Go Back   Cockos Confederated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 10:03 AM   #1
ruzer666
Mortal
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 44
Default How to record mic/stereo on separate tracks?

Hey,

I wanna record my mic(my voice) on one track, and my stereo mix(every other sound my computer hears) on a separate track. So, if I record my mic on track #1, I want ONLY what goes into my mic to be heard on track 1...and if I record all other sounds on track #2, I want ONLY those sounds and NOT my mic to be heard on track #2.

How do I set this up in REAPER?
ruzer666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:19 AM   #2
viscofisy
Mortal
 
viscofisy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dalriada
Posts: 4,358
Default

1)Do you have your mic set up so you get a signal into Reaper already -
or are you asking how to set your stuff up too?


2)Are you playing the music (Track2) at the same time as singing (Track1) ?

Or are you using pre-recorded music for track 2?



3)Are you using an external Audio Interface,or the computer's onboard soundcard?
__________________
“The goal is not to be better than the other man, but your previous self.”
viscofisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:31 AM   #3
ruzer666
Mortal
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viscofisy View Post
1)Do you have your mic set up so you get a signal into Reaper already -
or are you asking how to set your stuff up too?


2)Are you playing the music (Track2) at the same time as singing (Track1) ?

Or are you using pre-recorded music for track 2?



3)Are you using an external Audio Interface,or the computer's onboard soundcard?
#1 - Yes, I'm getting input from my mic already, but not stereo mix.

#2 - I need to record them at the same time.

#3 - I'm using the on-board sound card - Soundmax HD Digital Audio...but, I know that it can support what I wanna do because I've already done it in Kristal Audio Engine by simply selecting MME as my audio device and then selecting my mic as an input for track #1, and then selecting stereo mix as an input for track #2. But, with REAPER, I don't have MME as an option, and I don't see mic or stereo mix for inputs on the tracks.

If you're wondering why I just don't use Kristal, it's because it's buggy when it comes to VSTs. It doesn't reconize a lot of them.
ruzer666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:39 AM   #4
viscofisy
Mortal
 
viscofisy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dalriada
Posts: 4,358
Default

Sorry for all the questions,but I'm trying to find the best workflow (if poss -

1)what exactly is your "stereo mix"?
Is it a synth you're playing live while singing?

Is it an audio device,or a USB keyboard,or what?

2)If your mic is recognised - what settings have you chosen on

OPTIONS > PREFERENCES > Audio Device ?
__________________
“The goal is not to be better than the other man, but your previous self.”
viscofisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:45 AM   #5
ruzer666
Mortal
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viscofisy View Post
Sorry for all the questions,but I'm trying to find the best workflow (if poss -

1)what exactly is your "stereo mix"?
Is it a synth you're playing live while singing?

Is it an audio device,or a USB keyboard,or what?

2)If your mic is recognised - what settings have you chosen on

OPTIONS > PREFERENCES > Audio Device ?
No worries. I appreciate the quick reply.


#1 - What are you asking, exactly? What I wanna record in track #2?

#2 - Direct Sound as my Audio System - Microphone as my input - Speakers as my output.

I've tried all possible options for Audio System and none of them give me input choices on my tracks.
ruzer666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:55 AM   #6
viscofisy
Mortal
 
viscofisy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dalriada
Posts: 4,358
Default

What exactly are your backing tracks - that they have to be recorded at the same time as your vocals are being recorded?

The reason I'm asking is that

the standard way of working (although not the only way)

is to record your backing track(s) say Track 2

then

record your vocal (Track1) while listening through headphones to Track 2.


That's why I'm asking what,exactly,is "stereo mix" on Track2.

If it's a cd or samples or a synth or anything that can be recorded,then you'd normally record that first onto Track2.

If "stereo mix (Track2)" is something that absolutely can't be recorded on it's own,then that's a different problem.
__________________
“The goal is not to be better than the other man, but your previous self.”
viscofisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:58 AM   #7
ruzer666
Mortal
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viscofisy View Post
What exactly are your backing tracks - that they have to be recorded at the same time as your vocals are being recorded?

The reason I'm asking is that

the standard way of working (although not the only way)

is to record your backing track(s) say Track 2

then

record your vocal (Track1) while listening through headphones to Track 2.


That's why I'm asking what,exactly,is "stereo mix" on Track2.

If it's a cd or samples or anything that can be recorded,then you record that first onto Track2.

If "stereo mix (Track2) something that absolutely can't be recorded on it's own,then that's a different problem.
Well, what I wanna do isn't music-related...I wanna record Skype calls.

Therefore, the mic and stereo mix have to be record at the same time. And the reason they both need their own track, is so that I can edit them individually afterwards.

I know REAPER is meant for music, but I figured it could do what I wanna do, too, since, it IS a multitrack recording program, right?
ruzer666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 11:11 AM   #8
viscofisy
Mortal
 
viscofisy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dalriada
Posts: 4,358
Default

Right - but the problem is that your souncard is probably "taken over" by Skype,and maybe not available to Reaper.

There probably is a way,but I'm not familiar with that kind of setup.

I can't say for sure,but you might be able to do it by using the free ASIO4all driver.

A workaround would be if you had an external recorder (like maybe a ZoomH4) where you could record from the headphones out,and hear it through the monitor.

Just found a web page on How To Record A Skype Call :

http://skypetips.internetvisitation....ype_calls.html
__________________
“The goal is not to be better than the other man, but your previous self.”
viscofisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 11:13 AM   #9
ruzer666
Mortal
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viscofisy View Post
Right - but the problem is that your souncard is probably "taken over" by Skype,and maybe not available to Reaper.

There probably is a way,but I'm not familiar with that kind of setup.

I can't say for sure,but you might be able to do it by using the free ASIO4all driver.

A workaround would be if you had an external recorder (like maybe a ZoomH4) where you could record from the headphones out,and hear it through the monitor.

Just found a web page on How To Record A Skype Call :

http://skypetips.internetvisitation....ype_calls.html
Like I said, though, I've already done it with Kristal Audio Engine...I know my system can do it.

No, it's not possible with ASIO4ALL unless your sound card supports it, which mine doesn't.

Those Skype recorders suck...which is why I wanna record this way.


Well, it looks like I'll just have to uninstall REAPER. It's still as confusing as ever. Lol.
ruzer666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.