PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question: syncing drum loop to previously recorded track

Scooter
08-08-2007, 05:45 AM
I've been lurking here for a while but I'm a relative newbie to DAW recording. I have what I think may be a pretty basic question - I've done some searching of this forum but I haven't happened upon a simple straightforward answer.

I'm a guitar player, so I often start a song idea by noodling on my guitar. Is there a way in Reaper for me to record a guitar track and then load a drum loop and have it sync to the tempo of my original performance (which may not be locked to an exact, consistent tempo)?

I'd appreciate any advice, or direction to a thread, resource, or section of the user's guide that would explain this.

Thanks!

IXix
08-08-2007, 06:54 AM
Select a bar of your playing, hit Alt+Shift+C. Repeat until end of song. There's a few ancient post about doing this stuff but I couldn't find them.

Scooter
08-08-2007, 04:55 PM
Nobody likes a newbie. ;>)

I've been lurking here for a while but I'm a relative newbie to DAW recording. I have what I think may be a pretty basic question - I've done some searching of this forum but I haven't happened upon a simple straightforward answer.

I'm a guitar player, so I often start a song idea by noodling on my guitar. Is there a way in Reaper for me to record a guitar track and then load a drum loop and have it sync to the tempo of my original performance (which may not be locked to an exact, consistent tempo)?

I'd appreciate any advice, or direction to a thread, resource, or section of the user's guide that would explain this.

Thanks!

Scooter
08-08-2007, 05:46 PM
Oops! Can a moderator please move this post to the "Newbieland" forum? Didn't even notice it was there...

pipelineaudio
08-08-2007, 05:56 PM
going now

Might want to try and figure out a basic tempo and edit your guitar part to it. Or rerecord with the metronome on.

TONDOG64
08-08-2007, 07:09 PM