Go Back   Cockos Confederated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2009, 01:42 AM   #1
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,157
Default Reaper, the only DAW with annoying track color selection.

...
...

...
...

I posted this and it got moved to the beta section. I thought I'd put it here and let that one get buried because v3 is out now.

I want to be able to set a (some key)+click and have the simple color pallet (left most on the image) drop down. And of course you could select multiple tracks and just click any of them to get the menu. right clicking gradient would let you select the 2 colors.

I don't honestly care too much about the big "advanced track management" Just a very clean minimal access to a palette would be wonderful.

the rest is more like ultra ultra advanced templating. Also predefined text that, if you name a track the text you added to the advanced track management window, it will apply a template to the track (color(s), routing, fx chains, track icon, automation knobs, etc).

Now that I'm bigger, I think a better idea would be to include "if" and "then" statements to actions. you could highlight one or all of tracks and apply something like this:

(this would be only one action, btw)

IF
track name = guitar
THEN
apply OnTrack template: guitar_template
IF
track name = guitar1
THEN
apply OnTrack template: guitar_template1
IF
track name = kick
THEN
apply OnTrack template: kick_template
IF
track name = sn top
THEN
apply OnTrack template: snaretop_template



and so on and so forth...
another new action would have to be added (to make it really cool)
"undo last applied template"

so you can add a few shortcuts to various mixes
we'll assume these aren't already mapped for my sake (no, I don't have every mapped shortcut memorized)

ctrl+alt+1 = custom action 1 - apply (if/then template) action 1 to selected tracks
ctrl+alt+2 = custom action 2 - apply (if/then template) action 2 to selected tracks
ctrl+alt+3 = custom action 3 - apply (if/then template) action 3 to selected tracks
ctrl+alt+z = custom action 4 - undo last applied template

Last edited by pixeltarian; 06-11-2009 at 01:49 AM.
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 09:58 AM   #2
hantymansy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kazakhstan
Posts: 94
Default

+1
Reaper is not that user friendly in selecting colors
hantymansy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 11:14 AM   #3
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 1,900
Default

Yes please. ++1
__________________
Contrary to popular belief, non-death heavy metal does not necessarily mean falsetto-saving-the-princess heavy metal.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 12:02 PM   #4
GermanFafian
Human being with feelings
 
GermanFafian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: K÷ln, Germany
Posts: 392
Default

+++ 1
Very please
__________________
Carpe Diem Quam Minimum Credula Postero
GermanFafian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 09:10 PM   #5
synth
Human being with feelings
 
synth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Synthopia
Posts: 1,719
Default

+1
and add an automatic track coloring mode based on a predefined rainbow-colored pattern
__________________
Synth's consolidated FR thread: Loaded with some of the *hottest* features in DAW-land:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=22279
synth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 01:23 AM   #6
sebas777
Human being with feelings
 
sebas777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,112
Default

Here's how I'd see coloring things on the fly in our beloved Reaper:


1) Open the colors window.

2) If you want, switch to one of predefined palettes (warm, cold, etc. Photoshop is your inspiration)

3) select any object (a track, a few items)

4) click a color to apply it to selection.

5) Edit menu: "select objects of the same color", "invert selection"
__________________
"Ghost Loops FR" http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=2342 (with a youtube video). http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=2399 ("Walking" track zoom). LightSpeed sidechains http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=2569
sebas777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 06:09 AM   #7
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebas777 View Post
Here's how I'd see coloring things on the fly in our beloved Reaper:


1) Open the colors window.

2) If you want, switch to one of predefined palettes (warm, cold, etc. Photoshop is your inspiration)

3) select any object (a track, a few items)

4) click a color to apply it to selection.

5) Edit menu: "select objects of the same color", "invert selection"
aww... a window?!
but i want a dedicated color drop down menu... waaaaahhh!
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 06:14 PM   #8
aviavi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by synth View Post
+1
and add an automatic track coloring mode based on a predefined rainbow-colored pattern
Yes +1 please!
aviavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 08:55 AM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 14,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixeltarian View Post
...
...

...
...
SIMPLY BRILLIANT!!!

100!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 03:07 AM   #10
clipperer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Default

"automatic track coloring mode based on a predefined rainbow-colored pattern"

it would be better if automatic colors would be selected at random, because if not, every project would have the same track colors, it would be much cooler if colors would be different just as projects are different.
i have nothing against rainbow-colored pattern but id suggest a random coloring mode too.

