Old 05-03-2010, 04:40 AM   #1
PRS
Mortal
 
PRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 105
Default E-MU 0404 USB on Windows 7 ???

Does the E-MU 0404 USB work well with Win 7 ???

I couldn't find any info on drivers for Win 7 on E-MU's web site for the USB 0404.
PRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 05:10 AM   #2
El-Rallef
Mortal
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PRS View Post
Does the E-MU 0404 USB work well with Win 7 ???

I couldn't find any info on drivers for Win 7 on E-MU's web site for the USB 0404.
Sometimes I wonder just how far a company with a name like E-MU can degenerate. Somehow, their software department seems to be left behind in the dark ages.

Not only do they seem to be rather slow with Windows 7 (see http://connect.creativelabs.com/emu/default.aspx) - they also ruin their reputation with Proteus VX which they give away for free - but which bluescreens every second computer it's installed on...

However - imagine my surprise when I plugged in my E-MU Xboard on my new Windows 7 installation, and it worked perfectly right away because vanilla Windows 7 already includes the drivers!

El-Rallef
El-Rallef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 06:05 AM   #3
Finnish
Mortal
 
Finnish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Kuopio
Posts: 753
Default

For some it works, for some it doesn't.. I'm in the doesn't-league. Check this out:

http://www.productionforums.com/view...p=75891#p75891

I guess it's somehow related to HP, but I'm not sure.

Anyway, if it works it's a dang good sounding peace of hardware for the money!
__________________
REGISTERED USER
My studio
My band
Finnish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 12:01 PM   #4
PRS
Mortal
 
PRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finnish View Post
For some it works, for some it doesn't.. I'm in the doesn't-league. Check this out:

http://www.productionforums.com/view...p=75891#p75891

I guess it's somehow related to HP, but I'm not sure.

Anyway, if it works it's a dang good sounding peace of hardware for the money!



That's bad news... I would hate to lose my 0404. It does sound good.
Have you tried the Win 7 drivers, as El-Rallef mentioned ???

I suppose I would have to go back to Vista if there are problems with Win 7 and the 0404 ?
PRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 06:26 PM   #5
PRS
Mortal
 
PRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 105
Default

Anyone else ???
PRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 12:58 AM   #6
bladerunner
Mortal
 
bladerunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,066
Default

i have had an 0404 and a tracker pre in the past and they both gave me the cpu spiking problem in vista. i had spikes up to 50% that occured every 45 seconds or so. save yourself a lot of frustration and go with a different interface! or... install xp. i am still tempted to do that as i agree the 0404 is a great sounding interface.
__________________
Professional online mixing and mastering at very competitive rates - free sample mixing - give me a try :)
www.crimsonsunaudio.com
bladerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 01:24 AM   #7
Finnish
Mortal
 
Finnish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Kuopio
Posts: 753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bladerunner View Post
i have had an 0404 and a tracker pre in the past and they both gave me the cpu spiking problem in vista. i had spikes up to 50% that occured every 45 seconds or so. save yourself a lot of frustration and go with a different interface! or... install xp. i am still tempted to do that as i agree the 0404 is a great sounding interface.
Yeah, if you're having probs then XP is (atm) the only way to go. Some dudes have no problems so it's just a matter of luck/components/software etc.

I don't get clicks/pops when I'm encountering those damn CPU-bursts (my cycle is faster than 45 secs IIRC) but still it doesn't make it reliable to my eyes.

I'm not gonna sell my EMU 0404 USB 'cause it sounds damn good, also damn damn good for the money!
__________________
REGISTERED USER
My studio
My band
Finnish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 09:54 PM   #8
ico
Mortal
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 25
Default

this has been annoying the hell out of me too. been getting a cpu spike every second. Tried updating drivers for my lappies ati southbridge and applying KB Hotfixes for windows 7 with no joy at all.

Managed to kind of resolve it by making my usb ports think they are 1.1 instead of 2 by disabling some of the usb port drivers in device manager. Still getting an intermittent spike here and there so something is else is causing this :/
ico is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.