Old 12-01-2010, 11:31 AM   #1
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: location, location
Posts: 7,615
Default >> v4: Everything else

Big updates:
The major changes listed below each have their own topic in the prerelease forum.
+ Flexible interface engine (WALTER)
+ Take lane alignment
+ Take comping
+ Project Media/FX Bay
+ Media Explorer preview time selection
+ Media Item Properties dialog changes
+ Mouse modifier customization
+ Item/Envelope/MIDI editing and time selection behavior changes
+ Track input FX chains
+ Multichannel audio monitoring/recording
+ Track stereo width control and automation
+ ReaSurround

Medium updates:
+ FX: combined REAPER presets and VST patches/AU presets in a single dropdown
+ FX: user can save a preset as default, to be automatically set when inserting the FX
+ FX browser: option to display/change default preset without opening the FX
+ Project sample rate snap (enable in the snap settings dialog)
+ SRC: Improved sub-sample accuracy when used with project sample rate snap
+ Negative media item start offset support
Drag the left edge of unlooped media to pad the start of the item with silence
+ Track Manager: basic report-style dialog to manage track visibility and selection
+ Video playback performance improvements and fixes
+ Project time selection is visible in MIDI editor (separate from loop points)
New theme color and blend mode for MIDI editor time selection
+ Edit cursor can now be included in undo state (via option in Prefs/General)
+ Live FX multiprocessing now works more effectively when tracks are in folders
+ Multichannel item improvements: allow choosing any mono/stereo pair from multichannel items
+ Multichannel routing improvements: can send track channels to higher master/parent track channels
+ Most windows have an always-on-top (pin) button on the title bar
+ Support for up to 62/64 MIDI inputs/outputs
+ Floating toolbar can be docked over the main toolbar
+ Separate default settings for crossfade shapes and autocrossfade-on-split length
+ Track and send faders can be linked to MIDI volume/pan
+ Automute safety feature is a global setting (rather than per-project), enabled by default
+ Automute safety feature can be applied to all tracks
+ MIDI editor: options to display time positions as bars.beats.hundredths or bars.beats.MIDI_ticks
+ Media item selection sets can be named/saved/loaded using the screensets dialog
+ Configurable transition time for automatically created envelope edge points
Allows adjusting the ramp time when editing envelope segments
+ Draggable plugin sidechains
Drag track IO button to a plugin window to add destination track channels 3+4 and create a send

Small updates:
+ Splash screen now displays when unloading projects, useful to get status
+ Splash screen runs in separate thread on Windows, allowing more useful status display during loads
+ When loading projects, much of UI is dimmed to reflect its inactive state
+ Media item: fade fill now drawn with more accuracy at edges
+ Media item: options to prevent editing fade-in/fade-out when the media item is small
+ Track recording input: can be set to "no input"
+ Track VU meters: can be disabled, or set to show peaks from all track channels (not just 1+2)
+ Installer (Windows): added "portable install" checkbox and more command line options.
"Portable install" will install REAPER with no icons, registry keys, or uninstaller
User preferences and settings for portable installs are kept separate
+ Basic time and beat grid in Media Explorer
+ Actions to choose take or choose take comp for media item under mouse
+ Actions to fit items to time selection, either looping or padding with silence as needed
+ Actions to change or cycle through fade shapes for fade-ins, fade-outs, and crossfades
+ Action to interactively adjust crossfade time for any touching or overlapping media items
+ Action to toggle "run FX when stopped" (temporarily stop audio processing while adjusting a buggy plugin)
+ REX: action to explode imported REX container into slices
+ MIDI editor: event position and note length can be edited directly in event list view
+ MIDI editor: event list view does not display events that occur outside the visible part of the media item
+ API: added SnapToGrid function
+ API: added CountTCPFXParm, GetTCPFXParm functions (to access FX knobs the user has placed on the TCP)
+ More windows obey "cascade all floating windows" action (Preferences, MIDI filter and others)
+ Tab-to-transient/dynamic split: actions to set and adjust transient detection sensitivity
+ Tab-to-transient/dynamic split: option to always use zero crossings (avoids clicks but less precise)
+ Track IO, ENV buttons open dialogs to the right of the track panel rather than at the button
the second click closes the dialog rather than refocusing it
+ Menu items throughout REAPER will be grayed out when the action is not possible in the current context
+ OSX: support for (usually older) MIDI hardware that sends running status messages
+ Track names: preserve numbers at the end of track names when the track is narrow
+ Mouse click below the last track in the arrange view can optionally clear the media item selection

