Old 02-15-2007, 04:41 PM   #1
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default OT: LOSER's VST Plug-Ins

Visit: http://loser.asseca.com/ for the latest versions and beta updates.


P.S. No more stashbox links, everything will be available from http://loser.asseca.com/ so all stashbox links are outdated.

Last edited by LOSER; 09-02-2007 at 02:44 AM.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 06:38 PM   #2
jamieskeen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 742
Default

Looking forward to checking these out.....Let you know how they work...
jamieskeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 07:39 PM   #3
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 18,077
Default

im trying these out, ill get back to you from FL, samp8 and reaper of course
__________________
www.jasonbrianmerrill.com
If you look for it hard enough, it will show up. Even if it isn't really there :D
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 03:56 AM   #4
teej813
Human being with feelings
 
teej813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,717
Default

Excellent! Thanks, Loser. I should have a chance to give these a listen this weekend.


teej
__________________
It may be the devil, or it may be the Lord, but you're gonna hafta serve somebody.
__________________
teej813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 04:41 AM   #5
Billoon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arse end of the earth.
Posts: 2,974
Default

Im having a look...just checked out the dither plugin @

24bit, TPDF, No HPF, 2 lsb, No DC shift, No Noise Shaping.

Very impressed, its quite transparent which is nice.

What is DC Shift for? How do you tell where to set it/if its needed?

Also...when i try to save FXP preset...i set it to TPDF but it loads Gaussian.?

Last edited by Billoon; 02-16-2007 at 04:47 AM.
Billoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 05:03 AM   #6
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billoon View Post
Also...when i try to save FXP preset...i set it to TPDF but it loads Gaussian.?
Here is the fix:
Now at: http://loser.asseca.com/
(Will be bundle with the other plugs next version)

DC-shift DC-shifts the dither noise (in an amount of the least significant bit). I put this in 'cause 16 bit int ranges from -32.768 to 32.767, so you see it has one possible value more on the negative side. A negative DC shift could place the wave better around the mid point. This, however, is the theory behind it but I don't think you need it, in general.

Last edited by LOSER; 07-30-2007 at 03:51 AM.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 05:16 AM   #7
Billoon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arse end of the earth.
Posts: 2,974
Default

Thank you...that worked.

This is my favorite dither plugin already.

I noticed 32bit dither is possible...is this for 64bit>32bit float or 32bit integer or something? Does that mean the plugin is 64bit?
Billoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 05:21 AM   #8
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billoon View Post
Thank you...that worked.

This is my favorite dither plugin already.

I noticed 32bit dither is possible...is this for 64bit>32bit float or 32bit integer or something? Does that mean the plugin is 64bit?
Your welcome.

It always dithers to integer.

All plug-ins are 32bit float only (since I doen't seem to get the new VST 2.4 SDK files, that support 64bit in/out, compiled with gcc/mingw32).
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 05:25 AM   #9
Billoon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arse end of the earth.
Posts: 2,974
Default

Cool, ta. Handy to know.
Billoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 06:33 AM   #10
cymatics
Human being with feelings
 
cymatics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default

WOW! The DVC is excellent. Just a quicky test on a drum submix sounds really punchy in fdbk mode. Absurdly low CPU.

The Limiter & the Maximizer sound good too and yield almost no CPU hit.

More extensive testing to come!

Thanks Loser. [it feels weird typing that... like I'm calling you names or something ]

- jon
cymatics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 06:49 AM   #11
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

MAN!! Some of these are great!

I'm a little ashamed that I never tried the DVC (did I?)

It's FANTASTIC! The Dither is, indeed, one of the best, most configurable I've used.

GREAT WORK!!

PERHAPS, just perhaps, Justin might use this as Reaper's onboard dither in the render dialog? Whaddaya think J? It'd be another great selling point. The dither is awesome.

Thanks again, Loser!
__________________
IT'S A TROMBONE !!!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 08:01 AM   #12
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Great you guys like'em.

Absurdly low CPU? -- I was going to optimize some of the code next week. I guess there is not much to optimize, though

P.S. Please don't forget to report bad things too
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 03:49 PM   #13
Billoon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arse end of the earth.
Posts: 2,974
Default

Checked out a few more...the Exciter is cool and the Gate is great.

DVC is excellent...lovin the dry mix slider for parallel compression. One small thing is a typo on "Treshold" and input/output meters (like JS) would be great.

These are very good plugins. What about a transparent(non-destructive) brickwall limiter?

