Old 11-27-2008, 10:53 PM   #1
RubbedLung
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Default ASIO Fix for Latency?

Hey guys,

I have pretty bad latency when recording. I have a brand new laptop with plenty of RAM, and I downloaded the ASIO 4 ALL drivers to try to fix the latency issue which was discussed in this forum however, whenever I try to select the ASIO drivers in the preferences tab, I get absolutely no sound. Any ideas?
RubbedLung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 03:06 AM   #2
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4,701
Default

Rub,
We need more info... comp vendor, sound card, etc...
Does asio4all recognize your sound card? Show us a pic of the settings.
Fabian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 06:55 AM   #3
TimOBrien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,255
Default

Those built-in soundcards have about 50-cents worth of chips in them.
They're made for beeps, boops and light gaming at best.

Getting a better external interface will eliminate your latency problems AND get you better sound (ASIO4ALL is merely a bandaid, not a cure)...
TimOBrien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 08:45 PM   #4
RubbedLung
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
Rub,
We need more info... comp vendor, sound card, etc...
Does asio4all recognize your sound card? Show us a pic of the settings.
Sorry its a Toshiba dual with 3 gigs of memory and a Realtek High-Def Audio card.
RubbedLung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 02:25 PM   #5
RubbedLung
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Default

b___u___m___p
RubbedLung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 02:40 PM   #6
MichaJo
Human being with feelings
 
MichaJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
Rub,
We need more info...Does asio4all recognize your sound card? Show us a pic of the settings.
b__u__m__p
MichaJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 02:44 PM   #7
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,073
Default

you either need to use a hardware mixer for monitoring or get an audio interface. i can get my laptop's onboard sound down to 144 samples in asio4all, but i still wouldn't use it for monitoring while recording. if you're trying to monitor plugins, you definitely will need a new interface.

no sound? what settings are you using in asio4all? are you familiar with reaper's layout?
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 03:08 PM   #8
RubbedLung
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainwreck View Post
you either need to use a hardware mixer for monitoring or get an audio interface. i can get my laptop's onboard sound down to 144 samples in asio4all, but i still wouldn't use it for monitoring while recording. if you're trying to monitor plugins, you definitely will need a new interface.

no sound? what settings are you using in asio4all? are you familiar with reaper's layout?
Thanks for your response Brainwreck. I haven't used any specific settings in ASIO4ALL other than the one its set to when you download and direct Reaper to use it. I'm not terribly familiar with the layout of Reaper but I've been using it for quite a while to record analog instruments. For some reason though I can only use my standard sound setting in order to get anything. ASIO is silent.
RubbedLung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 03:29 PM   #9
RubbedLung
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Default

So now that I've posted all of my info does anyone have any solutions that don't involve buying a new computer and or soundcard?
RubbedLung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 05:21 PM   #10
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,073
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RubbedLung View Post
So now that I've posted all of my info does anyone have any solutions that don't involve buying a new computer and or soundcard?
need more info. no sound out, in, during monitoring? have you imported some media to reaper or opened a previously recorded project to see if you have output? if it's the input side, which input are you recording thru? line in, mic in? do you have the windows mixer setup for recording the input that you're trying to use? do you get sound when not using asio4all? what is your asio4all buffer setting?
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asio, latency

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.