL (v2) or the ASIO drivers that came on the CD, they both have the same problem attached.

System Specs:

Intel Core i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz 3.30 GHz
8.00 GB RAM (7.90 GB usable)
Windows 7 64-bit Operating System
Azure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:44 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 12,133
Default

Hello azure and welcome to these forums. You'll find many helpful people here and a lot of useful information.

Many ASIO drivers support only one client at a time. So, if Reaper is using the driver, WMP cannot. You might try assigning a different driver (DirectSound ?) to WMP. Same for Audacity etc.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
My top 40 FRs, as voted by you
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:03 AM   #3
Azure
Human being with feelings
 
Azure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Palawan, Philippines
Posts: 4
Default

Okay thanks, I didn't really know that beforehand.. =) And now for the gritty details.. =)

How to assign a different driver for, say, WMP or Audition?
Azure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:31 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 12,133
Default

In general terms - select one from the list of available devices / drivers in the Audio configuration window for the products. No, I don't know where it is for the ones you mentioned. Under Options? Preferences? Setup?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
My top 40 FRs, as voted by you
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:49 AM   #5
Azure
Human being with feelings
 
Azure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Palawan, Philippines
Posts: 4
Default

Gotcha.. =) Thanks for you help, shall comment back soon if I've fixed the problem..

Regards,
Azure
Azure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:56 AM   #6
Quest The Wordsmith
Human being with feelings
 
Quest The Wordsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,002
Default

I also would like to know how to have WMP use a non-asio driver. I'm in the options dialog but can't find anything about drivers used.
__________________
Gimme a word and I'll rhyme...
www.freestylefam.com
Download our free mixtapes!
Quest The Wordsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asio, audio, drivers, focusrite, playback

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.