Old 09-09-2016, 10:33 AM   #1
brkh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default 5.24v, Time Signature & BPM are Not Exported

Hi,
I am new to REAPER.

I downloaded the Reaper program (Evaluated version v5.24) for Mac and started using it for editing my style elements for my Korg Pa4X.
Everything works correctly and I could import my style element into REAPER and did some editing and then exported into Korg Pa4X and it plays fine.

The only problem I encountered is that the Time Signature change and BPM change are not exported from Reaper > File > Export project MIDI.
I spent a day to try different setting in Reaper (Consolidate MIDI setup, please see screen shot) and searching on the net without getting any solution.
PS: I use MIDI 0 File Format for exporting since this is the midi file format accepted by my Korg Pa4X.

So I was wondering if there is any bug or I am missing some thing.
Any help or info would be appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2016-09-09 at 10.25.12 AM.png (55.9 KB, 41 views)
brkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 10:47 AM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,063
Default

You have to enable "embed tempo map" in the MIDI export dialog.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 11:26 AM   #3
brkh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default

Hi schwa,

Thanks for your fast reply.
I did your suggestion but unfortunately it did not work and it's worst because when importing the edited midi file into Korg Pa4X there is no data at all. There was at least data last time in my midi file without checking the "embed tempo map".
Please see the screen shot.

Thank you
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2016-09-09 at 11.18.17 AM.png (54.1 KB, 32 views)
brkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 11:45 AM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,063
Default

Ah - REAPER exports tempo information only to type 1 MIDI files (which have a defined tempo track). As you say, your device can only import type 0 MIDI files.

I believe there are utilities out there to squash type 1 MIDI files into type 0 files.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 12:00 PM   #5
brkh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default

How about the Time Signature? This is more important for me than BPM. Actually I am willing to purchase the REAPER if I can Export the Time Signature.
In worst cases scenario I can modify the BPM in my Korg Pa4X but cannot modify the Time Signature.

Quote:
I believe there are utilities out there to squash type 1 MIDI files into type 0 files.
Could you please elaborate more?

Thanks
brkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 12:48 PM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brkh View Post
How about the Time Signature? This is more important for me than BPM. Actually I am willing to purchase the REAPER if I can Export the Time Signature.
In worst cases scenario I can modify the BPM in my Korg Pa4X but cannot modify the Time Signature.

Could you please elaborate more?

Thanks
REAPER exports both tempo and time signature to type 1 MIDI files only.

If you have a single MIDI track to and enable tempo map export in the REAPER export settings, you will get a type 1 MIDI file with a tempo/timesig track followed by the MIDI music track. Utilities do exist to convert type 1 MIDI files into type 0 MIDI files, which will contain the same data but all squashed into a single track rather than with the tempo and music data in separate tracks. I can't recommend any particular utility though because I've never used any of them. It's a fairly specialized need I believe.

If you export from REAPER with tempo map embedded, and import into your device, do you get the tempo/timesig information but no music, or nothing at all? If you do get the tempo/timesig information, is there any way for you to do two separate types of import into your device, importing a type 1 file for the tempo/timesig info and then a type 0 file for the musical data? Just a thought.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 01:25 PM   #7
brkh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
REAPER exports both tempo and time signature to type 1 MIDI files only.
That's a shame that REAPER cannot do that in 2016.
I sent my midi file to a friend and he did editing and sent it back to me as 0 midi file format, BPM and Time Signature edited included, and it worked correctly in my Korg PA4X. He used the "pg music powertracks" that goes way back to the 1990's. I would buy it (new version) if they had a Mac version.

Quote:
If you export from REAPER with tempo map embedded, and import into your device, do you get the tempo/timesig information but no music, or nothing at all?
Nothing at all.

Quote:
If you do get the tempo/timesig information, is there any way for you to do two separate types of import into your device, importing a type 1 file for the tempo/timesig info and then a type 0 file for the musical data? Just a thought.
Unfortunatly my keyboard read only 0 file format.
brkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 01:35 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brkh View Post
That's a shame that REAPER cannot do that in 2016.
To be fair, one could say that about the Korg...

I don't think this has come up as a request before. If there were a wider need for it, we could add the functionality.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 01:47 PM   #9
brkh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
To be fair, one could say that about the Korg...

I don't think this has come up as a request before. If there were a wider need for it, we could add the functionality.
You're maybe right but as a customer I am looking only for a solution to my problem, I am not blaming anybody, that's all.

Regards.

Last edited by brkh; 09-09-2016 at 05:33 PM.
brkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 02:29 PM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,063
Default

Moved some posts to a new thread in the prerelease forum:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=181355.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.