Last edited by clipperer; 07-29-2009 at 03:56 AM.
clipperer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 03:17 AM   #11
jayendra
Human being with feelings
 
jayendra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gippsland, Aus
Posts: 506
Default

is that 'advanced track managment' your own? Wow! Can I have it?
__________________
.-. . .- .--. . .-. | .. ... | --. --- .-.. -..
jayendra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 03:47 AM   #12
ed209
Human being with feelings
 
ed209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 586
Default

everybody wants this I guess, let's find out how prioritized it is by getting it on the issue tracker

+1
ed209 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 09:13 AM   #13
Drugs
Human being with feelings
 
Drugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 270
Default

looks good i like it! especially being able to choose the track icon as well.
__________________
Drugs are bad. Brains are good.
Drugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 10:54 AM   #14
labyrinth
Human being with feelings
 
labyrinth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 2,245
Default

Very nice idea...this is why I only use SWS color management.
__________________
Resonant Reflections
labyrinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 11:53 AM   #15
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,387
Default

I use "option T" for a shortcut to the custom color palette when I've selected a track.

But yeah, my former DAW, DP, has a much easier color scheme. However, I was never able to find any colors that I liked...until Reaper. Irony +
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 12:29 PM   #16
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
I use "option T" for a shortcut to the custom color palette when I've selected a track.
What action do you use exactly for this?

Thanks,
Mario
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 08:52 PM   #17
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,118
Default

i didnt know other daws focus their programming efforts on colors for their tracks at all.

also, arent most engineers too busy to mess around with track colors?

i can picture it now:
"sorry paul simon, give me a second, i am coloring the tracks on your pro tools session"

these are my thoughts when i saw the provocative headline, so just forgive me.
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 09:25 AM   #18
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 1,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
i didnt know other daws focus their programming efforts on colors for their tracks at all.
They don't. Most other DAWs automatically color your tracks for you so you don't have to bother with it.
__________________
Contrary to popular belief, non-death heavy metal does not necessarily mean falsetto-saving-the-princess heavy metal.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 09:27 AM   #19
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 18,009
Default

i just wish i had a better selection of color, besides these pastels
__________________
www.jasonbrianmerrill.com
If you look for it hard enough, it will show up. Even if it isn't really there :D
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 10:53 AM   #20
satixu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default

[QUOTE=pixeltarian;330392]...
...

...
...

perfect!
satixu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 12:16 PM   #21
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
They don't. Most other DAWs automatically color your tracks for you so you don't have to bother with it.
I like being able coloring items in the same tracks to differentiate among various parts played by the same instrument; I think the way Logic 5.51 did this on PC was great, a simple paint tool with ability to select a color and apply it to every item "touched" by the mouse cursor.

- Mario
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 12:36 PM   #22
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
What action do you use exactly for this?

Thanks,
Mario

Go to Actions and "Track: Set track colors." Make a custom shortcut for it, alt or option "t" - I just used this because it was simple and available.

Whatever track is selected I just use this shortcut and up pops a choice of palettes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
i just wish i had a better selection of color, besides these pastels
Yeah, it's mostly prime colors and then watered-down prime colors.

Last edited by Kundalinguist; 07-30-2009 at 12:39 PM. Reason: peer pressure and the need for acceptance.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 01:01 PM   #23
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 9,820
Default

I might of missed something but you can set your own custom colours so you can have any colour you want (or was that a joke) only read a bit of the thread too tired.

This could also be an sws extension thing but I'm sure you can have custom colours saved.
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 01:04 PM   #24
Masarin
Human being with feelings
 
Masarin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Malm÷, Sweden
Posts: 369
Default

+++1 from me too.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Skodak sounds @ http://skodak.bandcamp.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Masarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 02:40 PM   #25
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,157
Default

I wonder if any of the developers have seen and studied the mock-up. I'd like to at least hear what one of them thinks, regardless of weather or not it gets implemented,..
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 08:01 AM   #26
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 7,926
Default

Maybe it's too complex an idea to prioritize before other stuff at this time.

