Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2016, 05:54 PM   #1
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 941
Default MIDI Editor: What do the dots in the channel filter indicate?

Curiously, the forums and the manual seem to be silent on this feature: What do the dots next to the channels in the MIDI editor's channel filter list indicate?

I expected that the dots would indicate the channels that are being used in the track, but this does not appear to be the case

Last edited by juliansader; 08-23-2016 at 09:58 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 05:59 PM   #2
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,255
Default

Hrm, can't figure that out either. Talking about this right?

__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 06:18 PM   #3
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergler View Post
Talking about this right?
Yep.
`
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 06:27 PM   #4
hamish
Human being with feelings
 
hamish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Reflection Free Zone
Posts: 2,948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
I expected that the dots would indicate the channels that are being used in the track, but this does not appear to be the case
I think that is what they do indicate, but the list doesn't update until the editor is closed and re-opened. I just did a quick little check on v5.22
hamish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 06:30 PM   #5
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,064
Default

The dots are meant to show which channels contain data, the way the CC event dropdown does, but the dots are not being properly updated after certain kinds of edits. Fixing, thanks.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 01:36 AM   #6
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,285
Default

When you're doing that can you make the dots bigger or use a different symbol to make them more obvious?

Or .... http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=553
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 02:42 AM   #7
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The dots are meant to show which channels contain data, the way the CC event dropdown does, but the dots are not being properly updated after certain kinds of edits. Fixing, thanks.
Unfortunately, there seems to be one remaining bug: Bullets in channel dropdown list always show channel 1 being used
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.