Changes to default behavior (most can be changed via preferences):
+ Take lanes are aligned by recording pass
+ Shift+alt drag adjusts media item pitch (Preferences/Editing Behavior/Mouse Modifiers)
+ Attaching track envelopes to media items creates envelope edge points (right-click toolbar envelope button)
+ Control+C and control+X are mapped to new actions to cut/copy within time selection if there is one
+ Moving and copying items/envelope points/MIDI notes respects the time selection if there is one
+ Envelope point selection follows time selection
+ In time signatures other than x/4, project grid is interpreted as note length rather than number of beats

Last edited by Justin; 12-01-2010 at 11:37 AM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:42 AM   #2
bennisixx
Mortal
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,064
Default

before I dive In I just wanted to say thank you cockos.
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:49 AM   #3
toggle
Mortal
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 105
Default

Hoo boy--can't wait to take a look. Thanks, JCS!

Tom
__________________
www.tomgavin.net
toggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:50 AM   #4
run, megalodon
Mortal
 
run, megalodon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3,054
Default

Awesome! So can we expect that there will be alot more changes of all sizes or is this the main batch?
run, megalodon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:55 AM   #5
Zephyrus
Mortal
 
Zephyrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nuremberg
Posts: 110
Default

fantastic!!! Hopefully its time to try-out soon
thnx to the cockos team

...and well I asked myself "Where is WALTER?"...

Last edited by Zephyrus; 12-01-2010 at 12:00 PM.
Zephyrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:58 AM   #6
lowellben
Mortal
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,555
Default

Awesome!!! Can't wait to see the MIDI changes, especially That's my thing!
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:14 PM   #7
gwok
Mortal
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,026
Default right click marquee

hey, this might be solved with mouse modifiers, so maybe this is redundant - here's whats up though

i use a pen tablet, and i dont have the pen assigned for right click. What i do is use Control+click to get me right click stuff -

so that's how i get to my marquee tool - control+click - though now i dont seem to be able to do that -

this is prolly a mouse modifier thing, if so, no worries, I'll be patient, just wondering though if that's the case

tx

g
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.6.8
Reaper 4_
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:15 PM   #8
not relevant
Mortal
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
+ Flexible interface engine (WALTER)
+ Mouse modifier customization
These two alone have made my day. Looking forward to no more right mouse button marquee select and the new interface engine looks very cool indeed.
not relevant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:23 PM   #9
musicbynumbers
Mortal
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 9,678
Default Again thanks and question about sws.

Will the SWS extension still work ok?

Or should I say do you "predict" it should work ok?

I guess some things won't
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:28 PM   #10
gwok
Mortal
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,026
Default

so far most of the sws stuff i use is working fine for me
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.6.8
Reaper 4_
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:34 PM   #11
ReaDave
Mortal
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 3,028
Default

Oooooh man... this looks GOOD!!!
__________________
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 01:04 PM   #12
pbk
Mortal
 
pbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sonic Aisle Botch, FL
Posts: 604
Default

Ok, first bug I had: ImageLine Sytrus VSTi kills R4 immediately when attempting to load it.

Cheers.
__________________
It takes an ordered complex system to recognize another ordered complex system.
pbk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 01:06 PM   #13
WyattRice
Mortal
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,379
Default

Nice stuff guys. Wow!
Checking it out now.

Thanks
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 01:31 PM   #14
pac-man
Mortal
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: a basement nearby
Posts: 536
Default

GREAT!
pac-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 01:35 PM   #15
Eyes
Mortal
 
Eyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,011
Default

Great update, looks promising. Thanks Cockos.
Eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 01:43 PM   #16
captain caveman
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
+ Negative media item start offset support
Drag the left edge of unlooped media to pad the start of the item with silence
Nice one, now that this functionality is there could you make the "Preserve PDC delayed monitoring in recorded items" function extend the items left to where record was pressed to avoid having to using grid relative snap?

Quote:
+ Floating toolbar can be docked over the main toolbar
What about an option to dock at the top of the docker or above the transport/play rate section too? I have a long, thin one (oo-er) so this would be a lot better for me at least.
captain caveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 01:56 PM   #17
mabian
Mortal
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,245
Default

A little bug: enable floating bar dock above main toolbar.

