Go Back   Cockos Confederated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2009, 03:21 PM   #1
planktonic_tcw
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default How to change BPM w/out stretching midi notes (so they still sync with audio)?

I've searched high and low on the forums, tried timebase changing (time vs the 2 beats settings), locking, etc to no avail.

Here's my scenario:
I make a live recording, recording multiple midi instruments and also multiple audio sources. I haven't set the tempo to anything in particular and we aren't using a click track.

Later when I'm mixing I want to add in tempo based effects, like delay, etc. so I tempo tap to get the project BPM to match the actual performance BPM. Then I can have the effects use the host bpm. But when I do this, the midi notes shift to match the new tempo. I'd prefer not to stretch the audio, since I want to preserve the actual tempo that occurred at record time.

I've tried changing project/item timebase setting to the three different values but with all of those setting the midi notes themselves still shift, and are no longer in sync with the audio.

A solution/workaround would be to make sure I just set the tempo on each song before I start, but that task is sometimes forgotten or is impractical, or for whatever reason, so I'm hoping for a simple fix during the mixing process.

The closest thing I could find on the forum regarding this is:
http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...0&postcount=10
which suggests that there isn't an easy way and gives what looks like a fairly time-consuming process of splitting each midi note, but maybe I'm misreading or there is a way to automate the process.
planktonic_tcw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 03:41 PM   #2
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,998
Default

You can free up MIDI from the project tempo in the items Properties. At the bottom click on 'Properties'. This opens the MIDI event properties with a checkbox 'Ignore project tempo information, use:' and some fields to enter a bpm and signature.
Tick this checkbox and enter the original bpm and signature you used while recording.

Then you can change the tempo without MIDI following.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 04:29 PM   #3
planktonic_tcw
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default

Huge Thanks! That's just what I was looking for...
planktonic_tcw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.