Give it another good look and post it in the Issue Tracker if you think it'll be the best colour changing idea.
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 08:13 AM   #27
jinko17
Human being with feelings
 
jinko17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: inside a whale's ass
Posts: 1,110
Default

i've never understood how to customize the colors. I tried once, failed miserable, then left it alone forever. A more comprehensive color system would be nice but I can see how it wouldn't be top priority.
jinko17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 08:54 AM   #28
AudioWonderland
Human being with feelings
 
AudioWonderland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 537
Default

This seems like over kill to select a color for a track.

right click
click select custom track color
select the color
click ok
AudioWonderland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 11:46 AM   #29
Youn
Human being with feelings
 
Youn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,157
Default

"everybody wants this I guess" ...you guessed wrong :P
Youn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 08:14 PM   #30
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,118
Default

-1
to make track color selection less annoying. devs, buy some medical marijuana or some nice wine with all those man hours instead!
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 02:56 PM   #31
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioWonderland View Post
This seems like over kill to select a color for a track.

right click
click select custom track color
select the color
click ok

well I wish you would have actually read it.

JUST for you to select a color: 1, 2, 3, 4
four steps.

my way:

type: "guitar" as the track name
it colors, routes, adds FX, sets up busses, loads presets, and triggers any actions you have set up. that's MUCH more than selecting a track color.


if naming a track is not considered a step, my way is... let's see now...

0.

zero steps.

pwned! as they say...
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 05:16 PM   #32
AudioWonderland
Human being with feelings
 
AudioWonderland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixeltarian View Post
well I wish you would have actually read it.

JUST for you to select a color: 1, 2, 3, 4
four steps.

my way:

type: "guitar" as the track name
it colors, routes, adds FX, sets up busses, loads presets, and triggers any actions you have set up. that's MUCH more than selecting a track color.


if naming a track is not considered a step, my way is... let's see now...

0.

zero steps.

pwned! as they say...
Except that I have many guitars in a project and prefer a label that actually means something.

Thats cute though. You think I give a damn about any of this... As for pwnage, your the one whining about a non issue...
AudioWonderland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 06:05 PM   #33
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 14,210
Default

It's not a non issue. OP's way of doing it is much more convenient, IMHO.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 06:51 PM   #34
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9,725
Default

Actually, I think the simplest would be a small color palette that is neatly tucked somewhere in the GUI like up top or in the docker. Just click one of the colors and whatever is highlighted turns that color. Put a "Random" button right beside it to choose a random color for the selected item(s), ctrl+click the random button and the pallette itself loads with a new set of random colors. You can right-click any color (pops up color chooser) to change it manually.

Karbo
__________________
Massaging electrons sure is a lot of fun.

Last edited by karbomusic; 10-01-2009 at 06:57 PM.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 02:12 PM   #35
reaperdeeper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 227
Default

++1
Dont like Reapers color managment so far...
reaperdeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 02:53 PM   #36
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 7,926
Default

Pixeltairians idea struck me as complex when I first looked at it, but it's mainly just a palette to draw colours and icons from, with some optional automatic action from analyzing the track name.

Reaper does not yet do palettes of colours or any other buttons for that matter. It's very simplistic in its approach so far. The icons we do have can't be rearranged easily, and they're all the same colour. I too would like to be able to rearrange groups of icons, among them colour and track icon palettes, to more effectively customize my workflow.

Soundforge used standard toolbar sets that you could customize. Protools uses custom sets of controls you can push around on the top. These are ideas the developers could draw from.
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 08:50 PM   #37
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,157
Default hmm

I just want to see one developer say a little something about this or track/color management in general normally this would never happen. I'm not that lucky, but...

I'm using one of my 3 wishes... now.
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 03:05 AM   #38
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 14,210
Default

Pixeltarian, please click on the first link in my signature.

That could help you, perhaps?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 03:55 AM   #39
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Pixeltarian, please click on the first link in my signature.

That could help you, perhaps?
awesome. I like it. lots and lots. thanks. I love you. in a platonic way, of course.
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:01 PM   #40
Sigilus
Human being with feelings
 
Sigilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Global
Posts: 2,575
Default

I LOVE the idea of user-coded templates that would auto-format tracks based on track names.

HUGE interest in that feature!
__________________
F.R.::Render as Wave_Extensible
The greatest story leaves you at the black doors of possibility.
Sigilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.