PDA

View Full Version : In line fuses?

HSJIII
09-19-2014, 09:06 AM
I'm just getting started with reaper, and I REALLY bad experience: Apparently I managed to cook my DAC using reroute between FL and Reaper. I had no idea this was even possible, so it proved to be quite the rude awakening. I just placed a new order for a DAC, and meanwhile, the need for a line fuse is stalking me. Unfortunately, I have no idea what amp of fuse I would put into the line. Can anyone answer this question? The wire is carrying a signal is between the "line in" and "audio out" of two soundcards which are patched together at the back of a computer. What rating of fuse would you use for that? Also, can anyone recommend a fuse holder? I have some in mind, but someone here probably already knows something, so I'd like to hear what you think.
THANKS!
Sam

PS: I would be using 3.5mm stereo cable.

JHughes
09-19-2014, 10:58 AM
You should not need a fuse, and I've never seen such a thing.

If you did use one, it would be the smallest you can find, since the line out to line in is for signal (voltage) transfer, not current or power.

karbomusic
09-19-2014, 11:11 AM

If you did use one, it would be the smallest you can find, since the line out to line in is for signal (voltage) transfer, not current or power.

@ Line level, I think it's called a limiter. :D

HSJIII
09-19-2014, 02:28 PM

Maybe I misunderstand the cause of hardware failure... but page 56 of the reaper manual specifies that too strong of a signal can damage equipment.
http://dl.reaper.fm/userguide/ReaperUserGuide472C.pdf

Maybe they are only talking about speakers...but they are vague.

What is the expected volts/amps of an audio signal? anyone know?

HSJIII
09-19-2014, 02:30 PM
@ Line level, I think it's called a limiter. :D

always a clown...lol... i had no way of expecting an interim route to matter too much. i was just trying to get it even working (with the endpoint volume really low).

karbomusic
09-19-2014, 03:13 PM