Old 01-08-2009, 05:26 AM   #1
mackievlz
Human being with feelings
 
mackievlz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 43
Default Reaper crash

I am getting the same sort of problem but reaper crashes! The CPU is at 40-50% I will be mixing away for 20min or so opening and closing plugins no problem, then I open another and or adjust a plugin and the audio glitches and Reaper freezes and crashes. the problem is not plugin specific as I have even had cashes using the Reapers native plugins
my system is
Pentium quad core
2gig Ram
gigabyte motherboard
motu 828mk2 audio interface
mackievlz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 03:30 PM   #2
eltrex
Human being with feelings
 
eltrex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 56
Default

same problem as you
eltrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 03:52 PM   #3
Brenyn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default

i too have this issue , mainly when adding a plugin or changing a plugin while mix is playing
Brenyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 05:37 PM   #4
Ollie
Super Moderator
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,179
Default

Please check this thread: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=36653
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 05:22 PM   #5
markONoHo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default No recourse

I'd rather not be ding something absolutely cool and have it lost in the cosmos. Adjusting track controls (opening the lower section) freezes computer. Same actions caused it to crash multiple times.



Quote:
Originally Posted by mackievlz View Post
I am getting the same sort of problem but reaper crashes! The CPU is at 40-50% I will be mixing away for 20min or so opening and closing plugins no problem, then I open another and or adjust a plugin and the audio glitches and Reaper freezes and crashes. the problem is not plugin specific as I have even had cashes using the Reapers native plugins
my system is
Pentium quad core
2gig Ram
gigabyte motherboard
motu 828mk2 audio interface
markONoHo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:55 AM   #6
BuckNutz1070
Human being with feelings
 
BuckNutz1070's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 184
Default

Same problem here!! I just lost all of my VST's 2 days ago during a project. Not even sure why. I was told that the VST's are still in memory...and I needed to do a re-scan. here is a copy of the message I got via Reaper below...


"The following effects were in the project file and are not available. REAPER will keep their configurations, but things may not sound as desired."

Like I said...I don't even know why it happened, but the re-scan did work. Ever since I went to Version 4...I've had all kinds of problems.

Matt
BuckNutz1070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:58 AM   #7
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 7,708
Default

Hi guys ... sorry for your troubles. Sadly there are 5 crash reports here with zero information for us to go on!

Please check the link that Ollie posted: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=36653

What we really need is some way to reproduce the problem, or ideally a crash log (instructions at the link for how to find the crash log).
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:05 PM   #8
BuckNutz1070
Human being with feelings
 
BuckNutz1070's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 184
Default

I do remember that I was looking for some virtual amp plug-ins...and I tried to install this one ( TSE808v1.1zip) from a recommended site...which is the following:

http://www.theserinaexperiment.net/p...TSE808v1.1.zip

That is when this particular problem occurred. Any recommendations for some virtual amp plug-ins? I also downloaded some "NASTY" VST's, but out of 4 of them...only 2 work. When I tried to apply the NASTY LF/CS ones...my Reaper crashed. Also...when I upgraded to V-4...I noticed that the meter on my Performance Meter only lights up on the left side, and sometimes not at all. I would ask this in terms of the Performance Meter. Is there a specific setting that I may have overlooked? I never had these types of problems with the previous version. I am so far from being an expert with computers, so I want to make sure it's not something I'm doing wrong, which is a very real possibility. I'm the type of person that just jumps right in. I have gone over the Reaper Users Guide, but not really studying it. Just sort of referencing it when I need to. Thanks for the help...

Matt
BuckNutz1070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 03:36 PM   #9
phrenik
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 115
Default

Glad i'm not the only one, i've exhausted all my troubleshooting, similar problems, my experience:

Been using Reaper for a year, up until a couple months ago it ran perfect, since v4 it will now randomly crash at any time during a session, and the fault module is always a different plugin, tried using reapers bridge, jbridge, tried both x64 and x86 versions with x64 bit plugins, tried using a different soundcard, you name it,

not only that, after it crashes, it also crashes all my other programs, google chrome, aol instant messenger, the GUI becomes corrupted with artifacts and glitches, then BOOM hard freeze on the ENTIRE computer, i have to hard reset every time. Something in the architecture is bleeding out into other programs it seems (if thats possible, i'm not an engineer) anyways, as requested here are my crash reports, i have about 3 listed in event viewer so i'll post all 3

Specs: AMD Phenom II x4, 8gb 800mhz ram, m-audio delta 44 soundcard...