Oh yeah...+1 for this dither being built in to REAPER.
Billoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 04:45 AM   #14
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Sorry, again I'm too stupid (or just lazy, who knows) to figure out how to make GUIs for the VST plug-ins, so I can't give you meters right now. But I may, however, find a way to add a GUI one day

Regarding the limiter, you could (but that doesn't give too good results) try to set DVC on ratio=inf:1, look-ahead=0.2ms, attack 0.1ms, and set the output to your desired ceiling level. Then you can fudge with the release to get the sound you want (around 20 to 200ms some times gives good results to me, depending on the type of material).
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 04:51 AM   #15
Billoon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arse end of the earth.
Posts: 2,974
Default

No worries...and thanks again, ill give the DVC a go.
Billoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 06:20 PM   #16
teej813
Human being with feelings
 
teej813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,717
Default

Sounds like you've gotten great feedback on your plugs, L. I'm certainly impressed!



teej
__________________
It may be the devil, or it may be the Lord, but you're gonna hafta serve somebody.
__________________
teej813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 08:04 PM   #17
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSER View Post
Sorry, again I'm too stupid (or just lazy, who knows) to figure out how to make GUIs for the VST plug-ins
Perhaps our friend grymm could step in here.

The plugs are certainly worth it.
__________________
IT'S A TROMBONE !!!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 03:53 AM   #18
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 2,500
Default

Nice one LOSER. I haven't tried these yet but the feedback you're getting so far suggests I'm going to be impressed. Looking forward to it.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 07:16 PM   #19
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 10,093
Default

DVC is ASSKICKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Put a GUI on that

now

on my desk before you leave or no xmass bonus
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 08:28 PM   #20
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 6,786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffy View Post
MAN!! Some of these are great!
... The dither is awesome.
+1 (and then some)
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 10:16 PM   #21
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Drinking metho, in a park near you
Posts: 5,413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSER View Post
Great you guys like'em.

Absurdly low CPU? -- I was going to optimize some of the code next week. I guess there is not much to optimize, though

P.S. Please don't forget to report bad things too
Hey Loser, the DVC is awesome! I get a cpu hit of 0.40% - 0.45%...

That's actually as low as ReaGate, amazing work! I tried it on a drum folder as above, really really good on first use. Put some meters on this and some presets saved, this will be a great workhorse.

I can now put ReaGate, DVC, and Sonitus EQ on a track with no more than 1.50% or so cpu... well under some individual plugs alone on my machine.

You rock!
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 01:15 AM   #22
Billoon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arse end of the earth.
Posts: 2,974
Default

Hey LOSER,

Was wondering if the dither could be ported to JS so it can take full advantage of the 64bit signal path?
Billoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 03:37 AM   #23
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Drinking metho, in a park near you
Posts: 5,413
Default

It'd be really cool, Loser and Pipe, if you both could post some presets for the DVC plugin sometime...those ones you both did for ReaComp were excellent starting points, so if you feel inclined please do. I for one would appreciate it
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 07:19 AM   #24
Paul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wolverhampton, England
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffy View Post
Perhaps our friend grymm could step in here.

The plugs are certainly worth it.
Hi all,

Anyone seen this at KVR?

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=168671

Its a post about skinning non GUI plug ins... someone did Juicy!

Cheers


Paul

Last edited by Paul; 02-22-2007 at 07:26 AM.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 08:03 AM   #25
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billoon View Post
Hey LOSER,

Was wondering if the dither could be ported to JS so it can take full advantage of the 64bit signal path?
Uhmm.. I moded the JS:bitred to have all functionality off my dither, but some parts aren't portable (or I don't want to, who knows), so the random numbers (especially those of the gaussian noise) differe between the versions. I, however, don't think 64-bit is needed for dithering it gets reduced in resolution anyway and the error introduced from 64 to 32 bit float is way less than it is from e.g. 64f to 32int compared to 32f to 32 int (IMO).

P.S. I'm gonna search for a trustfull person to code me a GUI, or maybe try one of those plug-in wrappers or save as formats to make a GUI (as a kludge till a proper solution is found).

Edit: Remove .txt from attachment etc...
Edit: Modified code a bit more ....

Last edited by LOSER; 04-04-2007 at 01:48 AM.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 12:06 PM   #26
RedStone
Human being with feelings
 
RedStone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 375
Default

WOOOAAHHHHH!

That DVC really is awesome!
the exciter is a piece of Magic as well ... that ability to make it do subtle things is awesome ... and I'm hitting only 0.2% to 0.3% on the CPU ... WOW!

great stuff!
__________________
click.listen.enjoy
music:www.levityproject.com
musings: http://www.thinktheos.blogspot.com
RedStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 03:34 PM   #27
Billoon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arse end of the earth.
Posts: 2,974
Default

Hey LOSER,

Thank you very, very much. That is brilliant.


EDIT:just noticed that if you double click the bit depth slider in the VST version to reset, it goes to 17.

The VST version does sound better to me though...must be the RNG you mentioned...dither seems "truer"(flater?) in the VST version.

Last edited by Billoon; 02-22-2007 at 04:46 PM.
Billoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 04:31 PM   #28
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billoon View Post
EDIT:just noticed that if you double click the bit depth slider in the VST version to reset, it goes to 17.
Uhmm.. Yes, but double clicking in GUIless VSTs doesn't reset faders but sets the fader to center postion instead (at least in REAPER).

BTW latest version is Now at: http://loser.asseca.com/. Just some minor imporvements and also made dither resolution be multiples of 2 and only range from 4 to 32 (hope this doesn't cause trouble...)

