Old 04-20-2011, 12:43 PM   #1
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default Remix_OS - new Linux distro for REAPER

Remix_OS (Realtime Environment for Multimedia freenIX Operating System) is a free Linux distribution based on Debian, Ubuntu and Puredyne, specialised for real-time audio.

Remix_OS comes with liquorix patched kernel 2.6.38-2 for hyper-lowlatency audio and includes fully-functional trial version of the REAPER DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) that runs with WineASIO driver.

With Remix_OS you don't need a professional audio card to get low latency.

Remix_OS is very fast, light and stable and can run live from a DVD or a USB stick or can be installed onto internal or external HDD or a USB flash drive.

Remix_OS also includes all media codecs needed for a good multimedia experience and a selection of the best applications designed to meet most of your daily needs:

* Audio, video and image editors
* Office suite
* Network applications
* Sun Java
* Easy-to-use backup software

Official website: http://www.remix-os.org

Forum: http://remix-os.forums.gs/

PS: I have to report, that Remix_OS website doesn't exist anymore.

But you still can download Remix_OS iso and torrents using following links:

remix_os-12.02-i386.iso

remix_os-12.02-i386.iso.torrent

remix_os-12.03-amd64.iso

remix_os-12.03-amd64.iso.torrent

Last edited by Remixer; 05-31-2013 at 11:21 AM.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 12:49 PM   #2
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default And it needs beta testing

You will be very appreciated if you test this beta release and post your comments here.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 01:40 PM   #3
Smurf
Human being with feelings
 
Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,166
Default

OK, I have a 4.5 hour download time...lets see if it's worth it!
__________________
Yep's First 3 Years in PDF's
HOW WIDE a difference is there between how you treat others when they make a mistake and how you would like them to treat you when you err?
Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 05:33 PM   #4
TimOBrien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,301
Default

Interesting. I had just downloaded Puredyne after another board told how to load it onto a usb stick.

Please let us know how it works for you.
__________________
iMac i5quad/12gbRAM/1Tb Glyph drive/1Tb samples drive > Motu828mkII ---- Still run my GatewayM520 2.8ghz XP laptop. Video editing, 3D work and audio with zero problems.
TimOBrien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:33 PM   #5
Kenny
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Central PA
Posts: 598
Default

Getting pretty close to my dream of a Reaper OS! Can't wait to try it out!
Kenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 08:46 PM   #6
Sleep opposed
Human being with feelings
 
Sleep opposed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 306
Default

Whats involved in running this for someone who knows almost nothing about linux? Very interested in trying this out...
Sleep opposed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 11:59 AM   #7
TimOBrien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,301
Default

Sleep,

Go here and it'll tell you how to use a utility to put a linux package onto a usb stick or sd card:

http://audiominds.com/forums/index.php?topic=15777.0

(this is what piqued my interest last week but I have had time to go out and get an 8gb stick yet..)
__________________
iMac i5quad/12gbRAM/1Tb Glyph drive/1Tb samples drive > Motu828mkII ---- Still run my GatewayM520 2.8ghz XP laptop. Video editing, 3D work and audio with zero problems.
TimOBrien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:43 AM   #8
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimOBrien View Post
Sleep,

Go here and it'll tell you how to use a utility to put a linux package onto a usb stick or sd card:
This method doesn"t work with Remix_OS for a moment. But it's easy to install it on a USB stick the same way like on a HDD.
Following the installer, when you get to "Allocate drive space" screen, selest "Erase and use the entire disk" and press "Forward". Then select your USB flash drive from the "Select drive" pop-up menu and press "advanced partitioning tool" link below. On the next screen make sure that your USB stick drive is highlighted, then select your USB flash drive from the "Boot loader" ("Device for the boot loader installation:") pop-up menu and click on the "Install Now" button.
-
By the way, this method may not work for Puredyne as well with some USB sticks. In that case you can do it in another way:
1) Format your USB stick in a one FAT32 partition and make it bootable.
2) Use UNetbootin to install Puredyne on it.
3) Reboot and start your computer from a live CD again.
4) Run Gparted and resize the USB stick so that the first partition has the minimal size for installed system. Then format the remaining space into ext2 and label it "live-rw".