Then try dragging floating bar (EDIT: drag up the region on the right of toolbar tabs): main toolbar is back and floating toolbar disappears.

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel Q9550 @2.8GHz + 4GB RAM + RME Fireface UC + 1TB HD + Win7x64 SP1
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 01:57 PM   #18
ReaDave
Mortal
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 3,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
+ Most windows have an always-on-top (pin) button on the title bar
This is very cool. Is it possible to add a preference to have plugin windows pinned by default so they always remain on top of the undocked mixer window?
__________________
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:14 PM   #19
lowellben
Mortal
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,555
Default

+ Most windows have an always-on-top (pin) button on the title bar

---

Awesome

Quick question, please.

So it's on a plug by plug/window basis? I need to hit the tack for each plug or window, as I open an instance? I thought maybe it'd be easier (for coding) to put a button on the views you want on the bottom of all windows - like a "background lock" (mixer and/or TCP main window); and then globally keep all windows (plugs or otherwise, media browsers, windows, etc) on top of the TCP Main/Mixer (or whatever view has a tack on it). Instead of having to click every window as you go, on top.

Just trying to help!

Does the tack appear on FX plugs only, or all windows including browsers, performance, etc - all floating?

One last thing:
Is that globally set, once you click it, or is it by-project only?
Like does Reaper remember these settings, each plug/window, or does it only apply to the project open?
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.

Last edited by lowellben; 12-01-2010 at 02:25 PM.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:26 PM   #20
mabian
Mortal
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowellben View Post
Does the tack appear on FX plugs only, or all windows including browsers, performance, etc - all floating?
All windows, or almost.

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel Q9550 @2.8GHz + 4GB RAM + RME Fireface UC + 1TB HD + Win7x64 SP1
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:30 PM   #21
lowellben
Mortal
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,555
Default

Awesome!! Reaper is freakin' sweet!
Sweeter than ever!

Ben
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:42 PM   #22
fandango
Mortal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 212
Default

CC editing... ignored.

Stepping out for good now. You can't be all things to all people, and I'm glad v4-pre has taken off well, wish it all the best.
fandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:43 PM   #23
lowellben
Mortal
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,555
Default

I am certainly excited for MIDI improvements and updates too, but I'm sure CC's are in the mix somewhere. I have faith in the team @ Cockos.

It's still Pre, so I'm patient.

Ben
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.

Last edited by lowellben; 12-01-2010 at 02:50 PM.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:14 PM   #24
EvilDragon
Mortal
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 13,952
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fandango View Post
CC editing... ignored.

Stepping out for good now. You can't be all things to all people, and I'm glad v4-pre has taken off well, wish it all the best.

Also saddened by this, however there are TONS OF OTHER GOODIES!


I have a firm belief that CC editing will be much improved (and getting rid of those blocks!!) before official R4 release!


Congrats Cockos!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:29 PM   #25
bluzkat
Mortal
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fandango View Post
CC editing... ignored.

Stepping out for good now. You can't be all things to all people, and I'm glad v4-pre has taken off well, wish it all the best.
The feature set will change several times before this is all over. This alpha release is not the final word, its just the starting point. Maybe it will show up down the road... just sayin'!


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:48 PM   #26
pc999
Mortal
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 349
Default

It could be better IMO...


I think it would be much better if they invested in (no particular order):

-Matrix/patterns
-Notation
-Midi improvements
-Linux port
-extended mastering/burning features (eg redbook)
-Some of the elevated FR like automation items

Maybe there is still something coming


Anyway my favorites, for now, are:

-ReaSurround (even if, at least for now (I hope) I do not have a Surround system)
-Media Explorer time selection
-Walter isnt bad too
________
perfect tits Cam

Last edited by pc999; 08-22-2011 at 04:56 PM.
pc999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 04:27 PM   #27
semiquaver
Mortal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,468
Default

YAY Tab to Transient default behavior *much more betterer*
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 04:45 PM   #28
captain caveman
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
+ Track Manager: basic report-style dialog to manage track visibility and selection
Again, this is a nice feature. I prefer the way SWS Tracklist instantly switches tracks when you click on one. Perhaps the Set Track Selection from "List" button could be a toggle to allow this? Also having the TCP scroll to the track when a selected track is out of view would be sweet.

edit: Oh, and when the mouse is hovered over the FX (either track or input), I think that the FX pop-up that happens on the TCP/MCP should happen to show what FX are there.
captain caveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 04:50 PM   #29
BenK-msx
Mortal
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 2,566
Default

FR related to TRACK MANAGER:

the PDC column (revealed when you extend window to right)

is handy to show which tracks have pdc plugs on and by how much.

double clicking this currently bypasses the FX chain on that track.

