Go Back   Cockos Confederated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2016, 10:51 AM   #1
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,602
Default MIDI note Copy & Paste from MIDI editor to arrange view (FIXED)

A blind user was having some trouble with this and I could recreate the problem

copy selected MIDI notes from MIDI editor
move to arrange view and paste.
does not always paste all the copied notes.

https://youtu.be/E159vVyBNUU
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog

Last edited by juliansader; 10-30-2016 at 06:23 AM.
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:02 AM   #2
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,952
Default

Confirmed (5.22 x64)
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:08 AM   #3
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
A blind user was having some trouble with this and I could recreate the problem

copy selected MIDI notes from MIDI editor
move to arrange view and paste.
does not always paste all the copied notes.

https://youtu.be/E159vVyBNUU
Sorry to be offtopic but i didn't know this was even possible LOL.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:26 AM   #4
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,543
Default

Confirming it too. 5.22 win x64. Strange bug I love bugs
(I think I never pasted outside the MIDI editor before)
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 04:00 PM   #5
Ylmir
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: France
Posts: 1
Default

I can confirm it as well. I used to do this a lot, and it began happening some versions ago (somewhere between the v5.00 and the v5.211). I actually forgot about this issue, and just remembered after seeing the title of this topic.
It was working correctly before.

It's an undocumented feature I guess. There isn't even a "Paste" option in the right-click menu, and the "Paste" function in the Edit menu stays grayed out when you copied MIDI notes : It only works with the keyboard shortcut.
Ylmir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 12:36 PM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 8,869
Default

When you copy MIDI from the editor, it gets placed on the system clipboard. You can then paste it into any application that supports pasting MIDI from the system clipboard -- such as REAPER. Some plugins support copy/paste of MIDI like this as well.

What is the specific bug?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 12:51 PM   #7
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 11,952
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
What is the specific bug?
Missing notes on paste.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 01:10 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 8,869
Default

It's intermittent, I think... fixing, hopefully, for the next build.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 06:04 PM   #9
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,502
Default

I often have trouble using the left drag render modifier to drag a .mid from a in-project MIDI item to a folder or desktop. Have to try more than once and check to make sure it happened. Might be a little off topic...
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 03:20 AM   #10
art-m
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Another actually bug. Copy-paste with wrong size.

art-m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 03:47 AM   #11
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 8,869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by art-m View Post
Another actually bug. Copy-paste with wrong size.
I'm not able to reproduce this. Do you have any non-default preference settings that might be relevant?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 03:57 AM   #12
art-m
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I'm not able to reproduce this. Do you have any non-default preference settings that might be relevant?
This clean install (portable mode) without scripts. x32 v. 5.11 - 5.27
Now disable all vst and reperat steps
art-m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 04:18 AM   #13
art-m
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Ver 5.27 (portable) x32 without Vsts
Win8 * I7-5820k * 32Gb

art-m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 05:04 AM   #14
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

a little complement to above from me:

the "special" setting which produce this is :

MIDI-Editor -Options|Allow MIDI Note edit to extend the media item..

If this option above is set to not allowed(disable)
this pasting error (Note Off event extend) can occur.
(Happen if the copy/paste MIDI Note(s) would normally extend the item)

If it is set to allowed(enable), everything with copy/paste is fine.
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 10-27-2016 at 05:11 AM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 06:43 AM   #15
art-m
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Yes. With "media item extend" work.
But there's no need constantly.
art-m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 07:20 AM   #16
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 9,860
Default

Thanks ELP for narrowing this down! Should be fixed in the latest pre-release.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.