Last edited by Remixer; 04-23-2011 at 01:11 AM.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 01:05 AM   #9
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Added: a torrent file and the Remix_OS manual.

Last edited by Remixer; 04-30-2011 at 03:07 AM.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 03:08 AM   #10
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Added: Direct link for downloading.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 11:24 PM   #11
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

I just gave up the urge...damn it man ....thank you..dl soon
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:22 AM   #12
dazastah
Human being with feelings
 
dazastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 70
Default Coooll

Hey Remixer,
Lately i've been dabbling into linux... And have switched all computers(except working daws) over to linux and for fun and was suprised to get reaper working inside linux with wine.....IT took alot of messing around(especially since i;ve never used linux before) and i didn't really make any music... I'll def give this a go and let you know what i think!! Great work!!!!
dazastah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:45 AM   #13
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazastah View Post
I'll def give this a go and let you know what i think!! Great work!!!!
Thank you!
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:53 AM   #14
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Remix_OS official website is launched: http://www.remix-os.org
There you can find additional information, some useful links, read online help and donate Remix_OS development.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 03:53 AM   #15
Boray
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,347
Default

Will you get a lower or higher latency compared to Windows?
__________________
www.boray.se
Boray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:24 AM   #16
keyman_sam
Human being with feelings
 
keyman_sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,550
Default

I have a few questions before I spend any time on this:
1). Can you run ANY VST plugins? If so, what plugs are there that run in Linux?
2). Can I use my external 1.5 TB harddrive without any trouble?

Much appreciated!
__________________
The must-have sample library for shortcircuit :
Essentials Volume 1
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...3313#note14891
keyman_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:22 AM   #17
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boray View Post
Will you get a lower or higher latency compared to Windows?
In Remix_OS you can get very small latencies and use any sample rate on any type of audio cards, even on build-on ones (sounds fantastically?!). You can see it on a second screenshot that was made on a laptop with build-on Realtek card, that doesn't support 48 kHz sample rate. However if you set up extremely low buffer size and high sample rate on a cheap card you can get pops and clicks in the sound and also have less dynamic range. Anyway you can open any project. Feel free to experiment.

Last edited by Remixer; 05-01-2011 at 08:25 PM.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:39 AM   #18
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keyman_sam View Post
I have a few questions before I spend any time on this:
1). Can you run ANY VST plugins? If so, what plugs are there that run in Linux?
2). Can I use my external 1.5 TB harddrive without any trouble?

Much appreciated!
1) Not any one. At first you can't run cracked plugins that use dongle key protection emulation.
Most of the plugins should work good, but some of them could have problems with graphical interface. In REAPER you can bypass the problem, using it's own GUI: click on the UI button at the upper right corner of the plugin's window.
And you can't use Linux plugins with REAPER.
2) Yes.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:28 AM   #19
dazastah
Human being with feelings
 
dazastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 70
Default

ok so..
First thing, running as live cd At log in i cant get in with user lintian
pw live

i get

authentication failure
...
I'm excited Please hurry...

Last edited by dazastah; 05-01-2011 at 08:36 AM.
dazastah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:43 AM   #20
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazastah View Post
ok so..
First thing, running as live cd At log in i cant get in with user lintian
pw live

i get

authentication failure
...
I'm excited Please hurry...
Sorry for mistake. There is no password for LiveDVD - leave the blank empty.
By the way, LiveDVD should log in automatically without a prompting.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:47 AM   #21
dazastah
Human being with feelings
 
dazastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 70
Default

giving it another try... Let you know shortly...
dazastah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:49 AM   #22
dazastah
Human being with feelings
 
dazastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 70
Default

Strange...
Started up perfect this time...
dazastah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 10:04 AM   #23
Smurf
Human being with feelings
 
Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,166
Default

I give, I keep timing out on the download....

