PDA

View Full Version : An impressive (free) external MIDI editor for REAPER


alex zonder
07-02-2007, 02:30 PM
I think you gotta see this for yourself... The program in question is QuickScore Elite Level II 12.0, loaded with too many MIDI and staff features to mention here. Read about it here:

http://www.sionsoft.com/qse2lit.html

The program is 180 bucks... BUT. On this page:

http://www.sionsoft.com/demos.html

they offer the 'MIDI' editions as free downloads. And I quote:

"The MIDI Editions of QuickScore Elite and QuckScore Elite Level II are identical to the production versions of the programs with the following exceptions:

You can save type 0 MIDI files.
You can print once per session.
You can export TIFF, BMP or EMF files once per session."

Print & export are about the scores. The restriction of only being able to save type 0 MIDI files is NO restriction if you use it to edit single channel MIDI tracks...

But even if you'd use this program to compose a multi-channel MIDI song, you could save it as a type 0 (= all channels on a single track) and use a free little utility to convert that to type 1 (or 2):
http://www.borg.com/~jglatt/progs/software.htm (MIDI file converter).

It worked for me as an external MIDI editor in REAPER, but only if I open a copy of the MIDI item in the external editor.

But then.... what possibilities! :)

http://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/26/26627_QuickScoreElite.png

MikeLacey
07-06-2007, 02:44 PM
that looks very neat - how are you getting on with it? anyone else tried it?

Diogenes
07-06-2007, 03:19 PM
I missed this one... thanks Alex! Downloading now...

D

Rann
07-06-2007, 04:32 PM
Alex,
Thanks for posting the info, the program looks awesome. But one question remains (at least for me) - How do you enable the option to open a midi file in a secondary editor? I have filled in the blanks in the external editor section of the preferences, but the option of opening a secondary editor for midi files is grayed out. I scoured the preferences for any clue but found none. I'm confused.

thanks,
r

alex zonder
07-08-2007, 08:54 AM
Alex,
Thanks for posting the info, the program looks awesome. But one question remains (at least for me) - How do you enable the option to open a midi file in a secondary editor? I have filled in the blanks in the external editor section of the preferences, but the option of opening a secondary editor for midi files is grayed out. I scoured the preferences for any clue but found none. I'm confused.

thanks,
r

The option to open a MIDI sequence on track in a secondary editor will be greyed out if that sequence is a 'MIDI event in project' and not an actual MIDI file. If you want to use a secondary MIDI editor regularly, change the MEDIA options for MIDI:

http://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/27793/MIDI%20file%20settings.png

Now in the Preferences/External Editors window, add a secondary editor for the .mid extension, and locate on your computer the qsedemo.exe file for the above program, or any other editor of your choice that will quickly and directly open MIDI files (programs that 'import MIDI' won't do)

jonyjazy
07-08-2007, 09:42 AM
Not working!...
I use sibelius and stlyle En. and when I drop down in a midi item, the option to edit in a seperate editor is there but not selectable. Help here please....

alex zonder
07-08-2007, 01:03 PM
Not working!...
I use sibelius and stlyle En. and when I drop down in a midi item, the option to edit in a seperate editor is there but not selectable. Help here please....'

Is it still greyed out?

And what do you mean with 'drop down in a midi item'? Select the item, right-click and select "Open item with ..." or "Open item copy with..".

jonyjazy
07-08-2007, 01:16 PM
sorry, drop down meant that, right click and drop down menu:)
and itīs greyed out!
Open ou open as a copy as well...

alex zonder
07-08-2007, 01:24 PM
sorry, drop down meant that, right click and drop down menu:)
and itīs greyed out!
Open ou open as a copy as well...

And you DID change the MEDIA settings for MIDI as indicated on the pic above?

& created a link to the secondary editor of your choice in the EXTERNAL EDITOR settings for mid extensions?

Try it out first with an existing midi file, inserted on a REAPER track.

earlabs
07-08-2007, 02:11 PM
Why is it that Reaper prefers midi events over .mid files?
And, yes, I too am unable to open the app as external midi editor.

Rann
07-08-2007, 04:47 PM
Alex.
I appreciate the trouble you went to to answer my question, but for some reason the secondary midi editor is still greyed out.

I triple checked all the settings you had designated, and imported a midi file from another project but no change.

However, I did manage to get the app to run (along with a few others) with reaper using loopback cables. So all is not lost. :)

(the loopback device is at http://www.nerds.de/en/loopbe1.html in case anyone else is interested)


Thanks again!

r

alex zonder
07-08-2007, 05:47 PM
No Rann (and the others), we can't leave it there:) Certainly not because I initially had exactly the same problems...
see: http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9260&highlight=masterworks

And it was pbognar who came up with the solution here:
http://www.cockos.com/forum/showpost.php?p=79421&postcount=110

That worked for me. Now did I forget here some of his instructions? He advices to have the external editor as the primary MIDI editor; you might wanna try that, but here it works just as fine as the secondary one.

Anyway, you may find the crucial trick yourself pbognar's posting; I fail to see the missing link right now.


pbognar posted his solution in this thread on staff/notation view:
http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4116&highlight=masterworks

Rann
07-08-2007, 05:56 PM
Alex,
Thanks for posting the links, I'll study them and if I figure it out I'll let you guys know. :)

peace,
r

Rann
07-08-2007, 06:16 PM
I read the directions and discovered what I was doing wrong was trying to edit a multiple track midi file. I loaded another midi file and when reaper asked if I wanted to open all the tracks in separate files I said "no" and "BAM" - it worked. :) The greyed out options aren't there and I'm happy. Thanks Alex. :)

r

earlabs
07-08-2007, 10:34 PM
OKay, that did it! Thanks, Alex. It's working quite well now.

richlum
07-09-2007, 01:36 AM
Hey cool!!
Thanks for this Alex.

