Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2016, 04:22 AM   #1
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,116
Default Media Explorer: Inaccurate seeking when clicking on waveform (LICEcap) (FIXED)

I've experienced this bug a lot but didn't get around to reporting it.

Basically when a media item is playing and the mouse is clicked on the waveform to seek, the new playback position can be pretty far off which makes auditioning files difficult.

__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 64-bit, Reaper 5(x64), Core i7-5700HQ, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 960M, SSD
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 07:05 AM   #2
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,971
Default

Does it happen with Tempo match off too?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 04:38 PM   #3
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Does it happen with Tempo match off too?
I just checked, and it seems to only happen with tempo-match on.
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 64-bit, Reaper 5(x64), Core i7-5700HQ, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 960M, SSD
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 05:24 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,056
Default

What media? What is the effective tempo rate (lower right)? Do you have a selection in the item? Please post the file used and those answers, thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 06:10 PM   #5
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
What media? What is the effective tempo rate (lower right)? Do you have a selection in the item? Please post the file used and those answers, thanks!
Sorry for not being more specific initially.

Here's a few files with the problem. These are ACIDized waves, it happens with some, but not others (even from the same source). If the effective tempo is lower than the project tempo the playback cursor is early based on where the mouse is clicked, and if the effective tempo is faster it's late.

I think only files with embedded metadata have issues. So it's probably related to that. I'll update if the hypothesis is falsified.

http://stash.reaper.fm/v/27633/ForestStomp.rar
http://stash.reaper.fm/v/27634/LFLow.rar


*Btw I tried to attach a file below the 1.72mb limit for zip files, but It said I was over my quota by ~180kb and deleting every other attachment I've ever posted didn't help. It would be great if these limits were adjusted to something more reasonable...
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 64-bit, Reaper 5(x64), Core i7-5700HQ, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 960M, SSD
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 06:58 PM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitchSlap View Post
Sorry for not being more specific initially.

Here's a few files with the problem. These are ACIDized waves, it happens with some, but not others (even from the same source). If the effective tempo is lower than the project tempo the playback cursor is early based on where the mouse is clicked, and if the effective tempo is faster it's late.

I think only files with embedded metadata have issues. So it's probably related to that. I'll update if the hypothesis is falsified.

http://stash.reaper.fm/v/27633/ForestStomp.rar
http://stash.reaper.fm/v/27634/LFLow.rar
Perfect, thanks, fixing!

Quote:


*Btw I tried to attach a file below the 1.72mb limit for zip files, but It said I was over my quota by ~180kb and deleting every other attachment I've ever posted didn't help. It would be great if these limits were adjusted to something more reasonable...
Hmm yeah that's just too big of a file for the forums... we could increase the max size, but meh
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.