Old 02-21-2015, 09:07 AM   #1
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default Script: Auto Solo Tracks of Selected Items

Today's script. Two actions: one toggles solo of the tracks that have items selected. The other one runs in the background, (with REAPER 5 toggle action support, see the button toolbar) and automatically sets solo to the tracks of selected items. For this one I still don't know if selecting new items should add to the selection of soloed tracks as it is now, or if it should just solo those new selected ones.

see it in action


Download:
Download and install it from HeDaScripts Manager

Last edited by heda; 01-30-2017 at 09:11 AM. Reason: new link
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 09:40 AM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 3,952
Default

This is powerful. Really.
You have nice ideas
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 10:01 AM   #3
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

I'm loving this one already. One could say you can just press and drag on the solo buttons in the TCP. It's not as simple. I like to have this option too. You understand

I'm trying to optimize CPU use a bit for the second version that runs constantly.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 12:32 PM   #4
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda;1485004Solo tracks of selected items: [b
Nice work on these. I assigned the above to a button in my main tool bar. When I click on it to toggle it off, I get this message:



Any ideas?

Shane
Attached Images
File Type: png err.png (7.9 KB, 813 views)
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 12:38 PM   #5
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Ignore my above query, as I just saw your other post on this topic here.

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 12:40 PM   #6
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Nice work on these. I assigned the above to a button in my main tool bar. When I click on it to toggle it off, I get this message:
Any ideas?

Shane
Thanks Shan!
Click "Yes" and it will finish the script toggling it off so it won't be active until you start it again.
I'm asking here http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=155991
about the possibility to not display that message. I don't know how to do it. Maybe there is a way.
edit:I've just seen your second post
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 12:44 PM   #7
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Perhaps this issue should be reported in the R5 Bug Reports thread.

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 12:47 PM   #8
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Perhaps this issue should be reported in the R5 Bug Reports thread.

Shane
I prefer to ask before reporting a bug, because maybe there is a way and I don't know it. If not, bug will be reported. Since this toggling capability is new to R5 it may be a bug.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 12:01 PM   #9
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

I've studied some basic Lua today...

my first Lua script is a translation of this toggle solo script.

Download: http://stash.reaper.fm/23361/HeDa_To...ed%20Items.lua
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 12:59 PM   #10
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
I've studied some basic Lua today...

my first Lua script is a translation of this toggle solo script.

Download: http://stash.reaper.fm/23361/HeDa_To...ed%20Items.lua
It's working good on my end. I'm getting fond of Lua myself. This was my first toggle attempt using Lua. Thankfully spk77 chimed in and gave me a hand.

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 01:01 PM   #11
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,273
Default

cool

Be great to have a version of this that can work with the action "item properties: Solo" which actually solos the items on an item level rather than a track

It can break a little sometime as it actually mutes all other items whilst it's active but that's why something like what you have here might work better as it might manage it better if it auto solos based on what's currently selected.

No worries if it's a nightmare!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 01:21 PM   #12
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
cool

Be great to have a version of this that can work with the action "item properties: Solo" which actually solos the items on an item level rather than a track

It can break a little sometime as it actually mutes all other items whilst it's active but that's why something like what you have here might work better as it might manage it better if it auto solos based on what's currently selected.

No worries if it's a nightmare!
There is no solo property for items.. so that action mutes all other items as you say. And I don't know how it remembers if you had muted items already to restore only the ones that were not muted... but it's dangerous.. heh... yes It's not the first time I have messed up all the project using the item properties: solo action. So, this auto solo tracks of selected items is what I needed, since soloing is usually temporary to listen to something and then unsolo. Muting is more permanent because you can set something to be muted forever.

The automatic version is quite quick to use. It has two modes.
Add_to_Selection = 1 keeps previously soloed tracks unchanged until no item is selected.
Add_to_Selection = 0 only solo what is selected
You can change that inside the script file.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 01:24 PM   #13
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
It's working good on my end. I'm getting fond of Lua myself. This was my first toggle attempt using Lua. Thankfully spk77 chimed in and gave me a hand.

