Old 12-18-2012, 12:10 AM   #1
CA$H FLOW
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 96
Default Error initializing ASIO drivers- SOO Annoying!

So I was using Reaper for about a week, everything was going smoothly then the next time I tried to use it I got this error message that said "Error Initializing ASIO driver". I'm using an Avid M-Audio Fast Track C600 usb2 interface. I uninstalled the drivers and checked to make sure I have the newest version. Reinstalled them and Reaper worked fine again until tonight when I started getting the same message.
What I've noticed both times is that the device seems to be working, and windows recognizes it. Reaper also recognizes it but in Reaper's ASIO device preferences, there is nothing in the Input 1, Input 2, Output 1, Output 2 drop down tabs; Where normally I could select the channels of the Fast Track interface.
I don't have time tonight to try and reinstall the drivers, and frankly I don't want to make a habit out of that either.
What the hell is going on here ?
CA$H FLOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:32 AM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 9,939
Default

something is eating your drivers
__________________
You don't have to agree with me, but it will go a lot easier on you if you do http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 04:47 AM   #3
Bod
Human being with feelings
 
Bod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 266
Default

I've got a Fasttrack Ultra and have the same problem. I've never really been bothered to track it down, as it's fine as long as I don't switch to playing audio in any other app usually, but it's exactly what Hopi said.

If you've got an onboard soundcard, try switching to that as your default windows audio device and leave the Fasttrack for Reaper only.
Bod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:57 AM   #4
CA$H FLOW
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 96
Default

Thanks for the replies guys. So this morning I reinstalled the drivers and voila... everything worked again. How do I go about making the Fast Track only run with Reaper and leave the onboard sound card as Windows' default player ?
CA$H FLOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:33 AM   #5
msore
Human being with feelings
 
msore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago sometimes
Posts: 9,602
Default

Same problem with a new Presonus audiobox 44vsl. Kept getting bumped, got worse. I could hear audio through the pre-amp if it was from mic or gtr inputs, but I couldn't hear Reaper output through it. And this was whether or not the Reaper/Audio Preferences seemed correctly set.

Finally today I called Pesonus support. Still working on it.

I noticed on the Presonus Forum, there was lots of bitching from users with vaguely similar problems ("where did my sound go?").

Of course the suggestions include re-installing some stuff (current 44vsl drivers), and UNINSTALLING other stuff (like ASIO4all). Each software company blames the OTHER software for messing stuff up.

Meanwhile Windows and Browswers both can jump in and screw with Audio that you THINK is only going through Reaper.

What a system. Oh wait, it's programming!
__________________
http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/msorenson
My religion is all or none.
msore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:34 AM   #6
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 9,939
Default

you should not have to do that... but you MUST in the reaper prefs set the driver ASIO to 'release asio when in background' or whatever the exact words are... so when reaper is not using it it turns lose of it... also if you can find all the installed driver files try setting their properties to 'read only'...
__________________
You don't have to agree with me, but it will go a lot easier on you if you do http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:10 PM   #7
CA$H FLOW
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 96
Default

Alright. Now where do you think I might find the driver files so I can change them to Read Only ?
CA$H FLOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 03:02 PM   #8
msore
Human being with feelings
 
msore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago sometimes
Posts: 9,602
Default WTF

My problem is solved (again, for now).

Of course in solving software problems, the main rule is "try a bunch of stuff and see if any of it helps".

After UN-installing ASIO4ALL,
and after RE-installing the drivers for the preamp,
and after RE-starting Windows several times,
and after fussing around with the control panel for a while,
and after UN-setting and RE-setting Reaper's audio device Prefs over and over for a while,

I finally opened up the Presonus 44vsl app to see what was happening in there, and when I tried to do it, I was told I could not do it without upgrading the firmware. So I clicked OK, and after telling Windows it was okay, something got installed.

The next time I opened Reaper, everything worked as normal.

Still I don't know WTF it was that worked.
Still, what it was that changed to create the problem is a mystery.
And still I don't know why Windows and Reaper can't keep track of it all.
And I still don't know why the problem keeps coming up in an unstable way.
And I still don't understand why one ASIO screws with another ASIO driver.

And I am more and more convinced that programmers are just cowboys shooting at each other, with poor townspeople in the middle.
__________________
http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/msorenson
My religion is all or none.
msore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.