Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2016, 04:51 AM   #1
adcingeo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 16
Default [5.26 32|64] Hang when copying and pasting locked item with ripple per track (FIXED)

I've encountered a reproducible hang in REAPER when copying and pasting an item when:
- The item is locked; and
- Ripple mode is set to By Track.

I've reproduced this in the following REAPER versions:
5.25 32 bit
5.25 64 bit
5.26 32 bit
5.26 64 bit

This is in Windows 10 Pro (see specs below).

To reproduce:
1. Open a new project
2. Create two empty tracks
3. Insert an empty item into one of the tracks (or new midi item, or import an audio file).
4. Lock the newly inserted item (right-click, Item Settings... | Lock Item)
5. Turn on Ripple Edit per track.
6. Select the item created in (3) that you locked in (4)
7. Copy the item (CTRL-C) or any other Copy Items menu item.
8. Click anywhere in the other (empty) track.
9. Paste using Ctrl-V or any other Paste menu item.

REAPER now stops responding and can only be forcibly shut down.

The same hanging behaviour also occurs using the above procedure but instead of copy and paste using CTRL drag on the item to duplicate it to the other track.

If Ripple Edit is disabled or in Ripple All Tracks mode then REAPER behaves as expected (i.e. does not hang).


System Specs:

OS: Windows 10 Pro version 1607 build 14393.222
RAM: 8GB
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz Q6600


Thanks!
I love REAPER and the way you handle your releases and customers. Thank you!

Al in Tasmania.
adcingeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 05:13 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,055
Default

Thank you, I've duplicated this. It appears this only occurs when the locked item ripple preference is set to "interrupt"...

Last edited by Justin; 10-07-2016 at 05:45 AM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 05:15 AM   #3
adcingeo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 16
Default Now that's what I call service!

Wow!

Thanks Justin.
You guys rock!
adcingeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 06:26 AM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,055
Default

Fix coming in 5.27pre2 in the next day or so (pre-release forum has more info).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.