Old 10-29-2013, 11:59 AM   #1
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,026
Default MIDI Item split bug (FIXED)

I have a MIDI item set to play at half speed. When I split it in half, something very strange happens. See here:



I expected to get two MIDI items, with with play rate 0.5, one containing the left part and the other containing the right part of the original item.

Instead the left part becomes a one-bar item looped over the two bars, while the right part becomes a quarter-bar item looped over the two bars.
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 01:41 PM   #2
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,026
Default

Some more info... This happens when I have a longer MIDI item at 0.5 play rate that I split in two places. Then the middle part between the splits somehow gets mucked up. Splitting this middle part then creates the disaster described in my post above.

Can someone please confirm?
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:21 PM   #3
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,371
Default

Seems OK here -v 4.54.

Can you attach a small problem project (before the split)?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 05:52 AM   #4
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,568
Default

Will try this evening (USA).

Have some other weird things with splitting MIDI. Not trying to hijack, just mentioning...

1. Split some items, Extended them all (blank space) with trim edge to cursor. Attempted to duplicate with All Track Ripple on. Project markers were rippled, but not items. Duplicates landed on top of other items. Undid that, glued the items, and it worked as expected. Think this was on 4.54. Could not reproduce similar situation later.

2. Split item at time selection. Ran SWS transpose down a semitone on the item created by the split. Notes at start of item were erased. Undid it, tried again, same thing. Glued item, worked as expected. This was on 4.55.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:58 AM   #5
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
Can someone please confirm?
Trying many different ways, I managed to get the same thing happening twice last night, but failed to reproduce intentionally. Might try more tonight.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 03:44 AM   #6
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,568
Default

Was able to reproduce something similar immediately. You can see the loop notch at the point where the split will occur in the original item, and the different notes on either side indicate that both edges have been trimmed. In addition to the rate change. Another thing that has an effect on the outcome is the preference setting to allow trim of MIDI items when splitting. (I think that should be an 'Options:' action that reports a toggle state.)
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 02:09 PM   #7
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,737
Default

I can reproduce like this:

1. Create a MIDI item. Change the rate of the item (eg. 0.50 like OP).
2. Make sure you have Loop item source ON, then stretch the item so it loops three times.
3. Split the item from the last loop point.
4. Trim the edge back starting from this split point.
5. Go to the first loop point and split there.
6. Go towards the next loop point, but stop just short of it.
7. Split there.

Result: Left side of this last split is normal. The length of the new item on the right side will be the distance between the split point and the old loop point, rest of the new item space is filled with this piece looped over and over.



---

edit: even simpler.
1. Create a MIDI item. Change the rate of the item (eg. 0.50 like OP).
2. Make sure you have Loop item source ON, then stretch the item so it loops once.
3. Make a split anywhere on the looped part.
4. Trim the edge back starting from this split point.
5. Go back just a little over the the first loop point and split there.

Last edited by xpander; 10-31-2013 at 02:41 PM.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 01:21 PM   #8
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,026
Default

So I take it this is confirmed then.
So a bug ticket next, I guess...

Thanks guys.
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 05:46 PM   #9
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,568
Default

Never got around to it, eh? Still present in v5 pre and official release. I'll do it tomorrow I guess...

Steps to reproduce, or cause some similar destruction-

1. Set Preferences>Media>MIDI>Allow trim of MIDI media items when splitting enabled.

2. Make MIDI item, say 4 bars. Paint a line of short notes across it.

3. Stretch the item longer, say 7 bars altogether.

4. Pull the left edge right about 2 bars

5. Split item

Attached Images
File Type: gif 5-7-15.gif (58.5 KB, 181 views)
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 08:50 PM   #10
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,325
Default

I meant to get around to reporting this, also. I encounter it basically every project that uses MIDI, at some point.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 08:21 AM   #11
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,568
Default

Tracker Link-

http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=5575
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 11:58 AM   #12
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 3,556
Default

i can reproduce that behavior.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 09:36 AM   #13
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,995
Default

Confirmed (5.17).

FIXED (5.18pre1)

Last edited by Dstruct; 03-25-2016 at 02:05 PM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 12:10 PM   #14
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

This is only happen if:
A. Trim is enable
+
B. Item Playback-rate is lower than 1
+
C. You make something of the split item only hidden from left edge before splitting

And if A+B+C is true the result would be as follow.
% size of empty area at right side of left item
= hidden area size*(1 - item playback rate)

It is one of the meanwhile, personally think, rather rare very old -
little errors, under hood bugs or whatever


Example
4 beats hidden from left edge, item play rate 0.5 = right side empty area at left item 2 beats
4 beats hidden from left edge, item play rate 0.25 = right side empty area 3 beats

This is not happen if trim is not enable
or you make something not only hidden from
left edge before splitting
or item playback rate is higher 1

-
or split the hidden area from item before split the other
or at least glue the item before splitting..

The biggest problem for getting into this behavior is hiding only an area from left edge.

Of course it is an open bug.. but with the possibility to easy avoid.
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 03-25-2016 at 12:28 PM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 12:19 PM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,161
Default

Fixing, thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 12:37 PM   #16
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

thank you Justin.

And now older .. gets more and more rare
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 01:23 PM   #17
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,026
Default

Wow...
Thanks all.
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.