Old 06-18-2009, 09:12 AM   #1
benp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default Cannot Render MP3 - Lame_Enc.dll in Directory

Hi All

I cannot render mp3's. I get the typical error message that occurs when lame is not in the directory (see picture attachment). I have copied various versions of lame_enc.dll but the problem persists. I have upgraded to Reaper 3.03.

Does anyone know how to fix this problem, or how I can troubleshoot it?

Reaper 3.03 x64
Lame_Enc.dll - many versions tried
OS: Window 7 RC1

Any help much appreciated.

Thanks

BenP
Attached Images
File Type: png error.png (29.9 KB, 291 views)
File Type: png dir.png (36.7 KB, 207 views)
benp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 09:23 AM   #2
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 4,204
Default

Can't see from the screenshots if you are using the 64 bit version of Reaper...(edit : ah you mentioned that in your post already.) The usual lame encoder DLL won't work with that, you need to find the 64 bit build of it.
__________________
For info on Reaper extension plugins (including Xenakios' previous extensions) :
http://www.standingwaterstudios.com/reaper
http://code.google.com/p/sws-extension/
--
Xenakios blog :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 08:33 AM   #3
ccochran
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default Windows 7 x64, Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 Solution

Hi,

I had a similar experience when trying to render via Lame on the Win7 family of products. I'm embarrased to say that I had inadvertently downloaded the 32-bit x86 version instead of the x64 version.

If your REAPER install folder is "C:\Program Files (x86)\REAPER" then you are using the 32-bit version. The 64-bit version installs into "C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)" by default. The 32-bit version will work fine on a 64-bit O/S, but you must simply download the 32-bit lame_enc.dll and place it in the REAPER folder. I downloaded 3.98.2 from http://www.rarewares.org/mp3-lame-bundle.php and it worked fine on Windows Server 2008 R2 x64.

I also installed the x64 version of REAPER and used the 64-bit lame_enc.dll attached to the sticky post. Both render my project flawlessly as expected.
ccochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 08:48 AM   #4
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,404
Default

there is an x64 build that works fine posted on this forum... this should be the attachment: http://forum.cockos.com/attachment.p...9&d=1240531093

here is the thread: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=34860

greetings
.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 02:25 PM   #5
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
there is an x64 build that works fine posted on this forum... this should be the attachment: http://forum.cockos.com/attachment.p...9&d=1240531093

here is the thread: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=34860

greetings
.t
Tried it... no go.
Using Reaper x64 on Win 7 x64, the batch converter generates a 6kB mp3 file from a 70MB wav. And I used the dll that came from the link above. For sure...

EDIT 1: Using 32-bit lame_enc.dll and Reaper x86 it works as expected.

EDIT 2: Using 32-bit lame_enc.dll and Reaper x86 works, sort of... I get identical sizes of the mp3, irrespective of the quality settings! Surely an mp3 coded at 320 kbps should be larger than one encoded at 128 kbps. Well, here they are all the same size! Something is amiss...
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.

Last edited by Fabian; 11-29-2009 at 02:46 PM.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 04:47 AM   #6
jonmatifa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 52
Default

Not sure what your problem would be. I've got Windows 7 x64 build 7100 at home and both Reaper x86 and x64 work perfectly as well as the respective lame_enc.dll's.

I've always wanted to go back any go over the x64 compilation for lame_enc.dll again and make sure I'm doing everything right, maybe get in touch with the LAME project and everything.
__________________
Intel Core i3 3.2Ghz - Asus P7H55-M Pro - 16GB G.Skill DDR3 RAM - Emu 1820M
Windows 7 64bit - Mac OSX 10.6.7
jonmatifa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:30 AM   #7
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonmatifa View Post
Not sure what your problem would be. I've got Windows 7 x64 build 7100 at home and both Reaper x86 and x64 work perfectly as well as the respective lame_enc.dll's.
The real problem with Reaper x86 + 32-bit lame_enc.dll is the UI of the mp3-rendering of the batch file converter. Manually setting the kbps does not work as it should. All mp3's are converted using the same bitrate. See #14 and #15 here http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...448#post414448.

Reaper x64 + 64-bit lame_enc.dll does not work at all here. The mp3 files get truncated for some reason...
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 06:09 AM   #8
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
The real problem with Reaper x86 + 32-bit lame_enc.dll is the UI of the mp3-rendering of the batch file converter. Manually setting the kbps does not work as it should. All mp3's are converted using the same bitrate. See #14 and #15 here http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...448#post414448.
Please vote here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=1624 for improved and simpler MP3 encoder GUI!


DONE (3.32pre3)

Last edited by Dstruct; 02-25-2010 at 09:55 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:02 AM   #9
jonmatifa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 52
Default

There's another version of the 64bit lame_enc.dll out there now, Sidney discovered it and posted about it in the 64bit sticky thread, here's the link for it.
__________________
Intel Core i3 3.2Ghz - Asus P7H55-M Pro - 16GB G.Skill DDR3 RAM - Emu 1820M
Windows 7 64bit - Mac OSX 10.6.7
jonmatifa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 09:55 AM   #10
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,062
Default

FIXED (3.32pre3)
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lame_enc.dll, mp3, render, windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.