I look forward to reading the reports!
__________________
Yep's First 3 Years in PDF's
HOW WIDE a difference is there between how you treat others when they make a mistake and how you would like them to treat you when you err?
Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 11:09 AM   #24
Peevy
Human being with feelings
 
Peevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 441
Default

Hi Remixer

Will there be a 64-bit version of Remix OS?
I'd like to be able to use all of my 8GB Ram.
Peevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:10 PM   #25
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

ok this is working very well.
I overwrote my mint partition and this thing is so much better
couple things

1-Installed different version of reaper, wont recognize winasio I guess because it wont find asio drivers. preinstalled reaper works fine

2-no dual monitor support for my nvidia card, (I can work this out, I thought I'd tell you though)

overall I am very impressed. Nice work
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:23 PM   #26
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peevy View Post
Hi Remixer

Will there be a 64-bit version of Remix OS?
I'd like to be able to use all of my 8GB Ram.
Maybe later. Wine doesn't run 64-bit software, so I am not sure, that 32-bit REAPER's version will recognize more than 4 Gb. It needs testing. I have only 1 Gb on my laptop, so i can't for a moment. If somebody test it, I can make a 64-bit version of Remix_OS.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:34 PM   #27
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennisixx View Post
ok this is working very well.
I overwrote my mint partition and this thing is so much better
couple things

1-Installed different version of reaper, wont recognize winasio I guess because it wont find asio drivers. preinstalled reaper works fine

2-no dual monitor support for my nvidia card, (I can work this out, I thought I'd tell you though)

overall I am very impressed. Nice work
Thanks!
I can not test Multiple Screen function. Maybe it will work, if you install proprietary driver. It's recommended - free nvidia driver heats a chip.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:11 PM   #28
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

ok so how do you install reaper (not the included version)

I run the .exe installer(odd because all distros usually alert me of executable bit blah)and it installs,but audio device settings do not show asio drivers.....

then I run the preinstalled version and all works OK.
what is the problem here?
Does it have to do with linreaper?
this distro has everything I need, I hope I can get this to work.

Thanks again
B
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:43 PM   #29
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennisixx View Post
ok so how do you install reaper (not the included version)

I run the .exe installer(odd because all distros usually alert me of executable bit blah)and it installs,but audio device settings do not show asio drivers.....

then I run the preinstalled version and all works OK.
what is the problem here?
Does it have to do with linreaper?
this distro has everything I need, I hope I can get this to work.

Thanks again
B
Why do you want to install REAPER if it's already installed?
If you want to upgrade it, go to LinReaper option -> install VST pligins, locate .exe file and click Execute.
And please, don't miss the manual - there is a lot of helpfull info )

Last edited by Remixer; 05-01-2011 at 09:51 PM.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:51 PM   #30
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remixer View Post
Why do you want to install REAPER if it's already installed?
If you want to upgrade it, go to LinReaper option -> install VST pligins, locate .exe file and click Exucute.
And please, don't miss the manual - there is instruction about it as well )
thanks for that. Ill give it ago tomorrow.
I just want to be fully flexible with my os.
If I delete reaper(not that I would) I would hope to put it back on.
Just giving you feedback.

Amazing work again.
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 10:54 PM   #31
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennisixx View Post
thanks for that. Ill give it ago tomorrow.
I just want to be fully flexible with my os.
If I delete reaper(not that I would) I would hope to put it back on.
Just giving you feedback.

Amazing work again.
Thank you.
Reaper is installed under root with a LinReaper script. To do the same you have to create root, and then run (from root) a LinReaper version that has an option to install Reaper to the same location.

Last edited by Remixer; 05-01-2011 at 11:07 PM.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 05:20 PM   #32
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

yep that worked thanks

this is pretty cool man. some quirks, like when I finaly found where the linreaper wine local drive was, Its root so its hard to drag projects into it, but I am working on that.

This may kill xp for me. Lets see.
***edit***
3 os freezes. doing different things. mouse cursor still movable but no response from system.
Tried jack on fire-wire card. Not starting jack
switched back to emu(that was working) now it wont start.
Honestly I hate jack.

need to have direct access to the isolated wine "c drive"

you have done a great job and I know this is just beta.

