Old 10-31-2016, 12:39 PM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,483
Default FIPM bug (FIXED)

Hello. I've found a bug. Reaper 5.27 32bit, Windows 7 64bit.
How to reproduce:
1. Create a track, enable FIPM and add some rows to it
2. Open Media Explorer(Windows/Mac Explorer/Finder) and drag the file to the track.
3. It will add it to the top row only.

And the second bug is connected with glueing items:
1. Use the same track
2. Add some extra items to every row
3. Glue it
4. It will replace it to the top row

And the common thing for all the actions with a FIPM enabled track: the new item size is a half of track's height always.


Last edited by vitalker; 01-03-2017 at 08:55 AM.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 01:52 AM   #2
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,483
Default

Could anyone confirm this behaviour please?
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 03:27 AM   #3
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,174
Default

Yes, it goes to the top but I can move it afterwards to anywhere I want.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 03:29 AM   #4
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Yes, it goes to the top but I can move it afterwards to anywhere I want.
You mean when the item is already inserted? Well, I regard such a behaviour as bug. Why can't we insert it to the any row on the track?
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 02:45 AM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,483
Default

Bumping.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 03:30 AM   #6
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 14,729
Default

http://acronyms.thefreedictionary.com/FIPM

I bloody hate TLAs....
__________________
Today is the anniversary of the death of the famous Irish inventor, Professor Patrick Pending. Not a lot of people know that....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 05:26 AM   #7
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
Sorry, FIPM stands for 'Free Item Positioning Mode'.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 04:53 AM   #8
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,483
Default

Bump. Edited the first post.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 02:36 PM   #9
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,483
Default

Anyone?
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 04:21 PM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,037
Default

Fixed for the next build, thanks.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 01:53 AM   #11
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Fixed for the next build, thanks.
Wow, thank you!
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 01:15 PM   #12
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,483
Default

Well, it's still broken, though it's better now. The expected behaviour is when the items stay on their places:

vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 01:50 PM   #13
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,037
Default

I'm afraid that's how it has to be. It's the same logic that is used when inserting new media of an equivalent length. The items may be in totally different vertical locations from each other to begin with anyway.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 02:08 PM   #14
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I'm afraid that's how it has to be. It's the same logic that is used when inserting new media of an equivalent length. The items may be in totally different vertical locations from each other to begin with anyway.
So new items(inserted/created from glueing) will appear in the bottom row always?
Thank you for the explanation!

Last edited by vitalker; 12-30-2016 at 02:14 PM.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.