Last edited by LOSER; 07-30-2007 at 03:51 AM.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 04:46 PM   #29
Billoon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arse end of the earth.
Posts: 2,974
Default

Ahh..cool. Ill have a look at the new version.

Not sure if you saw the extra edit so ill post it here and delete it there.....

Seems like there is some gain variation in the JS plug.

If you null a properly dithered file against the original...you should only hear the dither noise. This works for the VST version(and Wavelab) but the JS version has some signal with the dither noise....or have i stuffed up somewhere?
Billoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 04:50 PM   #30
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Drinking metho, in a park near you
Posts: 5,413
Default

Hey LOSER...not sure if you saw my post last night...any chance you could transfer some of your ReaComp presets to DVC? That'd be awesome, much appreciated if you can.

If you already saw my post then disregard, not trying to harass you at all
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 12:00 PM   #31
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 18,077
Default

got some attention over at kvr

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=2397480
__________________
www.jasonbrianmerrill.com
If you look for it hard enough, it will show up. Even if it isn't really there :D
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 12:11 PM   #32
marce
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 413
Default

I have read something about that in the past, but, if someone can explain in simple way why we need Dither, i will be thankfull.
marce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 01:04 PM   #33
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,240
Default

Hi marce,

There is a very good explanation of Dither at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dithering

However, I don't use dither except when reducing 24 to 16 bits for CD burning. I can't speak from experience about any other uses INSIDE the program such as in a channel FX insert. Maybe if rendering a stem or stems down to 16/44.1? I could see that being handy.

D
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 02:17 PM   #34
RedStone
Human being with feelings
 
RedStone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 375
Default

Dither is kind of complicated - but I think of it as a "rule of thum" for converting a 24-bit mix to 16-bits. I only use dither myself for posting mixes to the net for people to analyze. Never use it as the final step of mixing though ... it's really a mastering tool.

in the home studio, dither is good for bouncing mp3s or making CD reference mixes - especially if you have a relatively noise free recording. You will notice distortion on reverb tails etc on clean mixes that haven't been properly dithered to 16-bits from 24-bits.

But *any* noise in a 24-bit mix above -96dB will capture some of the low level ambiance of the 24 bit audio streams when you render the mix. (This is also why good noise reduction is critical in the home studio environment). with good noise reduction, you can lower the noise floor of a track by 20dB very transparently!

anyway, sorry for the thread hijack -
Loser, are any of your dither options similar, or the same as POW-R 3?
__________________
click.listen.enjoy
music:www.levityproject.com
musings: http://www.thinktheos.blogspot.com
RedStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 03:39 PM   #35
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Dither should always be applied when going from float to int (i.e. going from non discret, well almost , to discrete, e.g. when rendering down in REAPER, which is 64bit float, to 16bit int, for CD for instance), to mask the truncation errror with noise, in order to prevent harmonic distortion. It's also recommended to dither when going from some higher integer value to a lower e.g. from 24bit to 16bit int.

Regarding makeing presets, I will as soon I find some time. (Though I hate presets cause they are always just so rough starting points)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedStone View Post
anyway, sorry for the thread hijack -
Loser, are any of your dither options similar, or the same as POW-R 3?
No, the are all flat (or simple high passed when HP enabled, or the noise is shifted up to the 20kHz area when noiseshapiong is enabled). AFAIK does pow-r cut the noise in the 3kHz area (cause human ear is most sensitive there) and shifting as much noise up in the 20kHz area (where the human ear can't hear at all) so considering this, I'd say HP and noiseshping enabled is the best (worse) approximation you can get from my dither...
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 08:41 PM   #36
teej813
Human being with feelings
 
teej813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,717
Default

understood about presets, loser, but consider this...

Newbs can learn from presets by flipping between them and watching how the settings change. So consider them a teaching tool.



tj
__________________
It may be the devil, or it may be the Lord, but you're gonna hafta serve somebody.
__________________
teej813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 08:51 PM   #37
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teej813 View Post
Newbs can learn from presets by flipping between them and watching how the settings change. So consider them a teaching tool.
I don't use presets either, really, but that's a good point.
__________________
IT'S A TROMBONE !!!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 09:27 PM   #38
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 10,093
Default

the DVC is certainly a complicated enough tool to have some static points that wouldnt necessarily change for a type of comp
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 01:07 PM   #39
mr jkn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norrköping, Sweden
Posts: 125
Default

I made three presets for dvc (in cubase) via the "store preset" function. Now I want to share them but can´t find where the presets are stored. They´re not in the loser plugin folder. Anyone?

The presets where approximations of the behaviour of 1176, fairchild and vari-mu. Don´t know if I nailed it but the 1176 preset is kinda funky..
mr jkn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 01:51 PM   #40
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Drinking metho, in a park near you
Posts: 5,413
Default

C:\Documents and Settings\(USER)\Application Data\REAPER

They're saved in the .ini form so not sure how you access them...Pipe would know. Thanks for these btw

*whoops that might only be ReaComp etc

Last edited by Bevosss; 02-25-2007 at 01:54 PM.
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.