Old 12-24-2009, 12:19 PM   #1
WinstonN
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Default Setup with Zed R16

I'm a new Reaper user and I am VERY excited to have found this software; the concept/philosophy is brillient.

My experience level with DAWs is pretty low - I have a net 6 months experience with Protools LE + 003 and after reading about Reaper, I want to switch before I commit more time to PT.

I have a brand spanking new A&H Zed R16 and I'm a few frustrating hours into getting it setup with Reaper (thanks to operator inexperience!!). So, I'm on 2 learning curves at the same time. I've yet to record a track on Reaper.

My first setup question is (there probably will be more):

The Zed R16 is connected to laptop via firewire (the optional 2in/2out ADAT ports on the ZED are unused). In Reaper Options > Preferences I am set to Audio system = ASIO; ASIO Driver = ASIO ZED R"; Enabled inputs options options for first and last are "ZED R16 ADAT 1" through "ZED R16 ADAT 16". Same for output range.

When I use PT, my input options include BOTH Analog (which I use) and ADAT (which I don't).

Should I be seeing Analog options in the input section (not just ADAT). Conversely, if I'm connected via Firewire, can I still use the ADAT in and out options in Reaper?

Thanks for the help!
WinstonN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 08:25 PM   #2
WinstonN
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Default

I'm beginning to think this is a driver issue, but now that I've reloaded the driver...again, still no luck.
WinstonN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 06:52 AM   #3
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,088
Default

Welcome to the forum, WinstonN.

Wow, I just googled Zed R16, that's surely a cool piece of gear . Sad to hear you get those problems. You definitely should see all I/O options.

I don't think many users here have access to that board. If there is no newer driver available, I'd post it in the bug reports forum here at Cockos and also file it to A&H support, so the devs can contact. Maybe there is a forum over at A&H as well where you have a better chance to get the problem confirmed?

Hope you get it sorted out soon, it would be such a pity.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 07:20 AM   #4
Ollie
Super Moderator
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,122
Default

Could it be something simple like this?


(From the R16 manual)
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 10:36 AM   #5
WinstonN
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steindork View Post
Could it be something simple like this?


(From the R16 manual)
YES!!! I'm recording now.

How in the world did I miss the configuration switch info??? Embarrassing.

Thanks very much...best present this morning.
WinstonN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 10:50 AM   #6
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,088
Default

Yay, Steindork to the rescue
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 04:43 PM   #7
byrdsworth
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 2
Default Update on zed r16

Hi Winston

I am thinking of getting an r16 too ..

I was just wondering how it is going with Reaper

an update on your progress so far would be much appreciated

Cheers
Byrds
byrdsworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:18 AM   #8
JoeMicallef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Running a brand new R16 on 10.6 with excellent results so far. Only done a few tracks simultaneously, low latency, took some finesse to get the faders in reaper to track with the fader gain on the board.
JoeMicallef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 09:27 AM   #9
toyhouse
Human being with feelings
 
toyhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Monterey, California.
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeMicallef View Post
Running a brand new R16 on 10.6 with excellent results so far. Only done a few tracks simultaneously, low latency, took some finesse to get the faders in reaper to track with the fader gain on the board.
It's a coincidence but I was just going to post a new thread asking for opinions about the r16 but did a search first and saw this.

Any thoughts in general regarding the above. Not just reaper integration but overall.
Sorry if this drifts off-topic a bit. Just didn't want to launch a repeat thread.

Since we're moving, I'll be redoing my setup no doubt.
The r16 looks like good bang for the buck plus it simplifies things I'm thinking.
Any opinions here so far on r16 vs another interface, (8 channels I guess),.
Much appreciated.
I was thinking of holding out for the r24 but not sure I'd really need it.
EDIT; they won't be offering a meter bridge for the 16. Said it's too complicated? There may be one for the 24 however.



Jim P.







.

Last edited by toyhouse; 02-18-2010 at 09:34 AM.
toyhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 06:42 PM   #10
JoeMicallef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I'll continue to post my benchmarks here. I have a Mac Pro, a MacBook Pro, and an iMac running 10.5; all intel and just a couple years old, as well the new Mac Pro running 10.6 and a PC running XP(vista free zone). In the next few weeks I'll be trying to crash it in as many configurations as I can think of. Especially interested in which machines will stand up to 16 channels in and out with plugins running in real time while recording.

So far the only kink I've noticed is if reaper is running offline for too long it loses the midi over firewire connection and reaper needs to be restarted. Also would be nice if you could re-map the MMC to the action list as the default transport functions could use a little tweaking.
JoeMicallef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 01:43 PM   #11
grok
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default ZedR16

Hi all, this is my first post. I've been dabbling with DAWs for the last year or so and had a 3 way shoot out between Reaper, Cubase LE and Sonar LE. Reaper won on account of its fuller feature set and the fact that I had several problems installing the other DAWs and getting them to run correctly.

The original post about using a ZedR16 is very interesting. I've also been thinking of getting one as I really miss the hands on approach to mixing, find it difficult to drag down several faders using a mouse, and coming from an analogue/live mixing background, such features as parametric EQ are second nature. I've used an A&H 16ch Mix Wizard r a couple of years now and love it.

Am I right in thinking that I would also need to get a Firewire card for my laptop in order to plug the Zed in? How prevalent are these? I have one of the newer PCI slots.

Just to confirm, when the Zed is running with Reaper and you're mixing, when you move a physical fader, the virtual fader in Reaper also moves, right? Likewise, tweaking physical EQ will change the channel sound in Reaper?
grok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.