Also is there a gnome build? If not then how about more system settings for xfce.

Last edited by bennisixx; 05-02-2011 at 06:34 PM.
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 06:20 PM   #33
dazastah
Human being with feelings
 
dazastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 70
Default

Very cool...
Im messing around with setting up a maschine/mpc style sample chopping version of reaper using shortcuts and scripts with out using other 3rd/party software. REaper is the fastest at chopping up samples so far once you setup it up.. havent really tested out the latency thing but i'm running at 128 samples with a latency of 5.8ms reading from reaper. I'm running ni ak1 soundcard.. Basically only doing simple stuff so far.. Like trggering from a controller.. But it's working very solid..

This is exciting yeah!!!!
dazastah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 09:40 PM   #34
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennisixx View Post
yep that worked thanks

this is pretty cool man. some quirks, like when I finaly found where the linreaper wine local drive was, Its root so its hard to drag projects into it, but I am working on that.
I see no reason to move projects to the reaper's folder. From Reaper you can open a project at any partition. To be safely and sure your filesystem is working at the full speed you can move your project folder to your /home/<user> folder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennisixx View Post
This may kill xp for me. Lets see.
***edit***
3 os freezes. doing different things. mouse cursor still movable but no response from system.
Could you describe the problem clearly? And tell what video card you have?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennisixx View Post
Tried jack on fire-wire card. Not starting jack switched back to emu(that was working) now it wont start.
Honestly I hate jack.
There's no garantee that firewire diveces will work with linux. It's a linux kernel problem, not jack. Maybe there is a linux driver for your card - try to find it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennisixx View Post
Also is there a gnome build? If not then how about more system settings for xfce.
The Remix_OS goal is to have a fast, light and stable OS, so you can work with a big reaper's project even form USB stick on a laptop with 1Gb memory. Gnome doesn't look like. It's to heavy and takes more memory. I used Gnome for few years and can not say that I was satisfied.
XFCE setting are in /home/<user>/.config/xfce4 folder. You can change them manually. But there is not so much to do. You can also use another desktop theme. There is a lot of them in internet. But if you change settings or use another theme, don't be surprised you have GUI bugs in wine or in any Gnome programs. I've been testing Remix_OS theme for few months with all software included. It still has bug with Openshot, but will be fixed in the next release.

Last edited by Remixer; 05-03-2011 at 08:21 AM.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:00 PM   #35
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazastah View Post
This is exciting yeah!!!!
Thanks!
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:11 PM   #36
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

the freeze has not happened again. it was totally random, and I was messing with jack at the time.
I have a nvidia gforce 5200 pci video card. you know I reinstalled remix os and did not use nvidia drivers and no freeze...weird

I know all about firewire and linux. It sucks.

good point about moving projects. Its weird ocd thing on my part

and yeah forget the gnome thing now that I think about it, your right.

If all works out right, I beleive Ill only need my xp partition for dreamweaver.

I see you have put lots of work into this and I am gratefull. please take my comments as positive and constructive.

Thank you again.
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:24 PM   #37
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

For nVidia cards it could be better to install proprietary driver (System->Hardware Drivers). The latest may not be the best for wine. You may need to spend some time to test all of them.

There are some good HTML editors for Linux to replace Dreamweaver. You can also try to install Dreamweaver in wine.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 06:27 AM   #38
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remixer View Post
For nVidia cards it could be better to install proprietary driver (System->Hardware Drivers). The latest may not be the best for wine. You may need to spend some time to test all of them.

There are some good HTML editors for Linux to replace Dreamweaver. You can also try to install Dreamweaver in wine.
again... thanks for your amazing work here.
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 08:17 AM   #39
Remixer
Human being with feelings
 
Remixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennisixx View Post
again... thanks for your amazing work here.
You are welcomed! All feedbacks are very helpfull for me.
Remixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:06 PM   #40
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

installing nvidia driver killed X on my system. be careful. No ui. no documentation to pull it back to life.

I love this os so much, I'm going to reinstall it. But just a heads up to the developer.

I hope this comes to full non beta version.
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.