Shane
My first experience in Lua has been good. I like it. The only thing that I did wrong at first was that the arrays start at 1 instead of 0.
I also like EEL but there are so many sad faces in the code... hehe :P
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 05:25 PM   #14
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,273
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
There is no solo property for items.. so that action mutes all other items as you say. And I don't know how it remembers if you had muted items already to restore only the ones that were not muted... but it's dangerous.. heh... yes It's not the first time I have messed up all the project using the item properties: solo action. So, this auto solo tracks of selected items is what I needed, since soloing is usually temporary to listen to something and then unsolo. Muting is more permanent because you can set something to be muted forever.

The automatic version is quite quick to use. It has two modes.
Add_to_Selection = 1 keeps previously soloed tracks unchanged until no item is selected.
Add_to_Selection = 0 only solo what is selected
You can change that inside the script file.
Nice! no worries on the solo item one I wish the devs would finish it fully at some point so it doesn't go wrong when you don't straight away un solo item.
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 09:15 AM   #15
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

Quote:
* v0.5 (2017-01-30)
# Undo fix

* v0.4 (2017-01-27)
+ Solo tracks on initializing script

* v0.3 (2017-01-25)
+ Unsolo All tracks when exiting script
some updates have been published
thanks to @Crazy Maurice feedback
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 04:54 AM   #16
Crazy Maurice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
some updates have been published
thanks to @Crazy Maurice feedback
Hey! I've got another small suggestion for your script

-Solo track if selected item is dragged or copied to a non-soloed or new track.

(Currently stays unsoloed until unclicked and reselected)

Cheers
Harry
Crazy Maurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 05:44 AM   #17
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

Quote:
* v0.6 (2017-02-06)
# solo tracks when moving or copying items
Good suggestion. Updated.
Let me know if it works. Thanks
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 06:02 AM   #18
Crazy Maurice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
Good suggestion. Updated.
Let me know if it works. Thanks
Works perfectly! Thanks
Crazy Maurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 04:45 AM   #19
Crazy Maurice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Default

Hey heda,

Got another suggestion!

- Unsolo track if only selected item(s) are deleted

Eg. at the moment, if the soloed items are deleted, requires re-clicking another item to listen.
I guess to think of deleting item as deselecting it.

What you reckon?

Cheers,
Harry
Crazy Maurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 05:59 AM   #20
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

Quote:
* v0.7 (2017-02-07)
# update solo tracks when deleting items
# update solo tracks when cut and paste items
hehe yes.
we are approaching final version
updated with trigger for delete items, and also I added Cut and paste items.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 09:36 AM   #21
Crazy Maurice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
hehe yes.
we are approaching final version
updated with trigger for delete items, and also I added Cut and paste items.
Woo!

Got another:

-Activate when item dragged in from finder(mac)

Haven't tried on PC yet but currently doesn't solo the track after a new item has been dragged onto a new track from finder.

Harry
Crazy Maurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 11:40 AM   #22
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

Here it says "Insert Media Items" when I drag a file from explorer into REAPER (windows)

I can add that "Activate when item dragged in from finder(mac)"
I don't have mac, are you sure the string is exactly like that? or without the (mac), caps included.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 02:47 AM   #23
Crazy Maurice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Default

I guess it would be Insert Media Items, I was just writing in general terms as I was seeing the behaviour.

Hope that helps!

Edit:
Just tested using the menu Insert>Media File onto a track that's not yet soloed, and it stays unsoloed so that would be the command I guess

Last edited by Crazy Maurice; 02-08-2017 at 04:08 AM.
Crazy Maurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 05:15 AM   #24
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

Quote:
* v0.8 (2017-02-08)
# update solo tracks when Insert Media Items
ah yes. Updated.
I was referring to the action name that is shown in the undo history. Dragging from finder or explorer, or media explorer, or Insert Media from the menu, all create the "Insert Media Items" undo entry. So it will be fine now.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 09:41 AM   #25
Crazy Maurice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
ah yes. Updated.
I was referring to the action name that is shown in the undo history. Dragging from finder or explorer, or media explorer, or Insert Media from the menu, all create the "Insert Media Items" undo entry. So it will be fine now.
Hi again! I've found another instance where it doesn't solo the track -

Action: Select and move to item in previous/next tracks

Cheers
Harry
Crazy Maurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 11:14 AM   #26
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default v0.9 (2017-02-28)

thanks Harry
updated!

Quote:
* v0.9 (2017-02-28)
# update when "Select Item In Next/Previous track"
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.