I can get midi files to open in QuickScore from REAPER, but can't seem to get them to play...

If I open QuickScore by itself and load up a midi file (even one from a REAPER project) it will play OK.

If I open the same midi file from within REAPER, it opens ok in QiuckScore, but when I press play, it doesn't move and no sound...

can't work out why....

Looks like a really good program though for editing in score rather than piano roll...

Rich

jonyjazy
07-09-2007, 03:58 AM
Solved!

Thereīs one important thing: the extention you put when defining
a midi editor:

*.mid ->wonīt work
.mid ->wonīt work
mid ->WONīT WORK
MID ->WORKS!!

hope it helps

richlum
07-09-2007, 04:07 AM
Can you get the midi file to play in QuickScore if you launch it from REAPER?

Alex Stone
07-15-2007, 01:06 PM
Just as a follow up to this, the procedure works with my trusty old copy of Logic in XP. Logic has an export to Midi function, and the media file insert in Reaper works well.
I think the export to mid may be a desirable function in any external notation editor.
I too had to do this one midi file at a time.

Pros?
You get to keep the midi file in case you a) have a corrupt song or something goes wrong in reaper, or b) you get to insert that midi file in other songs or projects.

Cons? Once logic is booted up, everything works pretty quickly, but it's still one midi file at a time, at this stage. That's not so bad, but i wonder how much faster it would actually be with practise.

I'm off to try this with Sibelius, and i'll post the results.
Thanks to those who found a way........

Alex.

Magpel
08-09-2007, 07:11 PM
Well, I like the editor, but I can;t seem to get changes made in the external editor to save back to the Reaper MIDI track, as it would with, say a .wav file and Sound Forge as primary editor. Am I missing something here?

simpsongb
08-27-2007, 11:15 AM
Very strange.

This has been working, but I don't do MIDI editing very often. Now, when I double-click on s MIDI item, it opens the default (built-in) MIDI editor. If I right-click, it shows qsedemo.exe as the Primary Editor, for all files MID. If I choose it, the default MIDI editor still loads.

So, did a recent update change tis ????

How can I set the MIDI editor? In the past it was finicky...the extension HAD TOBE .....MID..all uppercase, no leading period....

Any insight would be appreciated.

TimOBrien
08-27-2007, 03:40 PM
OK this one has me stumped, too.

Did as instructed above (MID and external editors set) on v1.888, trying to connect to Harmony Assistant.

I have the options in properties to edit with internal editor (which works) and opening either file or copy with external editor Harmony (the internal editor pops up but nothing is passed to Harmony...)

Would REALLY like to get this working...

Tallisman
08-27-2007, 03:48 PM
how do you have Reaper set to handle the midi elements of your projects? the recommended way or as .mid files?

I believe it need to use the .mid file method.

cheers,
T

simpsongb
08-27-2007, 04:34 PM
Hey Tall!!

The thread earlier discussed this in pretty good detail. It turned out that the only way to configure Reaper to actually use another MIDI editor...was to set the file type in the settings to MID...all uppercase..no leading period....

Once I got that, it was working. That was maybe 3 weeks ago ...maybe longer. I am not much of a MIDI guy.

Now when I try to use QSE, all that will launch is the default MIDI editor.

I have the Media settings to handle them as .mid files, as recommended.

I was wondering if anyone else perhaps was using an alternative MIDI editor and saw a similar issue...???

Thanks

Tallisman
08-27-2007, 04:48 PM
heheh is see that detail...
when i posted, the images had not loaded up... i hit the view first unread...
alas, I don't use the external midi editor, so I am afraid I can't be of much help.

-t

rsmus7
08-28-2007, 02:21 AM
I tried the instruction on setting up the exdternal midi editor,
but have the same result,
reaper opens in the internal editor.

the only work around is to save the midi file and open then in the external editor. :(

alex zonder
08-28-2007, 06:12 AM
true -

so something must have been broken in a recent update; opening a midi file or item in an(y) external midi editor no longer functions properly. It's a bug in 1.888.

guby67
12-27-2012, 04:53 PM
Alex!
This two tips: This QS program and the tweak in preferences "open new midi item as mid file"... Soooo many time searching for... And with an audible metronome to edit the score! And the program export the midi file directly to the original folder in Reaper and replace it: you see the changes inmediately. Nooo... This is too much!
Thank you very much!

I think you gotta see this for yourself... The program in question is QuickScore Elite Level II 12.0, loaded with too many MIDI and staff features to mention here. Read about it here:

http://www.sionsoft.com/qse2lit.html

The program is 180 bucks... BUT. On this page:

http://www.sionsoft.com/demos.html

they offer the 'MIDI' editions as free downloads. And I quote:

"The MIDI Editions of QuickScore Elite and QuckScore Elite Level II are identical to the production versions of the programs with the following exceptions:

You can save type 0 MIDI files.
You can print once per session.
You can export TIFF, BMP or EMF files once per session."

Print & export are about the scores. The restriction of only being able to save type 0 MIDI files is NO restriction if you use it to edit single channel MIDI tracks...

But even if you'd use this program to compose a multi-channel MIDI song, you could save it as a type 0 (= all channels on a single track) and use a free little utility to convert that to type 1 (or 2):
http://www.borg.com/~jglatt/progs/software.htm (MIDI file converter).

It worked for me as an external MIDI editor in REAPER, but only if I open a copy of the MIDI item in the external editor.

But then.... what possibilities! :)

http://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/26/26627_QuickScoreElite.png