PDA

View Full Version : New Work in Progress - "Machine Love"

smueske
05-16-2016, 07:41 PM
Here is the final version, if anyone is interested. Any comments, of course, are welcome.

https://soundcloud.com/steve-mueske/machine-love

jason_442
05-17-2016, 08:11 AM
I like it has an old school ambient sound.

smueske
05-17-2016, 01:46 PM
Thanks for listening, Jason!

msore
05-17-2016, 02:02 PM
Far more rhythmic than melodic.
More machine than love.
Why did you use a nine-tone scale? what was your intention?

smueske
05-17-2016, 02:23 PM
msore, my sole intention with working in 9edo was to try something different. I've been working with mostly microtonal electronica for the past three years and have worked in 13, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 23 edo, as well as 7-limit just intonation and 26ed3 (an octave and a half divided into 26 steps); someone suggested trying a smaller than 12 edo. I tried 11 and couldn't make anything work, so I tried 9 and this piece is the result. The title is just based on the vibe of the piece.

BTW, it's not a 9-tone scale. The entire temperament is 9 notes. The scales are smaller. I used alternating step sizes of sLsLsL, mostly. This is only my second piece since releasing Eventual, an album of mostly microtonal electronica. I hope to finish this piece soon, iron out the details and whatnot.

http://split-notes.com/muesk-eventual/

P.S. I don't know if this really answers your question. Basically, I'm just trying out different temperaments with each new piece. Every few songs I go back and do one in 12 (standard tuning), but I'm kind of interested in exploring what's possible beyond the boundaries.

msore
05-18-2016, 06:56 AM
Thanks.

mschuster
05-18-2016, 06:27 PM