I suggest it should (or optionally) bypass ONLY the plugins causing PDC, i.e non PDC plugs should remain active.

this would fix alot of folks probs with recording onto a project late on in the process when they have a number of pdc plugs running all over the place.
an action to do this as has been requested in past would be awesome (bypass all PDC creating FX)

- but this might be easier and more implementable (<< is that a word?)
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 04:52 PM   #30
WyattRice
Mortal
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,379
Default Snapping?

+ API: added SnapToGrid function

Does anyone know if this request will be possible with this new API function? This is the one thing that I was hoping for in version 4. Could someone write a plugin?

Thanks, Wyatt
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:28 PM   #31
pixeltarian
Mortal
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,134
Default

anyone feel like posting some licecaps for the big features? I'm playing with takes hoping to see what's new, but it just seems like it has always been...
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:36 PM   #32
musicbynumbers
Mortal
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 9,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain caveman View Post
Nice one, now that this functionality is there could you make the "Preserve PDC delayed monitoring in recorded items" function extend the items left to where record was pressed to avoid having to using grid relative snap?

great idea indeed!!!!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:38 PM   #33
musicbynumbers
Mortal
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 9,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain caveman View Post
Again, this is a nice feature. I prefer the way SWS Tracklist instantly switches tracks when you click on one. Perhaps the Set Track Selection from "List" button could be a toggle to allow this? Also having the TCP scroll to the track when a selected track is out of view would be sweet.

edit: Oh, and when the mouse is hovered over the FX (either track or input), I think that the FX pop-up that happens on the TCP/MCP should happen to show what FX are there.
I agree and also right clicking should give the same options as the tcp version too.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:55 PM   #34
beatbybit
Mortal
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,049
Default

http://screencast.com/t/wxNylpIhFl - please, how to snap this to media start?

or how to toggle/disable this function?
__________________
panda in the desert
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:58 PM   #35
Mercado_Negro
Mortal
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 7,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatbybit View Post
http://screencast.com/t/wxNylpIhFl - please, how to snap this to media start?

or how to toggle/disable this function?
It looks like the snap is broken now bbb

(THANKS for that message about v4 man! )
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:39 PM   #36
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: location, location
Posts: 7,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatbybit View Post
http://screencast.com/t/wxNylpIhFl - please, how to snap this to media start?
I don't think slip edits (moving the item contents but not the edges) has ever snapped to the media item start, has it? I agree it should, but I don't think what you are seeing is new behavior.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:10 PM   #37
beatbybit
Mortal
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I don't think slip edits (moving the item contents but not the edges) has ever snapped to the media item start, has it? I agree it should, but I don't think what you are seeing is new behavior.
i couldnt have pre-silence in v3 by slip content to right? it was locked/limited to media start

this is v3: http://screencast.com/t/fN00gjNuB

Merc:
__________________
panda in the desert
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:16 PM   #38
beatbybit
Mortal
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,049
Default

is this OK?



44.1k media in a 44.1k session, snap to samplerate is on

it was a simple split only, i didnt move item content or such


Markers seems to be a bit off positioned too?
__________________
panda in the desert
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 02:07 AM   #39
J Reverb
Mortal
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Track and send faders can be linked to MIDI volume/pan.. amazing !!

Not sure if i should post a feature request here just yet but..
How about an option to limit the range of a fader per track.
A bit like putting a piece of tape on an old console fader to stop it going above a certain volume.
Be useful for live automation ?

for example right click on the tracks fader and lock the maximum value it's allowed to go to. So in this case it would be capped at +3.26 db

crude mock up



just thought that 'Track and send faders can be linked to MIDI volume/pan'
would be great combined with something like this.

J.
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 02:30 AM   #40
EvilDragon
Mortal
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 13,952
Default

I'd like it so that the display of the fader value actually CHANGES from dB to 0-127 range when linking to MIDI volume. It only makes sense.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.