Old 01-31-2017, 12:58 PM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,693
Default Time selection/Undo history bug (FIXED)

Reaper 5.32/5.33pre5 32bit, Win7 64bit.

How to reproduce:

1. Add an item
2. Set time selection
3. Click on the item with Shift modifier(on Windows)

There will be no a new step in Undo history, but after Ctrl+Z time selection will come back to previous state.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Mouse modifiers don't depend on such a behaviour, so I consider it's a bug.



Last edited by vitalker; 02-02-2017 at 09:25 AM.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 07:10 AM   #2
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,693
Default

Mouse modifiers don't depend on such a behaviour, so I consider it's a bug.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 05:16 AM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,693
Default

No one can reproduce it?
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 10:28 AM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,161
Default

That looks legit, I'd categorize it as a nitpick though...
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 12:29 PM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
That looks legit, I'd categorize it as a nitpick though...
But why it doesn't add a new string("Time selection change") to undo history? And why it happens with Shift only?
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 02:08 PM   #6
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 418
Default

This is not bound to an item being clicked. When the time selection is extended by dragging its ends, undo points are created, but when it is extended by shift+clicking, no undo points created.



Win7 x64, Reaper x86 5.34, 5.40pre3
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services

Last edited by bFooz; 02-25-2017 at 02:56 AM.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2017, 03:02 AM   #7
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 418
Default

In the changelog for 5.34 there is "add undo point when extending time selection via shift+click".

But still not working for me. I have MM for "Track->Left click->shift" set to a regular "Extend time selection".

Does it work for anyone/everyone else?
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 11:40 AM   #8
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 418
Default

Just a nitpick: in the undo history,
dragging the time selection reads "Time selection change"
and shift-clicking reads "Time Selection Change" (with capitals)
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 11:44 AM   #9
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
But still not working for me.
I have found where the problem is why it does not work. When a mouse modifier for Left-drag->Shift is set to "Marquee items", the undo point with "Left-click->Shift->Extend time selection" is not created.

This is somehow connected with this another bug http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=188392

__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.