Go Back   Cockos Confederated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2013, 03:59 PM   #1
General Wrex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Default How to get multiple audio sources to play while using ASIO4ALL on Realtek HD onboard

In order for this to work properly you will need
-3.5m Splitter
-3.5m audio cable


Open up your Realtek HD Audio Manager and click the Device Advanced Settings link.
You want to enable the bubble for;
"Make front and rear output devices playback two different audio streams simultaneoulsy".

Now close the manager and right click the Speaker in your Tray and select Playback Devices,
make sure you see a new device called Realtek HD Audio 2nd output.
Make sure the Speakers say Default Device.

Open up your DAW and get into ASIO4ALL Config, Set the output to the Realtek HD Audio 2nd Output


Plug the Splitter into the Rear audio output on the soundcard and hook the cable from the Front audio output to the Splitter, Plug in your speaker system into the splitter.


You now should be able to have youtube play a video, and use your DAW at the same time, make sure to adjust the output levels of the Speakers and Realtek HD Audio 2nd Output to get a good mix.

I personally use my Video Cards AMD HDMI Output to play other sounds and my onboard Realtek for my DAW.
The idea is the same for any, as long as you have at least 2 soundcards, or a soundcard that can play 2 different audio streams like Realtek HD audio. Hope this helps!
I can post pictures if anyone would like.

Last edited by General Wrex; 05-15-2013 at 06:56 PM.
General Wrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:31 AM   #2
jjshield
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Default Asio Link Driver

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Wrex View Post
In order for this to work properly you will need
-3.5m Splitter
-3.5m audio cable
Why use cables when you can use my windows audio -> ASIO Link driver at http://midithru.net

See it, and my other tools, at KVR audio also http://www.kvraudio.com/product/asio...by-john-shield

Thanks,
John Shield
jjshield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 11:07 AM   #3
RunBeerRun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 531
Default

Not sure if this is a sock puppet & dev windup, or two eager guys w/1st postings.

Either way, Happy Hannukah!
__________________
Free Synthedit/Synthmaker plugins that I made: runbeerrun dot blogspot dot com
RunBeerRun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 04:12 PM   #4
martygras
Human being with feelings
 
martygras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In a cave
Posts: 646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RunBeerRun View Post
Not sure if this is a sock puppet & dev windup, or two eager guys w/1st postings.

Either way, Happy Hannukah!
@RunBeerRun:
Why be paranoid with a statement like that when you could read my self-help book, "How not to misinterpret forum posts"?

__________________
Sometimes it's intermittent, sometimes it's not.
"Don't quantize me bro".
martygras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 04:13 PM   #5
martygras
Human being with feelings
 
martygras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In a cave
Posts: 646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Wrex View Post
In order for this to work properly you will need
-3.5m Splitter
-3.5m audio cable


Open up your Realtek HD Audio Manager and click the Device Advanced Settings link.
You want to enable the bubble for;
"Make front and rear output devices playback two different audio streams simultaneoulsy".

Now close the manager and right click the Speaker in your Tray and select Playback Devices,
make sure you see a new device called Realtek HD Audio 2nd output.
Make sure the Speakers say Default Device.

Open up your DAW and get into ASIO4ALL Config, Set the output to the Realtek HD Audio 2nd Output


Plug the Splitter into the Rear audio output on the soundcard and hook the cable from the Front audio output to the Splitter, Plug in your speaker system into the splitter.


You now should be able to have youtube play a video, and use your DAW at the same time, make sure to adjust the output levels of the Speakers and Realtek HD Audio 2nd Output to get a good mix.

I personally use my Video Cards AMD HDMI Output to play other sounds and my onboard Realtek for my DAW.
The idea is the same for any, as long as you have at least 2 soundcards, or a soundcard that can play 2 different audio streams like Realtek HD audio. Hope this helps!
I can post pictures if anyone would like.
Yes, please post pictures.
__________________
Sometimes it's intermittent, sometimes it's not.
"Don't quantize me bro".
martygras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.