Faulting application name: reaper.exe, version: 4.0.2.14, time stamp: 0x4e7a4f84
Faulting module name: reaper.exe, version: 4.0.2.14, time stamp: 0x4e7a4f84
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00054c65
Faulting process id: 0x1028
Faulting application start time: 0x01cc7b07d8de0183
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\REAPER\reaper.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\REAPER\reaper.exe
Report Id: 176dac5f-e6fb-11e0-a3aa-e0cb4ee2d94f

Faulting application name: reaper.exe, version: 4.0.2.14, time stamp: 0x4e7a4f84
Faulting module name: Guitar Rig 5.dll, version: 5.0.1.2447, time stamp: 0x4e5507f7
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x005576ad
Faulting process id: 0x1120
Faulting application start time: 0x01cc7b04e3fe730a
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\REAPER\reaper.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Vstplugins\Guitar Rig 5.dll
Report Id: 176f5a16-e6fb-11e0-a3aa-e0cb4ee2d94f

Faulting application name: reaper.exe, version: 4.0.2.14, time stamp: 0x4e7a4f84
Faulting module name: reaper.exe, version: 4.0.2.14, time stamp: 0x4e7a4f84
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00054d2a
Faulting process id: 0xb3c
Faulting application start time: 0x01cc7b07e00afb7d
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\REAPER\reaper.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\REAPER\reaper.exe
Report Id: 1e03b266-e6fb-11e0-a3aa-e0cb4ee2d94f
__________________
WWW.SOUNDCLOUD.COM/PHRENIK
phrenik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 12:54 AM   #10
0=0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phrenik View Post
Glad i'm not the only one, i've exhausted all my troubleshooting, similar problems, my experience:

Been using Reaper for a year, up until a couple months ago it ran perfect, since v4 it will now randomly crash at any time during a session, and the fault module is always a different plugin, tried using reapers bridge, jbridge, tried both x64 and x86 versions with x64 bit plugins, tried using a different soundcard, you name it,

not only that, after it crashes, it also crashes all my other programs, google chrome, aol instant messenger, the GUI becomes corrupted with artifacts and glitches, then BOOM hard freeze on the ENTIRE computer, i have to hard reset every time. Something in the architecture is bleeding out into other programs it seems (if thats possible, i'm not an engineer) anyways, as requested here are my crash reports, i have about 3 listed in event viewer so i'll post all 3

I have the same symptoms...it crashes..usually around saving...but there is no way to eliminate the "reaper.exe" from my task manager..and then any other new process from other software that runs crashes aswell.

j

0=0
0=0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 06:12 AM   #11
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 7,708
Default

Phrenik, from the crash reports I can see you are using REAPER version 4.10rc3. It may fix your problem, and certainly will help us debug, if you could upgrade to an official released build (ideally the current version, 4.151).
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 02:51 AM   #12
0=0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Phrenik, from the crash reports I can see you are using REAPER version 4.10rc3. It may fix your problem, and certainly will help us debug, if you could upgrade to an official released build (ideally the current version, 4.151).
this seems to be a common enough problem with people using different versions of reaper. I've only used official releases..and i have this problem.

j

0=0
0=0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 03:04 AM   #13
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0=0 View Post
this seems to be a common enough problem with people using different versions of reaper. I've only used official releases..and i have this problem.

j

0=0
From the crashlog I found by chance in some other thread you seem to have issues with old synthedit plugs and not the problem phrenik reports.

Crashlogs are important. Please post them, or at least describe your problem as comprehensive as possible and try to come up with a way how others may reproduce your issue.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.